Hay Player

David Crystal

Think on my Words: Exploring Shakespeare's Language

Hay Festival 2008, 
The vaudevillian linguistics professor celebrates the most inventive and gifted wordsmith of all time.

Hay Player

Cressida Cowell talks to Peter Florence

Hooray for Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III!

Hay Festival 2012, 
The creator of the wonderful How To Train Your Dragon series chats Vikings, Dragonese and the Isle of Berk.
 
7+ years

Hay Player

John Sutherland and John Crace

The Two Johnnies Do Sex And Marriage: From Austen To McEwan

Hay Festival 2013, 

Can literature show us how to have a good sex life and a successful marriage? The SuperProf and the Digested Reads satirist romp through the bedrooms and letters where less is more. And where more is sometimes more too.

Hay Player

Simon Sebag Montefiore

Jerusalem

Hay Festival 2011, 
The biography of the universal city, the capital of two peoples, the shrine of three faiths; it is the prize of empires, the site of Judgment Day and the battlefield of today’s clash of civilizations. Chaired by Clemency Burton-Hill.
 
Read a review of Jerusalem

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Gift of the Gab: How Eloquence Works

Hay Festival 2016, 

To launch his delightful and life-changing book on oracy and eloquence, the linguistics professor reveals the tricks of the trade about how to make a speech that’ll wow a wedding, ace an interview or rouse an army. Along the way he analyses Barack Obama’s rhetorically near-perfect Yes We Can speech, and shows how a command of language and delivery can win hearts and minds.

David Crystal

Hay Player

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Carl Nichols

Hay on Earth 2015 Forum: Delivering the Circular Economy

Hay Festival 2015, 

Cloudy with a chance of compost – forecasting the circular economy with the New Weather Institute. Author and campaigner Andrew Simms talks to author and journalist David Boyle and Carl Nichols, Head of WRAP Cymru.

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Carl Nichols

Hay Player

David Mitchell talks to Clemency Burton-Hill

Fictions – The Bone Clocks

Hay Festival 2015, 

This dazzling new novel is the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. And it’s brilliant. Mitchell’s previous books are Ghostwritten, number9dream, Cloud Atlas, Black Swan Green and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.

Please click here to prebook lunch at Relish Restaurant on site.

David Mitchell talks to Clemency Burton-Hill

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Story Of English In 100 Words

Winter Weekend 2011, 
A unique history of the English language via the rude, the obscure and the downright surprising.
David Crystal

Hay Player

Joumana Haddad and Shereen El Feki talk to Joan Bakewell

Sex And The Citadel

Hay Festival 2013, 

Two compelling views of sex and gender in the Middle East. In Superman Is An Arab, her sequel to I Killed Sheherezade, Haddad examines the patriarchal system and machismo that continues to dominate in the Arab world. Sex is entwined in religion and tradition, politics and economics, gender and generations, so it makes the perfect lens for examining the region’s complex social landscape in El Feki’s study of Intimate Life In A Changing Arab World.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Poets Read Bolaño: Juan Vicente Piqueras, José Manuel Benítez Ariza and Jesús Aguado

Segovia 2013, 

Third tribute in Segovia to Roberto Bolaño, the Chilean writer and poet who settled in Spain, by an outstanding trio. The facts speak for themselves: Juan Vicente Piqueras, recipient of the Loewe, Machado and José Hierro de Poesía awards; José Manuel Benítez Ariza, also novelist and columnist, as well as poet, with more than a dozen published books; and Jesús Aguado, winner of the Hiperion de Poesía award in 1990.

 

Co-organised and produced by AC/E (Acción Cultural Española)

Hay Player

Jeremy Thomas talks to Francine Stock

Kon-Tiki

Hay Festival 2013, 

The great Oscar-winning producer (The Last Emperor, Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, Crash, Bad Timing) discusses and screens clips from his new film based on Thor Heyerdahl’s epic 1947 journey across the Pacific Ocean on a balsa-wood raft.

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Germaine Greer

The Forgotten Tradition: The Psalms and English Poetry

Hay Festival 2011, 
Some of the greatest treasures of the English language were written for the Coverdale Bible, the Bible Shakespeare read, and the Geneva Bible that was suppressed by order of James I.

