Hay Player

David Aaronovitch, Rachael Jolley, Tom Holland, David Baddiel, Anita Anand and Jodie Ginsberg

The Index Punch Ups

Hay Festival 2015, 

Five short arguments about flashpoints in the Freedom of Speech debates – porn, blasphemy, Israel, national security. Where do we draw the lines? And why?

David Aaronovitch, Rachael Jolley, Tom Holland, David Baddiel, Anita Anand and Jodie Ginsberg

Hay Player

Elif Shafak

Charity Gala 2012

Hay Festival 2012, 
Elif Shafak's contribution to the 2012 Charity Gala forms the basis for her 2013 Raymond Williams Lecture. It's about the silent G in the Turkish alphabet.

Hay Player

Simon Schama

Obama and History

Cartagena 2010, 
Professor of History and Art History at Columbia University, Simon Schama is a celebrated historian who combines academic rigour with a more personal approach to historic analysis. After lecturing at the universities of Cambridge, Oxford and Harvard, he moved to New York; since 1995, he has been writing about art for The New Yorker and has directed with success several programmes on art and history for the BBC. 

This event is in English. Simultaneous translation from English to Spanish available.

Hay Player

Mark Townsend with Kenny & John Meighan

Point Man

Hay Festival 2012, 
The point man leads the patrol into battle, the first to face ambushes, hidden bombs and snipers. In 2007 and 2008, 20-year-old Kenny Meighan was the longest-serving point man in Helmand province. But returning to his hometown in Essex, where prospects are bleak and his father still suffers from the nightmares of his own war experience, Kenny's struggle is far from over.

Hay Player

Liz Davies talks to Francine Stock

Growing Old Outrageously

Winter Weekend 2013, 

The co-author discusses her delightful memoir of a later-life friendship and what happens when two ladies of a certain age decide to test Graham Greene’s maxim: Leap and the net will appear! This is a book for thrill-seekers, the adventurous and armchair travellers alike, a celebration of friendship, laughter and all that’s good in the world. 

Liz Davies talks to Francine Stock

Hay Player

Mark Lynas, Philip Ball and guests

Sacred Cows Make The Best Beefburgers

Hay Festival 2013, 

Challenging firmly-held beliefs is not to be undertaken lightly. However, it is crucial in all walks of life if societies are to develop and be capable of meeting new challenges. Author and campaigner Mark Lynas and renowned science writer Philip Ball discuss. Chaired by Andy Fryers.

Hay Player

Carlos Fuentes talks to Peter Florence

Hay Festival 2010, 
To celebrate the launch of Hay Festival Zacatecas the legendary Mexican writer, author of Terra Nostra, Happy Families, The Crystal Frontier, The Old Gringo and This I Believe, discusses his career.

Hay Player

Subverting the Media

Hay Festival 2008, 
Nick Davies, author of Flat Earth News, Alan Rusbridger, editor of the Guardian, and Editorial Intelligence chief Julia Hosbawm talk to Matthew Engel about what really goes on in newsrooms and why our papers are the way they are.

Hay Player

Deyan Sudjic

The Language of Things

Hay Festival 2009, 
How did the design of a pistol influence a car? Why did a chair make a café the most fashionable place in Paris? What can we learn from a banknote, a police uniform or a typeface? The Director of the Design Museum explores our visual vocabulary.

Hay Player

Richard Harries, Christopher Cocksworth, John Inge

King James Authorised Version 2

Hay Festival 2011, 
The trinity of bishops (Oxford, Coventry and Worcester) discuss Philemon, 1 Corinthians and Jonah.

Hay Player

Kate Raworth

Doughnut Economics

Hay Festival 2017, 

Economics is broken. It has failed to predict or prevent financial crises that have shaken the foundations of our societies and perpetuated austerity and poverty. The Oxford academic identifies the seven critical ways in which mainstream economics has led us astray, and sets out a roadmap for bringing humanity into a sweet spot that meets the needs of all within the means of the planet. En route, she deconstructs the character of ‘rational economic man’ and explains what really makes us tick. Raworth has worked as Senior Researcher at Oxfam, and was co-author of the UN’s Human Development Report.

Kate Raworth

Hay Player

Rebecca Front

Curious: True Stories and Loose Connections

Hay Festival 2014, 

A collection of delightfully witty and acutely observed stories by the comedy writer, columnist and actress – star of The Thick of It, Lewis and Nighty Night. She reads and talks to Lisa Dwan.

