Hay Player

Jerry Brotton and Adam Lowe

The Mappa Mundi In 3D

Hay Festival 2013, 

Using cutting-edge digital scanning and routing technology Factum Arte, the Mappa Mundi Trust and Hereford Cathedral have created a 3D reproduction of the 700-year-old map that is radically changing scholarship of the medieval masterpiece. Come and join us for the unveiling of the new work with its maker and his collaborator, the author of A History Of The World In Twelve Maps.

Hay Player

Rosie Boycott, Benedict Allen and Anne MacCaig chaired by Steve Trent

No Place Like Home

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 2008 20 million people were forced to abandon their homes as a result of climate-related disasters. Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human rights – what are the possible solutions?
 
We apologise but due to circumstances beyond our control Bianca Jagger can no longer attend.

Hay Player

Anita Sethi

Anita’s Adventures in Wonderlands

Hay Festival 2011, 
The journalist and writer has been travelling the world for a year on a Winston Churchill Fellowship – from searching for her father’s childhood home in Kenya to six Hay Festivals and life-changing encounters in Asia, the Antipodes, the Middle East and South America. 
 
More information about her travels can be found at www.anitasethi.co.uk/travels
 
Duration 45 minutes.

Hay Player

Tracey Thorn talks to Sarfraz Manzoor

Bedsit Disco Queen

Hay Festival 2014, 

Everything But The Girl made nine albums and sold nine million records. One half of the band (with her husband Ben Watt), Thorn gives a wry look at the realities of a pop career. There are thrills and wonders to be experienced, yes, but also moments of doubt, mistakes, violent lifestyle changes from luxury to squalor and back again, sometimes within minutes. Also see event 67

Hay Player

Alan Greenspan talks to Howard Davies

London Events 2007, 
Alan Greenspan, former chairman of ‘The Fed’, in conversation with Howard Davies, Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Hay Player

Jung Chang talks to Razia Iqbal

Empress Dowager Cixi: The Concubine Who Launched Modern China

Hay Festival 2014, 

The story of the most important woman in Chinese history. Under the Empress’s rule, the ancient country attained virtually all the attributes of a modern state: industries, railways, electricity, telegraph, and an army and navy with up-to-date weaponry. It was she who abolished gruesome punishments like ‘death by a thousand cuts’ and put an end to foot-binding. She inaugurated women’s liberation, and embarked on the path to introducing parliamentary elections to China.

Jung Chang talks to Razia Iqbal

Hay Player

AC Grayling

The Form of Things

Hay Festival 2007, 
‘Humankind’s great conversation with itself about what is best in life involves reading, thinking, conversing, learning, enjoying, judging, being sceptical, being open-minded – and, in bad times, maintaining trust in all that these endeavours prove to be valuable.’

Hay Player

Stephen Ferry, Pablo Corral, William Fernando Martínez y Mauricio Lima en conversación con Ricardo Corredor Cure

La crónica fotográfica como testimonio de la realidad.

Cartagena 2013, 
Cuatro reputados fotógrafos conversarán con Ricardo Corredor Cure, director ejecutivo de la Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo. Stephen Ferry (Estados Unidos) es el autor de Violentología en el que recoge su trabajo de mas de 10 años en Colombia; Pablo Corral (Ecuador) trabajó durante muchos años para National Geographic y ahora es director del POYI para América Latina (Pictures of the Year International), un prestigioso premio de periodismo; William Fernando (Colombia) es fotógrafo de AP y está considerado como uno de los mejores reporteros gráficos colombianos; Mauricio Lima (Brasil) ganó el Wire Photograper of the Year en el 2010 y en estos momentos trabaja en varios proyectos, incluyendo el cubrimiento del conflicto en Afganistán.

Hay Player

James Cowan

Counter-Insurgency in Iraq and Afghanistan

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Brigadier commanded the Black Watch in Iraq and the multinational 11 Brigade in Helmand. He is now Head of Counter-Terrorism in the Ministry of Defence. Chaired by Dylan Jones, editor of GQ.

Hay Player

Julia Donaldson

The Everywhere Bear

Hay Festival 2017, 

Join Julia Donaldson and friends in this unique show jam-packed with songs and readings from seven of her fabulous stories including The Everywhere Bear and The Gruffalo.

3+

Hay Player

Miri Rubin talks to Catherine Pepinster

Mother of God –A History of the Virgin Mary

Hay Festival 2009, 
Mary’s role in the Gospels is a relatively minor one, and yet in the centuries during which Christianity established itself she emerged as a powerful, strange and ungovernable force, endlessly remade and reimagined by wave after wave of devotees, ultimately becoming ‘a sort of God’, in ways that have always made some Christians uneasy.

