Hay Player

Anna Beer

Milton: Poet, Pamphleteer and Patriot

Hay Festival 2008, 
The biographer celebrates the 400th anniversary of the author of Paradise Lost, probably the most politically and religiously engaged poet in the English language. Chaired by author and SBC Literature & Spoken Word director Rachel Holmes.

Hay Player

James Cowan

Counter-Insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Brigadier commanded the Black Watch in Iraq and the multinational 11 Brigade in Helmand. He is now Head of Counter-Terrorism in the Ministry of Defence. Chaired by Dylan Jones, editor of GQ.

Hay Player

Marcus Brigstocke and Libby Purves

Powering The Country: Marcus and Libby Try To Keep The Lights On

Hay Festival 2014, 

What would you do if you had to power the UK? Marcus Brigstocke and Libby Purves get to grips with how to generate enough energy to keep the lights on and power their appliances. Dependency on overseas supplies, volatile fossil fuel prices and the need for a low-carbon economy makes this one of the biggest challenges facing the country. Richard Smith of National Grid and David MacKay of the DECC are our expert advisors. Chaired by Mark Lynas and using the 2050 calculator.

Marcus Brigstocke and Libby Purves

Hay Player

Shorts: Animation

Screening

Hay Festival 2010, 
A cracking collection of animated short films from the UK and beyond. Imaginative, moving, often funny and unfailingly brilliant. Yellow Sticky Notes (Jeff Chiba Stearns), The Pearce Sisters (Mick Jackson & Luis Cook), Niebla – ‘Fog’ (Jordi Codina, Maria del Mar Hernández & Emilio Ramos), Father and Daughter (Michael Dudok de Wit), Flogging Molly ‘Float’ (Karni & Saul), El Empleo – ‘The Employment’ (Patricio Gabriel Plaza & Santiago Grasso), Pigeon Impossible (Lucas Martell), John and Karen (Matthew Walker), Operator (Matthew Walker).
Shorts: Animation

Hay Player

Evan Davis

Post-Truth: Why We Have Reached Peak Bullshit and What We Can Do About It

Hay Festival 2017, 

Low-level dishonesty is rife everywhere, in the form of exaggeration, selective use of facts, economy with the truth, careful drafting - from Trump and the Brexit debate to companies that tell us, ‘your call is important to us’. How did we get to a place where bullshit is not just rife but apparently so effective that it's become the communications strategy of our times?

Evan Davis

Hay Player

Tariq Ramadan

The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad

Hay Festival 2008, 
The charismatic scholar sets the story of the Prophet in context.

Hay Player

Andrew Hammond

CRYPT

Hay Festival 2012, 
Sign up to the ‘Covert Youth Paranormal Team’ before getting the full low-down on spies, horror and ghost-busting. Perfect for fans of Dr Who.  
 
10+ yrs

Hay Player

Salman Rushdie talks to Jerry Brotton

Two Years, Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

Hay Festival 2016, 

Inspired by the traditional wonder tales of the East, Rushdie’s new novel is a masterpiece about the age-old conflicts that remain in today’s world. Two Years, Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights is satirical and bawdy, full of cunning and folly, rivalries and betrayals, kismet and karma, rapture and redemption.

Salman Rushdie talks to Jerry Brotton

Hay Player

Abdelkader Benali talks to Eric Akoto

East is West

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Moroccan-Dutch writer and journalist, a Beirut39 star, and one of the most acute and thoughtful commentators on migrations and multiculturalism discusses his travels in the Middle East with the editor of Litro.

Duration 45 minutes.
 
Read more about Abdelkader Benali. See a recent interview in Litro.

Hay Player

Anita Sethi

Anita’s Adventures in Wonderlands

Hay Festival 2011, 
The journalist and writer has been travelling the world for a year on a Winston Churchill Fellowship – from searching for her father’s childhood home in Kenya to six Hay Festivals and life-changing encounters in Asia, the Antipodes, the Middle East and South America. 
 
More information about her travels can be found at www.anitasethi.co.uk/travels
 
Duration 45 minutes.

Hay Player

Monty Don and Patrick Holden

Hay Festival 2008, 
The new President and the Director of The Soil Association talk to Sky News anchor Adam Boulton about food production, climate change, and the organic movement’s lead with local and supermarket shopping.

Hay Player

Paul Cartledge

After Thermopylae

Hay Festival 2014, 

The Battle of Plataea in 479 BCE is one of world history’s unjustly neglected events. It decisively ended the threat of a Persian conquest of Greece. For the Spartans, the driving force behind the Greek victory, the battle was sweet vengeance for their defeat at Thermopylae the year before. Cartledge masterfully exposes the Athenian/Spartan rivalry that ‘rewrote the history books’.

Hay Player

Contemporary Architecture: From the iconization to the recycling of the city

Iñaki Ábalos in conversation with Llàtzer Moix

Segovia 2010, 
Presentation by Francisco Serrano. How to move from the phenomenon of spectacular architecture to a model of the city which, rooted in its past, can be reconsidered as a meaningful space for the contemporary citizen. The professor of architecture Iñaki Ábalos and the critic Llàtzer Moix embody two voices demanding, from their respective disciplines, a return to order.