Hay Player

Simon Pearson

The Great Escaper

Winter Weekend 2013, 

Roger Bushell was ‘Big X’, mastermind of the mass breakout from Stalag Luft III in March 1944, immortalised in the Hollywood film The Great Escape. Through exclusive access to his private papers – as well as fascinating new research from other sources – journalist Pearson has now written the first biography of this iconic figure. 

Simon Pearson

Hay Player

Sarah Harper

The End of Population Growth?

Hay Festival 2014, 

While it is common to hear about the problems of overpopulation, might there be unexplored benefits of increasing numbers of people in the world? How can we both consider and harness the potential benefits brought by a healthier, wealthier and larger population? May more people mean more scientists to discover how our world works, more inventors and thinkers to help solve the world’s problems, more skilled people to put these ideas into practice? 

Hay Player

Mark Townsend with Kenny & John Meighan

Point Man

Hay Festival 2012, 
The point man leads the patrol into battle, the first to face ambushes, hidden bombs and snipers. In 2007 and 2008, 20-year-old Kenny Meighan was the longest-serving point man in Helmand province. But returning to his hometown in Essex, where prospects are bleak and his father still suffers from the nightmares of his own war experience, Kenny's struggle is far from over.

Hay Player

Peter Barron, Nik Gowing, Linda Yueh and Benedict Brogan chaired by Francine Stock

The Google Debates 2: The Future Of News

Hay Festival 2013, 

In a world of instant record, global publication and media turmoil, what and who is the future of news? Google’s Barron is joined by the BBC World anchor and author of Skyfull Of Lies Gowing, China expert Yueh, and Brogan, The Telegraph’s Deputy Editor.

Hay Player

Tom Holland

In The Shadow Of The Sword - The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World

Hay Festival 2012, 
In the C6th the Near East was divided between two venerable empires - the Persian and the Roman. 100 years later one had vanished for ever and the other seemed almost finished. Ruling in their place were the Arabs - an upheaval so profound that it meant, in effect, the end of the Ancient World.

Hay Player

Tim Jackson

Prosperity Without Growth

Hay Festival 2010, 
In the advanced economies ever-increasing consumption adds little to human happiness and may even impede it. The sustainability adviser provides a credible vision of how human society can flourish – within the ecological limits of a finite planet.
Tim Jackson

Hay Player

Andrew Cope and Lara the Dog

Hay Festival 2008, 
Andrew introduces the inspiration for his Spy Dog books and tells you more about the thrilling adventures of her namesake, or as the highly-trained special agent is known  by the government, GM451.

Hay Fever 7 yrs +

Hay Player

Virginia Nicholson

Singled Out

Hay Festival 2008, 
Virginia Nicholson introduces her richly nuanced and brilliantly perceptive tale of How Two Million Women Survived Without Men after the First World War.

Hay Player

John Barrow

Cambridge Series 2: The Book of Universes

Hay Festival 2011, 
The mathematician encounters universes where the laws of physics can change from time to time and from one region to another, universes that have extra hidden dimensions of space and time, universes that live inside black holes, colliding universes, inflationary universes, and universes that come into being from something else – or from nothing at all.

Profile of John Barrow here 

Hay Player

Growing up different: Precious Williams, Lemn Sissay and Ross Van Horn

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
What’s your idea of a normal childhood? What kind of childhood makes a writer? These festival authors who grew up in mulit-racial backgrounds, juggle notions of adversity and security, loneliness and independence, fantasy and reality.

Hay Player

John Leguízamo with Roberto Pombo

Hollywood: art or frivolity

Cartagena 2012, 
The Colombian actor John Leguízamo will talk to Roberto Pombo, director of El Tiempo, about his life as an immigrant in the USA and his experiences in Hollywood. Actor, comedian and producer, John Leguízamo has received an Emmy Award, which he won in 1999 for the television programme Freak. He has worked in a number of films, such as Carlito’s Way by Brian de Palma, playing the nemesis of Carlito Brigante (Al Pacino), and he dramatised Toulouse Lautrec in the musical film Moulin Rouge, starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. In 2010 he began an international tour with his play Ghetto Klown.

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English available