Hay Player

Russell Foster and Leon Kreitzman

Seasons of Life: The Biological Rhythms That Enable Living Things to Thrive and Survive

Hay Festival 2009, 
How do birds know when to return to their nesting grounds? What effect do the seasons have on our wellbeing, and how does the season in which we are born affect our subsequent life chances?

Hay Player

John Parker

Lords of Creation

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Cambridge University Botanic Garden Director and Professor of Plant Cytogenetics brushes against near- immortality, the truth of sustainability, and the awe-inspiring aesthetic of trees.

Hay Player

Anna Beer

Milton: Poet, Pamphleteer and Patriot

Hay Festival 2008, 
The biographer celebrates the 400th anniversary of the author of Paradise Lost, probably the most politically and religiously engaged poet in the English language. Chaired by author and SBC Literature & Spoken Word director Rachel Holmes.

Hay Player

Poetry Gala

Cartagena 2010, 
Our traditional Poetry Gala is back with the best national and international authors: Michael Ondaatje (Canada), Luis García Montero (Spain), Zoé Valdés (Cuba/France/Spain), Ramon Cote (Colombia), Hugo Chaparro Valderrama (Colombia), William Ospina (Colombia), Joumana Haddad (Lebanon), Darío Jaramillo (Colombia) and Ibrahim Nasrallah (Palestine). Chaired by Guido Tamayo.

Hay Player

Nam Le and Fflur Dafydd talk to Kathryn Gray

Hay Festival 2009, 
Hay's two fiction highlights of 2008 are Le’s short stories The Boat which won the Dylan Thomas Award and Dafydd’s English reworking of her award-winning Cymraeg novel Twenty Thousand Saints. They talk to NWR editor Kathryn Gray.

Hay Player

Lisa Jardine

The 2009 Raymond Williams Lecture: Culture & Society

Hay Festival 2009, 
Williams’ Culture and Society became a cult book for liberal practitioners and critics in the humanities throughout the 1960s and 70s. The Professor of Renaissance Studies looks at his dreams and ambitions for mass culture, and the vital role of literature in the democratic process, and asks whether there is something important to be learned from his cultural analysis today.

Hay Player

Tariq Ramadan

The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad

Hay Festival 2008, 
The charismatic scholar sets the story of the Prophet in context.

Hay Player

Sarah J Maas

New YA Series Launch: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Hay Festival 2015, 
YA sensation Sarah J Maas, author of the number one international bestseller Throne of Glass, makes a rare visit to the UK to launch her eagerly anticipated new series, A Court of Thorns and Roses. An unmissable event for YA fans of romantic high fantasy adventure. If you like Cassandra Clare, you’ll love this. Sarah talks to Katherine Woodfine.
12+ years/YA
Sarah J Maas

Hay Player

Chris Stewart and Manuel Pimentel

Segovia 2006, 
Please note: This conversation is conducted entirely in Spanish.

Farmer and writer Chris Stewart, author of the international bestseller Driving Over Lemons: An Optimist in Andalucía, with over a million copies sold and translated into fifteen languages, will speak in Spanish to Manuel Pimentel (writer, businessman, ex-minister and head of the Almuzara publishing group) about his delightful and surprising work.

Hay Player

Kate Humble

Monmouthshire Farm Humble by Nature

Hay Festival 2012, 
The Springwatch star talks about her passion for Watching Waterbirds and her new project restoring her Monmouthshire Farm.

Hay Player

James Cowan

Counter-Insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Brigadier commanded the Black Watch in Iraq and the multinational 11 Brigade in Helmand. He is now Head of Counter-Terrorism in the Ministry of Defence. Chaired by Dylan Jones, editor of GQ.

Hay Player

Jane Davidson and David Thorpe

Hay on Earth 2015 Forum: One Planet Living – A Measure of Sustainability

Hay Festival 2015, 

Can the pioneering Welsh policy One Planet Development be used as a template for governments and planners? Could it bring in a new attitude to development, planning and land management, to take into account the full environmental impact of human activities? Jane Davidson of INSPIRE talks to author and consultant David Thorpe.

Jane Davidson and David Thorpe

Hay Player

AC Grayling

The Form of Things

Hay Festival 2007, 
‘Humankind’s great conversation with itself about what is best in life involves reading, thinking, conversing, learning, enjoying, judging, being sceptical, being open-minded – and, in bad times, maintaining trust in all that these endeavours prove to be valuable.’

