Hay Player

Contemporary Architecture: From the iconization to the recycling of the city

Iñaki Ábalos in conversation with Llàtzer Moix

Segovia 2010, 
Presentation by Francisco Serrano. How to move from the phenomenon of spectacular architecture to a model of the city which, rooted in its past, can be reconsidered as a meaningful space for the contemporary citizen. The professor of architecture Iñaki Ábalos and the critic Llàtzer Moix embody two voices demanding, from their respective disciplines, a return to order.

Hay Player

Rt Rev V Gene Robinson

The 2008 President’s Lecture

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Bishop of New Hampshire, whose homosexuality threatens the schism of the Anglican Church discusses The State of the Communion. Chaired by Stephen Bates, author of God’s Own Country: Power and Religion in the USA.

Hay Player

Vince Cable talks to John Harris

The Storm: The World Economic Crisis and What it Means

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Liberal Democrat sage of the credit crunch looks forward.

Hay Player

AC Grayling

The Form of Things

Hay Festival 2007, 
‘Humankind’s great conversation with itself about what is best in life involves reading, thinking, conversing, learning, enjoying, judging, being sceptical, being open-minded – and, in bad times, maintaining trust in all that these endeavours prove to be valuable.’

Hay Player

Rosie Boycott, Benedict Allen and Anne MacCaig chaired by Steve Trent

No Place Like Home

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 2008 20 million people were forced to abandon their homes as a result of climate-related disasters. Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human rights – what are the possible solutions?
 
We apologise but due to circumstances beyond our control Bianca Jagger can no longer attend.

Hay Player

Jerry Brotton and Adam Lowe

The Mappa Mundi In 3D

Hay Festival 2013, 

Using cutting-edge digital scanning and routing technology Factum Arte, the Mappa Mundi Trust and Hereford Cathedral have created a 3D reproduction of the 700-year-old map that is radically changing scholarship of the medieval masterpiece. Come and join us for the unveiling of the new work with its maker and his collaborator, the author of A History Of The World In Twelve Maps.

Hay Player

Andrew Hammond

CRYPT

Hay Festival 2012, 
Sign up to the ‘Covert Youth Paranormal Team’ before getting the full low-down on spies, horror and ghost-busting. Perfect for fans of Dr Who.  
 
10+ yrs

Hay Player

William Fiennes talks to Peter Guttridge

The Music Room

Hay Festival 2009, 
A memoir about childhood and the relationship with his older brother Richard, a magnetic presence who suffered from severe epilepsy. His energy influences the rhythms of the family and the house’s internal life, and his story inspires a journey, interwoven with loving recollection, towards an understanding of the mind.

Hay Player

Lisa Appignanesi talks to Benna Waites

Hay Festival 2008, 
The author discusses her landmark History of Women and the Mind Doctors from 1800 to the Present Day with the Powys Mental Health chief.

Hay Player

Jane Davidson, Steve Evans and Mat Roberts

Slipstream Wales – Professionals: Delivery and Innovation

Hay Festival 2013, 

How do we take the individual professionals’ ideas and innovations and raise them to a country-wide scale across Wales? How could we measure the benefits, join the dots and really get organisations working together? Jane Davidson, INSPIRE Director at University of Wales, Steve Evans, Industrial Sustainability Research Director at Cambridge University, and Mat Roberts, Head of Sustainability at Landmarc Support Services, discuss with TYF’s Andy Middleton.

Hay Player

Russell Foster and Leon Kreitzman

Seasons of Life: The Biological Rhythms That Enable Living Things to Thrive and Survive

Hay Festival 2009, 
How do birds know when to return to their nesting grounds? What effect do the seasons have on our wellbeing, and how does the season in which we are born affect our subsequent life chances?

Hay Player

Mary Warnock

Dishonest To God

Hay Festival 2011, 
The moral philosopher argues that to value religion as the essential foundation of morality is a profound and probably dangerous mistake. Chaired by David Aaronovitch.
 
Read more about Baroness Warnock here

Hay Player

Jane Davidson, George Marshall, Saci Lloyd and David Thorpe

Can We Change the World With Imagination?

Hay Festival 2015, 

Can climate fiction ever change minds, or does it merely confirm existing attitudes in the mind of the reader who chooses to read a book of that nature? Are more climate-related books aimed at children because their enquiring minds are supposed to be more open? Author and founder of Climate Outreach Information Network George Marshall talks to INSPIRE’s Jane Davidson, and authors Saci Lloyd and David Thorpe.