Hay Player

Stephen Ferry, Pablo Corral, William Fernando Martínez y Mauricio Lima en conversación con Ricardo Corredor Cure

La crónica fotográfica como testimonio de la realidad.

Cartagena 2013, 
Cuatro reputados fotógrafos conversarán con Ricardo Corredor Cure, director ejecutivo de la Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo. Stephen Ferry (Estados Unidos) es el autor de Violentología en el que recoge su trabajo de mas de 10 años en Colombia; Pablo Corral (Ecuador) trabajó durante muchos años para National Geographic y ahora es director del POYI para América Latina (Pictures of the Year International), un prestigioso premio de periodismo; William Fernando (Colombia) es fotógrafo de AP y está considerado como uno de los mejores reporteros gráficos colombianos; Mauricio Lima (Brasil) ganó el Wire Photograper of the Year en el 2010 y en estos momentos trabaja en varios proyectos, incluyendo el cubrimiento del conflicto en Afganistán.

Hay Player

Marcus Brigstocke, Andre Vincent, Carrie Quinlan and Guest

The Early Edition

Hay Festival 2010, 
The home team satirists read the Sunday papers.

Hay Player

Rt Rev V Gene Robinson

The 2008 President’s Lecture

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Bishop of New Hampshire, whose homosexuality threatens the schism of the Anglican Church discusses The State of the Communion. Chaired by Stephen Bates, author of God’s Own Country: Power and Religion in the USA.

Hay Player

Horatio Clare and Isabel Fonseca talk to Peter Florence

Migrations

Hay Festival 2009, 
The award-winning author of Running for the Hills follows the swallow’s migration and makes a life-changing odyssey on an epic journey from South Africa to South Wales in A Single Swallow. Fonseca, author of Attachment, discusses her classic study of Romany life Bury Me Standing.

Hay Player

Eduardo Mendoza talks to Antonio San José

Segovia 2011, 
Eduardo Mendoza inaugurates the literary events with a chat with journalist Antonio San José. He will talk about his novel Riña de gatos. Madrid 1936, an impressive tableau of the tumultuous climate the country lived through immediately before the civil war, and takes a look at his narrative from his debut with La verdad sobre el caso Savolta.
 
Simultaneous translation will be available from Spanish into English.

Hay Player

Andrew Simms, Caroline Lucas and Charlie McConnell

Is Small Still Beautiful?

Hay Festival 2011, 
On the 100th anniversary of the birth of EF Schumacher, author of the landmark book Small Is Beautiful, Caroline Lucas MP, leader of the Green Party, is joined by Andrew Simms, author and Fellow of nef (the new economics foundation) and Charlie McConnell, director of Schumacher College, to ask if the message of the book is more relevant today than ever. With a personal message from Schumacher’s former colleague George McRobie. Chaired by Andy Fryers.

Hay Player

Lisa Jardine

The 2009 Raymond Williams Lecture: Culture & Society

Hay Festival 2009, 
Williams’ Culture and Society became a cult book for liberal practitioners and critics in the humanities throughout the 1960s and 70s. The Professor of Renaissance Studies looks at his dreams and ambitions for mass culture, and the vital role of literature in the democratic process, and asks whether there is something important to be learned from his cultural analysis today.

Hay Player

Cathy Cassidy

Sweet Stories

Hay Festival 2010, 
Join this fab author for a chat about best friends, day-dreaming and...cake! And catch a sneak peek of her brand new series Cherry Crush, out in the autumn.
 
9–14 years

Hay Player

Jacqueline Wilson

Lily Alone

Hay Festival 2011, 
An enchanting visit from the most borrowed author in Britain’s libraries. 
 
Limited signing.
 
9+ years Knapsacks & Ginger Beer 

Hay Player

Tracey Thorn talks to Sarfraz Manzoor

Bedsit Disco Queen

Hay Festival 2014, 

Everything But The Girl made nine albums and sold nine million records. One half of the band (with her husband Ben Watt), Thorn gives a wry look at the realities of a pop career. There are thrills and wonders to be experienced, yes, but also moments of doubt, mistakes, violent lifestyle changes from luxury to squalor and back again, sometimes within minutes. Also see event 67

Hay Player

Helena Kennedy, Angharad Davies, Gerry Hassan, Dafydd Elis Thomas – John Bercow presides

Should Scotland Be An Independent Country?

Hay Festival 2014, 

The panel members debate the question being put to voters north of Hadrian’s Wall on 18 September 2014, with the Speaker of the House of Commons in the chair. Audience participation included!

Hay Player

Jung Chang talks to Razia Iqbal

Empress Dowager Cixi: The Concubine Who Launched Modern China

Hay Festival 2014, 

The story of the most important woman in Chinese history. Under the Empress’s rule, the ancient country attained virtually all the attributes of a modern state: industries, railways, electricity, telegraph, and an army and navy with up-to-date weaponry. It was she who abolished gruesome punishments like ‘death by a thousand cuts’ and put an end to foot-binding. She inaugurated women’s liberation, and embarked on the path to introducing parliamentary elections to China.

Jung Chang talks to Razia Iqbal