Hay Player

Subverting the Media

Hay Festival 2008, 
Nick Davies, author of Flat Earth News, Alan Rusbridger, editor of the Guardian, and Editorial Intelligence chief Julia Hosbawm talk to Matthew Engel about what really goes on in newsrooms and why our papers are the way they are.

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

Susan Greenfield

You and Me

Hay Festival 2012, 
The Director of the Institute for the Future of the Mind explores the Neuroscience of Identity. As the physical brain adapts exquisitely to the environment, and our environment changes in unprecedented ways, are we facing correspondingly unprecedented changes to our identity?

Hay Player

Neil MacGregor and Richard J Evans

Germany and Memory

Hay Festival 2016, 
A conversation with two of the world’s greatest historians. MacGregor is the former Director of the British Museum, author of the BBC Radio 4 series and books A History of the World in 100 Objects and Germany: Memories of a Nation. Evans, Regius Professor Emeritus of History at Cambridge University, is the leading authority on C20th Germany. His most recent book is The Third Reich in History and Memory.
Neil MacGregor and Richard J Evans

Hay Player

John Mitchinson, John Lloyd and James Harkin

QI’s Greatest Hits

Hay Festival 2015, 

QI’s very core is ‘the astonishing fact’: painstakingly researched and distilled to a brilliant and shocking clarity. To celebrate the reissue of their backlist, join us for a canter through their best-ever discoveries: Jeeves wasn’t a butler. Coffee isn’t made from beans. Woodlice drink through their bottoms. Light is invisible. Mount Everest isn’t the tallest mountain. Florence Nightingale spent 50 years in bed. There are 613 commandments in the bible. Monkeys pay to look at porn. An hour of endless fun with the QI writing team.

John Mitchinson, John Lloyd and James Harkin

Hay Player

David Almond, Sarah Crossan, Jenny Valentine

Hay Festival 2015, 
David Almond’s latest novel A Song for Ella Grey is a brilliant retelling of the Orpheus myth by way of contemporary Tyneside. Sarah Crossan uses both poetry and prose to tell her stories, most recently in Apple and Rain. They are joined by Jenny Valentine who previews her eagerly-awaited new novel Fire Colour One, a highly original story with an extraordinary twist. These three acclaimed writers talk about how they pack such an emotional punch into their novels.
12+ years/YA
David Almond, Sarah Crossan, Jenny Valentine

Hay Player

Antonia Fraser talks to Melvyn Bragg

Must You Go? My Life With Harold Pinter

Hay Festival 2010, 
An account of a super A-list literary marriage, but intriguingly also a meticulous and subtle biographer’s account of the life and work of a great playwright.

Hay Player

CHINA with Sabotage Sister

Hay Festival 2011, 
Multi-media performance by poet, film-maker and novelist Xiaolou Guo and her syndicate.
 
Find out more about Xiaolou Guo on her website

Hay Player

MJ Hyland, DBC Pierre and Paolo Giordano

Story: Like Life

Hay Festival 2009, 
An exclusive preview of this summer’s most brilliant novel, Hyland’s humane and riveting masterpiece This is How. DBC Pierre reads from his Hay Festival Press story Suddenly Doctor Cox. And introducing the European no.1 bestseller, Giordano’s astounding The Solitude of Prime Numbers. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Hay Player

Martin Rees, Tahmima Anam, Helena Kennedy and Joan Bakewell talk to Anita Anand

Hay 25 – The Way We Live Now 2

Hay Festival 2012, 
In this second conversation about our big anniversary project the panel discuss two of the 25 Questions:
 
Do you think we are reaching a point at which technological 'progress' kills the spirit and what we are, or will it liberate us all?
 
25 years ago, the whole world lived in fear of an aids pandemic, the Berlin wall divided east and Western Europe, China and Latin America were considered part of the developing world and less than 1% of the world’s population used mobile phones or computers. What changes will we see to the way we live now in 25 years time?

Hay Player

Cressida Cowell talks to Peter Florence

Hooray for Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III!

Hay Festival 2012, 
The creator of the wonderful How To Train Your Dragon series chats Vikings, Dragonese and the Isle of Berk.
 
