Hay Player

Martin Amis en conversación con Peter Florence

Segovia 2009, 
El escritor británico vuelve a Segovia, esta vez para mostrarnos su labor como ensayista y comentarista, analizando a través de sus escritos los sucesos más importantes de los últimos treinta años; muchos de estos artículos estan recogidos en su libro The Second Plane, el cual será publicado próximamente en español. Conversará con Peter Florence, director del Hay Festival.

Se ofrecerá traducción simultánea del inglés al español

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

Richard Harries, Christopher Cocksworth, John Inge

King James Authorised Version 2

Hay Festival 2011, 
The trinity of bishops (Oxford, Coventry and Worcester) discuss Philemon, 1 Corinthians and Jonah.

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Richard Madeley talks to Raj Persaud

Fathers and Sons

Hay Festival 2009, 
The broadcaster sits down with the psychiatrist to analyse his agonising family memoir.

Hay Player

AC Grayling

The Age of Genius: The Seventeenth Century and the Birth of the Modern Mind

Hay Festival 2016, 

What happened to the European mind between 1605, when an audience watching Macbeth at the Globe might believe that regicide was such an aberration of the natural order that ghosts could burst from the ground, and 1649, when a large crowd could stand and watch the execution of a king? In this turbulent period, science moved from the alchemy and astrology of John Dee to the painstaking observation and astronomy of Galileo. And if the old ways still lingered and affected the new mindset, Descartes’ dualism presented an attempt to square the new philosophy with religious belief. By the end of that tumultuous century “the greatest ever change in the mental outlook of humanity” had irrevocably taken place.

AC Grayling

Hay Player

Wallace Broecker and Robert Kunzig talk to Jon Snow

Fixing Climate

Hay Festival 2008, 
The pre-eminent climate change scientist who coined the term ‘global warming’ way back in 1975 Wallace Broecker and his co-author Robert Kunzig propose a radical and amazing solution to the carbon crisis.

Chaired by Jon Snow.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

David Mitchell talks to Clemency Burton-Hill

Fictions – The Bone Clocks

Hay Festival 2015, 

This dazzling new novel is the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. And it’s brilliant. Mitchell’s previous books are Ghostwritten, number9dream, Cloud Atlas, Black Swan Green and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.

Please click here to prebook lunch at Relish Restaurant on site.

David Mitchell talks to Clemency Burton-Hill

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

Peter Lord

The Meaning of Pictures: Personal, Social and National Identity

Hay Festival 2010, 
The distinguished critic examines C18th, C19th and C20th Welsh paintings and how the pictures are understood by the people who use them – patrons, museum curators, and the general public.

Hay Player

Susan Greenfield

You and Me

Hay Festival 2012, 
The Director of the Institute for the Future of the Mind explores the Neuroscience of Identity. As the physical brain adapts exquisitely to the environment, and our environment changes in unprecedented ways, are we facing correspondingly unprecedented changes to our identity?

Hay Player

Richard Layard and Judy Dunn talk to Rosie Boycott

A Good Childhood

Hay Festival 2009, 
Is life really more difficult for children than it was, and if so why? And how can we make it better?

Hay Player

Joumana Haddad and Shereen El Feki talk to Joan Bakewell

Sex And The Citadel

Hay Festival 2013, 

Two compelling views of sex and gender in the Middle East. In Superman Is An Arab, her sequel to I Killed Sheherezade, Haddad examines the patriarchal system and machismo that continues to dominate in the Arab world. Sex is entwined in religion and tradition, politics and economics, gender and generations, so it makes the perfect lens for examining the region’s complex social landscape in El Feki’s study of Intimate Life In A Changing Arab World.

Hay Player

David Crystal

Think on my Words: Exploring Shakespeare's Language

Hay Festival 2008, 
The vaudevillian linguistics professor celebrates the most inventive and gifted wordsmith of all time.

Hay Player

Andrew St George and Edward Davis

The Navy Way

Hay Festival 2012, 
The senior service’s contemporary history with the author of The Royal Navy Way of Leadership and the Commandant General Royal Marines and Commander Amphibious Forces, whose book Operation Herrick - Helmand details the latest Afghan tour.

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Story Of English In 100 Words

Winter Weekend 2011, 
A unique history of the English language via the rude, the obscure and the downright surprising.
David Crystal

Hay Player

AA Gill talks to John Mitchinson

AA Gill is Further Away

Hay Festival 2011, 
Travels and food and stories with the iconoclastic journalist.

Hay Player

Marina Warner talks to László Krasznahorkai

The Winner of the 2015 Man Booker International Prize

Hay Festival 2015, 

The chair of judges interviews the winner of the £60,000 2015 Prize, who was announced on 19 May in London.

