Juan Gabriel VÁSQUEZ


(Bogota, 1973) Writer, translator and journalist. He is the author of the short story collection Los amantes de Todos los Santos and the novels The Informers (2004), The Secret History of Costaguana (Qwerty Prize in Barcelona and the Libros&Letras Foundation Prize in Bogotá), The Sound of Things Falling (2011 Alfaguara Prize, 2012 English Pen Award, 2013 Gregor von Rezzori Prize, 2014 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award) and Reputations (2014 Real Academia Española Award and the 2014 Archbishop Juan de San Clemente Prize). He has also published a collection of literary essays, El arte de la distorsión, and a biography of Joseph Conrad, El hombre de ninguna parte. He has translated work by John Hersey, John Dos Passos, Victor Hugo and E. M. Forster, among others. He has won the Simón Bolívar National Journalism Prize twice. In 2012 he won the French Roger Caillois Prize for his body of work. His books have been published in 26 languages and in more than 40 countries. La forma de las ruinas (2015) is his fifth novel.

Photo: © Daniel Mordzinski


  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z