7+ years

Hay Player

David Gilman

The Ultimate Survival Quiz

Hay Festival 2009, 
Fancy yourself as the next ultimate survival daredevil? Then this is the place for you.  Come and test your knowledge in this super buzzer quiz and pick up a few tips for those tricky situations from the author of the adrenalin-fuelled Danger Zone series. Look out Bear & Ray!

9–14 years

Hay Player

Gareth Thomas talks to Mike Calvin

Proud

Hay Festival 2015, 

Gareth Thomas had it all. He was a national hero, a sporting icon. He was a leader of men, captain of Wales and the British Lions. To him, rugby was an expression of cultural identity, a sacred code. It was no mere ball game. It gave him everything, except the freedom to be himself. This is the story of a man with a secret that was slowly killing him. Something he feared might devastate not only his own life but the lives of his wife, family, friends and teammates. His fear that telling the truth about his sexuality would lose him everything he loved almost sent him over the edge. The deceit ended when Gareth became the world’s most prominent athlete to come out as a gay man. His gesture has strengthened strangers, and given him a fresh perspective.

Gareth Thomas talks to Mike Calvin

Hay Player

Peter Lord

The Meaning of Pictures: Personal, Social and National Identity

Hay Festival 2010, 
The distinguished critic examines C18th, C19th and C20th Welsh paintings and how the pictures are understood by the people who use them – patrons, museum curators, and the general public.

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Alexander McCall Smith talks to SJ Parris

Fictions – The Master

Hay Festival 2015, 

WINNER OF THE 2015 BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE FOR COMIC FICTION

A conversation with the prolific master storyteller whose latest books are the comic masterpiece Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party, The Novel Habits of Happiness in his Isabel Dalhousie series, the 15th Ladies No.1 Detective Agency book The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café and the gorgeously romantic The Forever Girl.

Alexander McCall Smith talks to SJ Parris

Hay Player

Oscar Guardiola Rivera, Joanna Bourke and Costas Douzinas

The Eric Hobsbawm Lecture: The Age Of Anxieties

Hay Festival 2013, 

In this first lecture honouring our late President, three legal scholars, historians and political thinkers discuss the nature of his legacy, and the writing of modern history.

Hay Player

Antony Beevor

The Second World War

Hay Festival 2012, 
No other period in history has presented greater dilemmas both for leaders and ordinary people, nor offered such examples of individual and mass tragedy, the corruption of power politics, ideological hypocrisy, the egomania of commanders, betrayal, perversity, self-sacrifice, unbelievable sadism and unpredictable kindness. From the author of Stalingrad, D-Day and Berlin - The Downfall. Chaired by Jim Naughtie.

Hay Player

Jerry Brotton

Shakespeare 450 – ‘Was Mohammed inspiréd with a dove?’

Hay Festival 2014, 

In this first of Hay Festival's 2014 sessions celebrating the 450th birthday of the playwright, the Renaissance scholar explores Shakespeare’s relationship with the Islamic world in the history plays and in his tragedies.

Jerry Brotton

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Dick and Dom

Hay Festival 2015, 
Join Dick and Dom, authors of Slightly Naughty But Very Silly Words and their gut-splitting new handbook, Whoopee Book of Practical Jokes, for a big handful of comedy nuts and babbling guff! An interactive and very funny show which includes a practical joke master class, stuffed with gags, brilliant practical jokes and sage and onion. If this event doesn’t tickle your funny bone, you’re probably dead!
7+ years
Dick and Dom

Hay Player

Ed Kessler

Cambridge 800 Series: Isaac and Ishmael – what next?

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Executive Director of the Centre for Study of Muslim–Jewish Relations surveys the state of play.

Hay Player

Celia Rees and Melvin Burgess

This is Not Forgiveness and Kill All Enemies

Hay Festival 2012, 
Two taut psychological dramas from the leading lights of young adult fiction. Join them to talk truth and darkness. Chaired by Daniel Hahn.
 
14+ years

Hay Player

Emma Dodd and Kelly Gerrard

An Eygptian Escape

Hay Festival 2012, 
Join the wonderful team behind the Charlie and Bandit graphic novel series as they whisk us back in time to the land of the Pharaohs.
You'll be creating your very own comic strip with help from Emma and Kelly, so make sure you bring a pad and pencil!
 
7+ years