Born in 1954, László Krasznahorkai gained considerable recognition in 1985 when he published Satantango, which he later adapted for the cinema in collaboration with the filmmaker Bela Tarr. In 1993, he received the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year for The Melancholy of Resistance and has since been honoured with numerous literary prizes, amongst them the highest award of the Hungarian state, the Kossuth Prize.

Krasznahorkai and his translator George Szirtes were longlisted for the 2013 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize for Satantango and Krasznahorkai has won the Best Translated Book Award in the US two years in a row, in 2013 for Satantango and in 2014 for Seiobo There Below. Seiobo There Below was published in the UK on 7 May by Tuskar Rock Press.

The judging panel for the 2015 Man Booker International Prize was chaired by celebrated writer and academic Marina Warner. The panel also comprised Wen-chin Ouyang, Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature at SOAS, University of London; acclaimed author Nadeem Aslam; novelist and critic Elleke Boehmer, who is currently Professor of World Literature in English at Oxford University; and Edwin Frank, editorial director of the New York Review Books Classics.

The judges said of Krasznahorkai’s work: ‘In László Krasznahorkai’s The Melancholy of Resistance, a sinister circus has put a massive taxidermic specimen, a whole whale, Leviathan itself, on display in a country town. Violence soon erupts, and the book as a whole could be described as a vision, satirical and prophetic, of the dark historical province that goes by the name of Western Civilisation. Here, however, as throughout Krasznahorkai’s work, what strikes the reader above all are the extraordinary sentences, sentences of incredible length that go to incredible lengths, their tone switching from solemn to madcap to quizzical to desolate as they go their wayward way; epic sentences that, like a lint roll, pick up all sorts of odd and unexpected things as they accumulate inexorably into paragraphs that are as monumental as they are scabrous and musical.’

Announcing the winner, Marina Warner commented: ‘Laszlo Krasznahorkai is a visionary writer of extraordinary intensity and vocal range who captures the texture of present day existence in scenes that are terrifying, strange, appallingly comic, and often shatteringly beautiful. The Melancholy of Resistance, Satantango and Seiobo There Below are magnificent works of deep imagination and complex passions, in which the human comedy verges painfully onto transcendence. Krasznahorkai, who writes in Hungarian, has been superbly served by his translators, George Szirtes and Ottilie Mulzet.’

Marina Warner talks to László Krasznahorkai

Hay Player

Howard Jacobson talks to John Mullan

Shylock is My Name

Hay Festival 2016, 

With an absent wife and a daughter going off the rails, wealthy art collector and philanthropist Simon Strulovitch is in need of someone to talk to. So when he meets Shylock at a cemetery in Cheshire’s Golden Triangle, he invites him back to his house. It’s the beginning of a remarkable friendship. The Man Booker winner’s version of The Merchant of Venice bends time to its own advantage as it asks what it means to be a father, a Jew and a merciful human being in the modern world.
#TALKINGABOUTSHAKESPEARE

Howard Jacobson talks to John Mullan

Hay Player

Oscar Guardiola Rivera, Joanna Bourke and Costas Douzinas

The Eric Hobsbawm Lecture: The Age Of Anxieties

Hay Festival 2013, 

In this first lecture honouring our late President, three legal scholars, historians and political thinkers discuss the nature of his legacy, and the writing of modern history.

Hay Player

Simon Sebag Montefiore

Jerusalem

Hay Festival 2011, 
The biography of the universal city, the capital of two peoples, the shrine of three faiths; it is the prize of empires, the site of Judgment Day and the battlefield of today’s clash of civilizations. Chaired by Clemency Burton-Hill.
 
Read a review of Jerusalem

Hay Player

Peter Falk talks to Paul Blezard

Hay Festival 2007, 
The treasured Hollywood actor yarns his comedy career and the iconic TV role of Columbo in his autobiography, called, of course, Just One More Thing.

Hay Player

Germaine Greer

The Forgotten Tradition: The Psalms and English Poetry

Hay Festival 2011, 
Some of the greatest treasures of the English language were written for the Coverdale Bible, the Bible Shakespeare read, and the Geneva Bible that was suppressed by order of James I.

Hay Player

Mark Moody-Stuart

Responsible Leadership: Lessons From the Front Line of Sustainability and Ethics

Hay Festival 2014, 

The Chairman of the Royal Dutch/Shell Group from 1991 to 2001 and of Anglo American Plc from 2002 to 2009 discusses the realities, dilemmas and lessons to be learnt from the last 20 years of corporate engagement with sustainability, ethics and responsibility. He tells a tale of corruption and conflict, of extractive industries and intractable governments from Syria and Nigeria to Downing Street and Beijing. In a tough world, how can business do the right thing?