Imagine the world

Hay Festival Cartagena de Indias, a festival of stories and ideas, celebrates its tenth edition on 29 January–1 February 2015.

Festival events will also take place in nearby cities Medellín (28–30 January) and Riohacha (28 January). Tickets are on sale now.

Programme highlights include Nobel Laureates JMG Le Clézio and Jody Williams, novelists Javier Cercas, Almudena Grandes, Juan Villoro, Sofi Oksanen, Julia Franck and Héctor Abad Faciolince; film maker Sergio Cabrera; non fiction writers Andrew Solomon, Moisés Naím, Steven Pinker and Saskia Sassen; as well as Brian Eno, Faryd Mondragon and Juan Luis Guerra; journalists Antonio Caño, Martin Baron and Leila Guerriero, and musicians Seu Jorge and Charles King.

To celebrate the festival's tenth anniversary, we’ve created a special website featuring photos, videos and audio of great events from the last nine years. It’s also full of the latest news about the upcoming 2015 festival.

  • hay festival cartagena


Image by by Isidro Ferrer, who will appear at Hay Festival Cartagena this year.


Diez anos de Hay Festival Cartagena de Indias

Fifteen of the best conversations between memorable guests at the festival, including Carlos Fuentes, Ian McEwan, Salman Rushdie and Julian Barnes among others, are included in the book Diez Años: Conversaciones Hay Festival Cartagena de Indias 2006–2015.

The book also contains a selection of pictures taken during the ten years of the festival by Daniel Mordzinski, 'the writers' photographer'. With a foreword by the founder of Hay Festival, Peter Florence, and edited by Margarita Valencia, the book is on sale in bookshops now.

email newsletter


Follow us on Twitter...


2015 highlights

  • JMG Le Clézio
  • Jody Williams
  • Javier Cercas
  • Juan Villoro
  • Sofi Oksanen
  • Héctor Abad Faciolince
  • Petros Markaris
  • Almudena Grandes
  • Andrew Solomon
  • Moisés Naím
  • Julia Franck
  • Steven Pinker
  • Saskia Sassen
  • Brian Eno