Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

David Gilman

The Ultimate Survival Quiz

Hay Festival 2009, 
Fancy yourself as the next ultimate survival daredevil? Then this is the place for you.  Come and test your knowledge in this super buzzer quiz and pick up a few tips for those tricky situations from the author of the adrenalin-fuelled Danger Zone series. Look out Bear & Ray!

9–14 years

Hay Player

Michelle Magorian

Goodnight Mr Tom

Hay Festival 2011, 
Delve inside the covers of this touching and powerful classic as it reaches its 30th birthday. Chaired by Julia Eccleshare.
 
10+ years & families

Hay Player

Jonathan Jones

The Lost Battles: Leonardo, Michelangelo and the Artistic Duel That Defined the Renaissance

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 1504 the two artists competed with each other directly, to paint the walls of a room in Florence’s Palazzo Vecchio.
Jonathan Jones

Hay Player

Dianne Edwards talks to Francine Stock

From Ancient Hay To Gardens Today

Hay Festival 2013, 

Plants changed the face of the planet – and fossils from Hay and around the world have revealed how this happened. Edwards tells the story of these ancient plants, which led to the gardens, forests and landscapes we know today.

Hay Player

Glyn Maxwell talks to Simon Armitage

On Poetry

Hay Festival 2013, 

The poet celebrates the work of the canonical poets and discusses his literary philosophy: that the greatest verse arises from a harmony of mind and body, and that poetic forms originate in human necessities – breath, heartbeat, footstep, posture.

Hay Player

Mark Watson, Louise Gray and Jim Robbins

Today On Earth

Hay Festival 2013, 

What’s been happening in the environmental world during Festival week? We pick through the best and worst, sort the bizarre from the banal and generally sift the global media. The comedian and the journalists discuss. Chaired by Andy Fryers.

Hay Player

Emma Dodd and Kelly Gerrard

An Eygptian Escape

Hay Festival 2012, 
Join the wonderful team behind the Charlie and Bandit graphic novel series as they whisk us back in time to the land of the Pharaohs.
You'll be creating your very own comic strip with help from Emma and Kelly, so make sure you bring a pad and pencil!
 
7+ years

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Antony Beevor

The Second World War

Hay Festival 2012, 
No other period in history has presented greater dilemmas both for leaders and ordinary people, nor offered such examples of individual and mass tragedy, the corruption of power politics, ideological hypocrisy, the egomania of commanders, betrayal, perversity, self-sacrifice, unbelievable sadism and unpredictable kindness. From the author of Stalingrad, D-Day and Berlin - The Downfall. Chaired by Jim Naughtie.

Hay Player

James Campbell

Comedy 4 Kids

Hay Festival 2010, 
The acclaimed stand-up comic for children returns to Hay. Get ready to giggle your gloves off!*
 
Family event
 
*We think socks get too much attention.

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Story Of English In 100 Words

Winter Weekend 2011, 
A unique history of the English language via the rude, the obscure and the downright surprising.
David Crystal

Hay Player

Alexander Monro

The Paper Trail

Hay Festival 2014, 

This is the story of how paper, a simple Chinese invention, has wrapped itself around our world, with history’s most momentous ideas etched upon its surface. The author discusses An Unexpected History of the World’s Greatest Invention with Liz Thomson.

Alexander Monro

Hay Player

Martin Brown

Horrible Histories

Hay Festival 2012, 
The star illustrator behind the phenomenally successful series takes a blood-curdling look at history from the Savage Stone Age to the Barmy British Empire via the Measly Middle Ages and Slimy Stuarts.
 
9+ years

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

Marius Daniel Popescu in conversation with Geoffroy Gérard

Segovia 2013, 

The Swiss poet, awarded with the Robert Walser Prize and the Cultural Prize of Literature of the canton of Vaud, for his novel La Symphonie du Loup, and Grand Prix Littéraire du Web 2012 for his latest novel Les Couleurs de l'hirondelle, speaks with the Belgian expert in communication, Geoffroy Gérard.

 

Simultaneous translation from French into Spanish.


With the collaboration of the Swiss Embassy in Spain and the Swiss Cultural Foundation Pro Helvetia.

Hay Player

Kevin Maher, Taiye Selasi and Gavin Extence chaired by Chris White

Fictions – Debuts

Hay Festival 2013, 

Three of the debut novels selected for the 2013 Waterstones Eleven: Maher’s lyrical and funny The Fields tells of an interrupted adolescence in 1984 Dublin. Selasi’s Ghana Must Go is the story of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together. Extence’s The Universe Versus Alex Woods is a funny and heartbreaking tale of an unexpected friendship, an unlikely hero and an improbable journey.

Hay Player

Timothy Brook and Xiaolou Guo

China

Hay Festival 2011, 
Two views of the emerging superpower from the distinguished sinologist, author of Troubled Empire and The Confusions of Pleasure and the novelist and performer whose books include A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers and UFO In Her Eyes. Chaired by Rosie Goldsmith.

Hay Player

David Eagleman

Sum: Forty Tales from the Afterlives

Cartagena 2011, 
How do you imagine life after death? David Eagleman, neurologist and writer, talks to us about Sum: Forty Tales from the Afterlives, a novel that the Wall Street Journal describes as “imaginative and ingenious”, translated into 23 languages and a bestseller in a number of countries. The book’s stories are inspired by both fiction and science, creating a universe of possibilities that is sure to move us. 

Simultaneous translation from English to Spanish available

Hay Player

Polly Toynbee and David Walker

Unjust Rewards

Hay Festival 2009, 
A rigorous and profoundly shocking study Exposing Greed and Inequality in Britain Today.

Hay Player

Andrew Cope and Lara the Dog

Hay Festival 2008, 
Andrew introduces the inspiration for his Spy Dog books and tells you more about the thrilling adventures of her namesake, or as the highly-trained special agent is known  by the government, GM451.

Hay Fever 7 yrs +

Hay Player

Ed Kessler

Cambridge 800 Series: Isaac and Ishmael – what next?

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Executive Director of the Centre for Study of Muslim–Jewish Relations surveys the state of play.

Hay Player

Paul Silk, Graham Allen, Richard Wyn Jones

Constitutional Reform

Hay Festival 2013, 

Is the UK on the verge of breaking up? Scotland has its referendum in 2014, Wales is seeking further powers from Westminster, and local government in England is being strengthened. Silk, Commission on Devolution in Wales, Allen, Chair of the Political and Constitutional Reform Committee, and Wyn Jones, Director of the Wales Governance Centre, discuss. Chaired by the BBC's Brian Meechan.

Hay Player

John Leguízamo with Roberto Pombo

Hollywood: art or frivolity

Cartagena 2012, 
The Colombian actor John Leguízamo will talk to Roberto Pombo, director of El Tiempo, about his life as an immigrant in the USA and his experiences in Hollywood. Actor, comedian and producer, John Leguízamo has received an Emmy Award, which he won in 1999 for the television programme Freak. He has worked in a number of films, such as Carlito’s Way by Brian de Palma, playing the nemesis of Carlito Brigante (Al Pacino), and he dramatised Toulouse Lautrec in the musical film Moulin Rouge, starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. In 2010 he began an international tour with his play Ghetto Klown.

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English available

Hay Player

Richard Layard and Judy Dunn talk to Rosie Boycott

A Good Childhood

Hay Festival 2009, 
Is life really more difficult for children than it was, and if so why? And how can we make it better?