Hay Player

Green Media?

Hay Festival 2008, 
Helen Fraser (Penguin), Jo Confino (Guardian) and Ben Stimson (Sky) talk to film-maker Sasha Norris about being whiter than white and greener than green.

Hay Player

Angela Hobbs and Paul Cartledge talk to Bettany Hughes

The Greeks 3 – Plato

Hay Festival 2012, 
The classicists consider the heft and influence of The Republic and The Symposium.

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Carl Nichols

Hay on Earth 2015 Forum: Delivering the Circular Economy

Hay Festival 2015, 

Cloudy with a chance of compost – forecasting the circular economy with the New Weather Institute. Author and campaigner Andrew Simms talks to author and journalist David Boyle and Carl Nichols, Head of WRAP Cymru.

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Carl Nichols

Hay Player

James Mayhew

Katie comes to Hay

Hay Festival 2012, 
Step through the frames of some magical masterpieces in this fantastic introduction to art.
 
5+ years

Hay Player

William Boyd talks to Peter Florence

Waiting for Sunrise

Hay Festival 2012, 
A story of passions and deceptions set between Freud’s Vienna and the intelligence services of wartime London from the author of Any Human Heart and Restless.

Hay Player

Tom Holland

In The Shadow Of The Sword - The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World

Hay Festival 2012, 
In the C6th the Near East was divided between two venerable empires - the Persian and the Roman. 100 years later one had vanished for ever and the other seemed almost finished. Ruling in their place were the Arabs - an upheaval so profound that it meant, in effect, the end of the Ancient World.

Hay Player

Sarah Harper

The End of Population Growth?

Hay Festival 2014, 

While it is common to hear about the problems of overpopulation, might there be unexplored benefits of increasing numbers of people in the world? How can we both consider and harness the potential benefits brought by a healthier, wealthier and larger population? May more people mean more scientists to discover how our world works, more inventors and thinkers to help solve the world’s problems, more skilled people to put these ideas into practice? 

Hay Player

Elif Shafak

Charity Gala 2012

Hay Festival 2012, 
Elif Shafak's contribution to the 2012 Charity Gala forms the basis for her 2013 Raymond Williams Lecture. It's about the silent G in the Turkish alphabet.

Hay Player

Antonia Fraser talks to Melvyn Bragg

Must You Go? My Life With Harold Pinter

Hay Festival 2010, 
An account of a super A-list literary marriage, but intriguingly also a meticulous and subtle biographer’s account of the life and work of a great playwright.

Hay Player

Peter Lord

The Meaning of Pictures: Personal, Social and National Identity

Hay Festival 2010, 
The distinguished critic examines C18th, C19th and C20th Welsh paintings and how the pictures are understood by the people who use them – patrons, museum curators, and the general public.

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

National Literacy Trust

National Literacy Trust - Breakfast Seminar

Hay Festival 2012, 
The National Literacy Trust, with author Frank Cottrell Boyce, will offer a unique insight into the effective teaching of writing to primary school children in Key Stages 1 and 2. The challenges of composition make writing arguably the most difficult of literacy skills to teach and learn. This fast-paced and interactive breakfast seminar will introduce the ‘Talk for Writing’ approach which has been proven to significantly accelerate pupil progress. You will learn how to cultivate a love of words and language; develop oral storytelling skills; and help pupils internalise language patterns to become more confident writers. Frank Cottrell Boyce, award-winning children’s author of Millions and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Flies Again will give a reading and take part in a Q&A session on children’s writing.
 
Duration 45 mins.
 
Donations towards the National Literacy Trust on the door.

Hay Player

Simon Jenkins

A Short History of England

Hay Festival 2012, 
The great and good journalist introduces his bold, taut history that identifies the key players and moments of change from the Saxon dawn of nationhood to the establishment of coalition government.
 
In association with The National Trust, Wales

Hay Player

Andrew St George and Edward Davis

The Navy Way

Hay Festival 2012, 
The senior service’s contemporary history with the author of The Royal Navy Way of Leadership and the Commandant General Royal Marines and Commander Amphibious Forces, whose book Operation Herrick - Helmand details the latest Afghan tour.

Hay Player

Cressida Cowell talks to Peter Florence

Hooray for Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III!

Hay Festival 2012, 
The creator of the wonderful How To Train Your Dragon series chats Vikings, Dragonese and the Isle of Berk.
 
7+ years

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

Richard Harries, Christopher Cocksworth, John Inge

King James Authorised Version 2

Hay Festival 2011, 
The trinity of bishops (Oxford, Coventry and Worcester) discuss Philemon, 1 Corinthians and Jonah.

Hay Player

Jeremy Thomas talks to Francine Stock

Kon-Tiki

Hay Festival 2013, 

The great Oscar-winning producer (The Last Emperor, Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, Crash, Bad Timing) discusses and screens clips from his new film based on Thor Heyerdahl’s epic 1947 journey across the Pacific Ocean on a balsa-wood raft.

Hay Player

Simon Pearson

The Great Escaper

Winter Weekend 2013, 

Roger Bushell was ‘Big X’, mastermind of the mass breakout from Stalag Luft III in March 1944, immortalised in the Hollywood film The Great Escape. Through exclusive access to his private papers – as well as fascinating new research from other sources – journalist Pearson has now written the first biography of this iconic figure. 

Simon Pearson

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Susan Greenfield

You and Me

Hay Festival 2012, 
The Director of the Institute for the Future of the Mind explores the Neuroscience of Identity. As the physical brain adapts exquisitely to the environment, and our environment changes in unprecedented ways, are we facing correspondingly unprecedented changes to our identity?

Hay Player

Peter Barron, Nik Gowing, Linda Yueh and Benedict Brogan chaired by Francine Stock

The Google Debates 2: The Future Of News

Hay Festival 2013, 

In a world of instant record, global publication and media turmoil, what and who is the future of news? Google’s Barron is joined by the BBC World anchor and author of Skyfull Of Lies Gowing, China expert Yueh, and Brogan, The Telegraph’s Deputy Editor.

Hay Player

General Sir Mike Jackson

Soldier

Hay Festival 2008, 
The former Chief of General Staff discusses Kosovo, the Taliban, Iraq and government - army relations with his hallmark candour. Chaired by BBC World’s Nik Gowing.

Hay Player

Joumana Haddad and Shereen El Feki talk to Joan Bakewell

Sex And The Citadel

Hay Festival 2013, 

Two compelling views of sex and gender in the Middle East. In Superman Is An Arab, her sequel to I Killed Sheherezade, Haddad examines the patriarchal system and machismo that continues to dominate in the Arab world. Sex is entwined in religion and tradition, politics and economics, gender and generations, so it makes the perfect lens for examining the region’s complex social landscape in El Feki’s study of Intimate Life In A Changing Arab World.