Hay Player

Contemporary Architecture: From the iconization to the recycling of the city

Iñaki Ábalos in conversation with Llàtzer Moix

Segovia 2010, 
Presentation by Francisco Serrano. How to move from the phenomenon of spectacular architecture to a model of the city which, rooted in its past, can be reconsidered as a meaningful space for the contemporary citizen. The professor of architecture Iñaki Ábalos and the critic Llàtzer Moix embody two voices demanding, from their respective disciplines, a return to order.

Hay Player

Steve Jones

Darwin’s Island: The Galapagos in the Garden of England

Hay Festival 2009, 
Darwin wrote six million words, in nineteen books and innumerable letters, on topics as different as dogs, barnacles, insect-eating plants, orchids, earthworms, apes and human emotion. Together, they laid the foundations of modern biology.

Hay Player

Jacqueline Wilson

Lily Alone

Hay Festival 2011, 
An enchanting visit from the most borrowed author in Britain’s libraries. 
 
Limited signing.
 
9+ years Knapsacks & Ginger Beer 

Hay Player

Miri Rubin talks to Catherine Pepinster

Mother of God –A History of the Virgin Mary

Hay Festival 2009, 
Mary’s role in the Gospels is a relatively minor one, and yet in the centuries during which Christianity established itself she emerged as a powerful, strange and ungovernable force, endlessly remade and reimagined by wave after wave of devotees, ultimately becoming ‘a sort of God’, in ways that have always made some Christians uneasy.

Hay Player

Rt Rev V Gene Robinson

The 2008 President’s Lecture

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Bishop of New Hampshire, whose homosexuality threatens the schism of the Anglican Church discusses The State of the Communion. Chaired by Stephen Bates, author of God’s Own Country: Power and Religion in the USA.

Hay Player

Monty Don, Marcus du Sautoy, Andrés Neuman, Jim Naughtie and Rosie Boycott talk to Francine Stock

Hay 25 – The Way We Live Now 6

Hay Festival 2012, 
The panellists discuss three of the 25 Questions.
 
25 years from now climate change will have created over 100 million refugees. Where should they go?
What was the last thing you made with your hands?
Would you like the United States of America to a) grow stronger? b) stay more or less the same? c) grow weaker? Why?

Hay Player

Rosie Boycott, Benedict Allen and Anne MacCaig chaired by Steve Trent

No Place Like Home

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 2008 20 million people were forced to abandon their homes as a result of climate-related disasters. Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human rights – what are the possible solutions?
 
We apologise but due to circumstances beyond our control Bianca Jagger can no longer attend.

Hay Player

Anna Barford and Daniel Dorling

Atlas of the Real World

Hay Festival 2009, 
The globe mapped not by landmass but by health, wealth, and a fascinating and revelatory variety of indices. You will never see Earth in the same light again.

Hay Player

Andrew Hammond

CRYPT

Hay Festival 2012, 
Sign up to the ‘Covert Youth Paranormal Team’ before getting the full low-down on spies, horror and ghost-busting. Perfect for fans of Dr Who.  
 
10+ yrs

Hay Player

Lisa Appignanesi talks to Benna Waites

Hay Festival 2008, 
The author discusses her landmark History of Women and the Mind Doctors from 1800 to the Present Day with the Powys Mental Health chief.

Hay Player

Danny Dorling and Mary O’Hara

Inequality and Austerity

Hay Festival 2015, 

Few would dispute that we live in an unequal and unjust world, but what causes this inequality to persist? Dorling, author of Inequality and the 1%, examines who is most harmed by these injustices and why, and what happens to those who most benefit. O’Hara, author of Austerity Bites, takes us on a journey to the sharp end of the cuts in the UK. Hard-hitting and uncompromising in its call to action, this analysis is essential for everyone concerned with social justice.

Danny Dorling and Mary O’Hara

Hay Player

Robert Llewellyn, Juliet Davenport and Kate Henderson

Good Energy Series 2: From NIMBY to IMBY

Hay Festival 2015, 

Energy generation has to take place somewhere – what would you prefer in your backyard? Is policy determined by those who shout loudest rather than those with the strongest argument? What would it take for communities to say yes rather than no to new energy developments? Robert Llewellyn is an actor, comedian and author, Kate Henderson is CEO of the Town and Country Planning Association and Juliet Davenport is founder and CEO of Good Energy. They talk to journalist and author Oliver Balch.

Robert Llewellyn, Juliet Davenport and Kate Henderson