Hay Player

Jules Evans

Philosophy for Life - And other dangerous situations

Hay Festival 2012, 
An invitation to a dream school with a rowdy faculty that includes 12 of the greatest thinkers the world has ever known. Each of these ancient philosophers teaches a technique we can use to transform ourselves and live better lives.

Hay Player

Joumana Haddad and Shereen El Feki talk to Joan Bakewell

Sex And The Citadel

Hay Festival 2013, 

Two compelling views of sex and gender in the Middle East. In Superman Is An Arab, her sequel to I Killed Sheherezade, Haddad examines the patriarchal system and machismo that continues to dominate in the Arab world. Sex is entwined in religion and tradition, politics and economics, gender and generations, so it makes the perfect lens for examining the region’s complex social landscape in El Feki’s study of Intimate Life In A Changing Arab World.

Hay Player

MJ Hyland, DBC Pierre and Paolo Giordano

Story: Like Life

Hay Festival 2009, 
An exclusive preview of this summer’s most brilliant novel, Hyland’s humane and riveting masterpiece This is How. DBC Pierre reads from his Hay Festival Press story Suddenly Doctor Cox. And introducing the European no.1 bestseller, Giordano’s astounding The Solitude of Prime Numbers. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Hay Player

Rolf Heuer

The John Maddox Lecture; A Year At CERN

Hay Festival 2013, 

This year’s keynote science lecture is given by the Director General of CERN on the last 12 months that has seen the laboratory receiving accolades around the world for the ‘discovery of the year’, with some pundits even renaming the American national holiday Higgsdependence Day, in honour of the particle whose identification was announced to the world on 4 July 2012. Followed by a discussion with physicists Frank Close and Tara Shears.

Hay Player

Cressida Cowell talks to Peter Florence

Hooray for Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III!

Hay Festival 2012, 
The creator of the wonderful How To Train Your Dragon series chats Vikings, Dragonese and the Isle of Berk.
 
7+ years

Hay Player

William Boyd talks to Peter Florence

Waiting for Sunrise

Hay Festival 2012, 
A story of passions and deceptions set between Freud’s Vienna and the intelligence services of wartime London from the author of Any Human Heart and Restless.

Hay Player

David Nutt, Mauricio Rodríguez Múnera, Álvaro Enrigue and David Aaronovitch

Drugs - Without the Hot Air

Hay Festival 2012, 
A discussion about Minimizing the Harms of Legal and Illegal Drugs for individuals and society. The neuropsychopharmacologist was fired from the ACMD by Home Secretary Alan Johnson for analysing the relative drug harms. He is joined by the Ambassador of Colombia, whose President Santos publicly aired the possibility of legalization in January at Hay Festival Cartagena, and the Mexican writer Álvaro Enrigue.

Hay Player

Peter Lord

The Meaning of Pictures: Personal, Social and National Identity

Hay Festival 2010, 
The distinguished critic examines C18th, C19th and C20th Welsh paintings and how the pictures are understood by the people who use them – patrons, museum curators, and the general public.

Hay Player

Tom Holland

Herodotus: The Histories

Hay Festival 2014, 

The classicist introduces his translation of the first work of history, a work that tells us much of what we know about the ancient world. Herodotus was an endlessly curious man, and gathered information about the world around him from as many people and places as he could investigate. Whether it was the pyramids of Egypt, the cannabis habit of the Scythians, the flora and fauna of Arabia or the table dancing of the Athenian aristocracy, he was fascinated by them all. His accounts of the great battles of Marathon and Thermopylae, of Salamis and Plataea, retain to this day a matchless epic quality.

Tom Holland

Hay Player

Ken Loach talks to Francine Stock

The 2017 Raymond Williams Lecture

Hay Festival 2017, 

The film director talks about culture and society and his style of socialist realism from his earliest 1960s television plays like Cathy Come Home to the masterpiece I Daniel Blake.

Ken Loach talks to Francine Stock

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Antonia Fraser talks to Melvyn Bragg

Must You Go? My Life With Harold Pinter

Hay Festival 2010, 
An account of a super A-list literary marriage, but intriguingly also a meticulous and subtle biographer’s account of the life and work of a great playwright.

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.