Hay Player

Anna Beer

Milton: Poet, Pamphleteer and Patriot

Hay Festival 2008, 
The biographer celebrates the 400th anniversary of the author of Paradise Lost, probably the most politically and religiously engaged poet in the English language. Chaired by author and SBC Literature & Spoken Word director Rachel Holmes.

Hay Player

Poetry Gala

Cartagena 2010, 
Our traditional Poetry Gala is back with the best national and international authors: Michael Ondaatje (Canada), Luis García Montero (Spain), Zoé Valdés (Cuba/France/Spain), Ramon Cote (Colombia), Hugo Chaparro Valderrama (Colombia), William Ospina (Colombia), Joumana Haddad (Lebanon), Darío Jaramillo (Colombia) and Ibrahim Nasrallah (Palestine). Chaired by Guido Tamayo.

Hay Player

Helena Kennedy, Angharad Davies, Gerry Hassan, Dafydd Elis Thomas – John Bercow presides

Should Scotland Be An Independent Country?

Hay Festival 2014, 

The panel members debate the question being put to voters north of Hadrian’s Wall on 18 September 2014, with the Speaker of the House of Commons in the chair. Audience participation included!

Hay Player

Andrew Hammond

CRYPT

Hay Festival 2012, 
Sign up to the ‘Covert Youth Paranormal Team’ before getting the full low-down on spies, horror and ghost-busting. Perfect for fans of Dr Who.  
 
10+ yrs

Hay Player

Horatio Clare and Isabel Fonseca talk to Peter Florence

Migrations

Hay Festival 2009, 
The award-winning author of Running for the Hills follows the swallow’s migration and makes a life-changing odyssey on an epic journey from South Africa to South Wales in A Single Swallow. Fonseca, author of Attachment, discusses her classic study of Romany life Bury Me Standing.

Hay Player

Nam Le and Fflur Dafydd talk to Kathryn Gray

Hay Festival 2009, 
Hay's two fiction highlights of 2008 are Le’s short stories The Boat which won the Dylan Thomas Award and Dafydd’s English reworking of her award-winning Cymraeg novel Twenty Thousand Saints. They talk to NWR editor Kathryn Gray.

Hay Player

Eat My Shorts!

Short Films

Hay Festival 2010, 
Kick off the week with a medley of hand-picked short films, from laugh-out-loud to downright beautiful. See you at the movies!
 
Duration 30 mins.
 
This event is repeated on 5 June.
 
Family event
 
Films: Zoo Written and directed by Robin Bushell. Heartstrings Written and directed by Rhiannon Evans. Tir Nan Og Written and directed by Fursy Teyssier. Maestro Written and directed by Géza M. Tóth. Codswallop Written and directed by Greg and Myles McLeod. Animals Directed by Kristofer Ström

Hay Player

Lisa Appignanesi talks to Benna Waites

Hay Festival 2008, 
The author discusses her landmark History of Women and the Mind Doctors from 1800 to the Present Day with the Powys Mental Health chief.

Hay Player

Tariq Ramadan

The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad

Hay Festival 2008, 
The charismatic scholar sets the story of the Prophet in context.

Hay Player

Tim Quinn

Nostalgic & Hilarious Afternoon of Comic Book History

Hay Festival 2010, 
Entertaining show from the Marvel Comics editor.
Tim Quinn

Hay Player

Martin Amis

Hay Festival 2008, 
The novelist reflects on September 11, his travels with Tony Blair, and the war in Iraq, as collected in The Second Plane.

Hay Player

Julian Clary talks to Fiona Lindsay

Devil in Disguise

Hay Festival 2009, 
The new comedy thriller from the peerless entertainer. ‘They say keep your friends close and your enemies closer…’

Hay Player

Daniel Samper Pizano in conversation with Yolanda Reyes

Cartagena 2012, 
Daniel Samper Pizano is a journalist, writer and member of the Colombian Academy of Language. Considered to be the father of investigative journalism for his work in the newspaper El Tiempo, his writings are full of sharp humour mixed with social criticism. He has won a range of prizes, including three Simón Bolívar Prizes for journalism and the Maria Moors Cabot Prize from Columbia University. He has also had an outstanding literary career, which includes more than 35 books published. He will talk to the writer Yolanda Reyes.

Hay Player

Eduardo Mendoza talks to Antonio San José

Segovia 2011, 
Eduardo Mendoza inaugurates the literary events with a chat with journalist Antonio San José. He will talk about his novel Riña de gatos. Madrid 1936, an impressive tableau of the tumultuous climate the country lived through immediately before the civil war, and takes a look at his narrative from his debut with La verdad sobre el caso Savolta.
 
Simultaneous translation will be available from Spanish into English.