Jane Davidson, George Marshall, Saci Lloyd and David Thorpe

Hay Player

Patrick Jones, Mari Strachan and Catrin Dafydd

Hay Festival 2009, 
The poet reads and discusses his new collection Darkness is Where the Stars Are. Strachan discusses her novel The Earth Hums in B Flat. Dafydd performs from her comic novel Random Deaths and Custard. Chaired by Jon Gower.

Hay Player

Sandy Black

The Sustainable Fashion Handbook

Hay Festival 2013, 

Can the fashion industry ever be truly sustainable? With a wasteful, fast-moving fashion cycle and the social impact on the 40 million people employed worldwide in manufacturing and agriculture, it’s going to be an interesting journey. One of the world’s pioneering authorities in this field in conversation with Hay-on-Earth Director Andy Fryers.

Hay Player

Giles Coren rages at Paul Blezard

Anger Management for Beginners

Hay Festival 2010, 
The master of spleen vents his wrath at dogs, boy wizards, sub-editors and processed ham in the cause of laughter and sanity.
Giles Coren rages at Paul Blezard

Hay Player

Beverley Naidoo in conversation with Fitch O’Connell

Hay Festivalito for kids

Segovia 2010, 
The South African young people’s literature author, winner of the Carnegie Medal, will talk about reality through fiction in connection with her stories and her novel Journey to Jo'burg.

This event is in English

Hay Player

Kathleen Turner talks to Peter Florence

Hay Festival 2008, 
The actress (Body Heat, War of the Roses, Romancing the Stone) talks about her life, loves and movies, wittily recounted in her memoir Send Yourself Roses.

Hay Player

Hugh Cornwell

Unplugged

Hay Festival 2013, 

The legendary Stranglers songwriter, vocalist and guitarist plays an intimate acoustic concert reworking some of his greatest hits, classic solo material and songs from his critically-acclaimed new album Totem And Taboo.

Hugh Cornwell

Hay Player

Cathy Cassidy

Sweet Stories

Hay Festival 2010, 
Join this fab author for a chat about best friends, day-dreaming and...cake! And catch a sneak peek of her brand new series Cherry Crush, out in the autumn.
 
9–14 years

Hay Player

George Monbiot

How Did We Get Into This Mess?

Hay Festival 2016, 

Monbiot is one of the most vocal and eloquent critics of the current consensus; a vital, countervailing voice. He assesses the devastation of the natural world, the crisis of inequality, the corporate takeover of nature, our obsessions with growth and profit and the decline of the political debate over what to do. He asks: how do we stand up to the powerful when they seem to have all the weapons? And: what can we do to prepare our children for an uncertain future?

George Monbiot

Hay Player

David Bellos

Is that a fish in your ear?

Hay Festival 2012, 
From foreign films to the UN Security Council, the pre-eminent multi-linguist interprets Translation and the Meaning of Everything. Chaired by Daniel Hahn of the British Centre for Literary Translation.

Hay Player

Stephen Ferry, Pablo Corral, William Fernando Martínez y Mauricio Lima en conversación con Ricardo Corredor Cure

La crónica fotográfica como testimonio de la realidad.

Cartagena 2013, 
Cuatro reputados fotógrafos conversarán con Ricardo Corredor Cure, director ejecutivo de la Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo. Stephen Ferry (Estados Unidos) es el autor de Violentología en el que recoge su trabajo de mas de 10 años en Colombia; Pablo Corral (Ecuador) trabajó durante muchos años para National Geographic y ahora es director del POYI para América Latina (Pictures of the Year International), un prestigioso premio de periodismo; William Fernando (Colombia) es fotógrafo de AP y está considerado como uno de los mejores reporteros gráficos colombianos; Mauricio Lima (Brasil) ganó el Wire Photograper of the Year en el 2010 y en estos momentos trabaja en varios proyectos, incluyendo el cubrimiento del conflicto en Afganistán.

Hay Player

Shorts: Animation

Screening

Hay Festival 2010, 
A cracking collection of animated short films from the UK and beyond. Imaginative, moving, often funny and unfailingly brilliant. Yellow Sticky Notes (Jeff Chiba Stearns), The Pearce Sisters (Mick Jackson & Luis Cook), Niebla – ‘Fog’ (Jordi Codina, Maria del Mar Hernández & Emilio Ramos), Father and Daughter (Michael Dudok de Wit), Flogging Molly ‘Float’ (Karni & Saul), El Empleo – ‘The Employment’ (Patricio Gabriel Plaza & Santiago Grasso), Pigeon Impossible (Lucas Martell), John and Karen (Matthew Walker), Operator (Matthew Walker).
Shorts: Animation

Hay Player

Marcus Brigstocke, Andre Vincent, Carrie Quinlan and Guest

The Early Edition

Hay Festival 2010, 
The home team satirists read the Sunday papers.