Hay Player

Dianne Edwards talks to Francine Stock

From Ancient Hay To Gardens Today

Hay Festival 2013, 

Plants changed the face of the planet – and fossils from Hay and around the world have revealed how this happened. Edwards tells the story of these ancient plants, which led to the gardens, forests and landscapes we know today.

Hay Player

Nigel Owens, Sam Warburton and Martyn Phillips talk to Carolyn Hitt

Grand Slams, Game Plans, Tight Calls and Balance Sheets

Hay Festival 2019, 

Rugby is a serious global business that is scaling up, and facing regional and global challenges and revolutions. WRU CEO and Chair of GlobalWelsh Martyn Phillips, Sam Warburton, the former Wales, Lions and Cardiff Blues captain and THE ref Nigel Owens discuss all aspects of the sport: its challenges, both on and off the field, and the culture that underpins the essence of the game, in conversation with Carolyn Hitt, author of Wales Play in Red.

Hay Player

Monty Don

Down to Earth

Winter Weekend 2017, 

The gardening writer and Gardener’s World star follows his fabulous bestseller Nigel: My Family and Other Dogs by sharing gardening wisdom from his 50 years of experience. Tips, soil and wonderful stories.

Monty Don

Hay Player

Carlos Fuentes talks to Peter Florence

Hay Festival 2010, 
To celebrate the launch of Hay Festival Zacatecas the legendary Mexican writer, author of Terra Nostra, Happy Families, The Crystal Frontier, The Old Gringo and This I Believe, discusses his career.

Hay Player

Deyan Sudjic

The Language of Things

Hay Festival 2009, 
How did the design of a pistol influence a car? Why did a chair make a café the most fashionable place in Paris? What can we learn from a banknote, a police uniform or a typeface? The Director of the Design Museum explores our visual vocabulary.

Hay Player

Jonathan Jones

The Lost Battles: Leonardo, Michelangelo and the Artistic Duel That Defined the Renaissance

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 1504 the two artists competed with each other directly, to paint the walls of a room in Florence’s Palazzo Vecchio.
Jonathan Jones

Hay Player

Giles Foden talks to John Sibi-Okumu

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
The author discusses his novels Zanzibar, Ladysmith and his award-winning Idi Amin novel The Last King of Scotland.

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Story Of English In 100 Words

Winter Weekend 2011, 
A unique history of the English language via the rude, the obscure and the downright surprising.
David Crystal

Hay Player

Sarah Churchwell

Reformations 4: Expertise

Hay Festival 2017, 

Everyone has experience, and the deeper your experience of a given subject or area, the greater your expertise. In a culture that trumpets anti-intellectualism, how might we reconcile and re-present academic expertise and practical experience? Churchwell is professorial fellow in American literature and chair of public understanding of the humanities at the School of Advanced Study, University of London.

Sarah Churchwell

Hay Player

Emma Dodd and Kelly Gerrard

An Eygptian Escape

Hay Festival 2012, 
Join the wonderful team behind the Charlie and Bandit graphic novel series as they whisk us back in time to the land of the Pharaohs.
You'll be creating your very own comic strip with help from Emma and Kelly, so make sure you bring a pad and pencil!
 
7+ years

Hay Player

MJ Hyland, DBC Pierre and Paolo Giordano

Story: Like Life

Hay Festival 2009, 
An exclusive preview of this summer’s most brilliant novel, Hyland’s humane and riveting masterpiece This is How. DBC Pierre reads from his Hay Festival Press story Suddenly Doctor Cox. And introducing the European no.1 bestseller, Giordano’s astounding The Solitude of Prime Numbers. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Perils of Being a Linguist

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Word Prof casts a humorous eye over a career of dangerous encounters – kidnapping and assassination, assault and murder, bribery and corruption, belly-dancers and red-light districts, revolutions and spies.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Kevin Maher, Taiye Selasi and Gavin Extence chaired by Chris White

Fictions – Debuts

Hay Festival 2013, 

Three of the debut novels selected for the 2013 Waterstones Eleven: Maher’s lyrical and funny The Fields tells of an interrupted adolescence in 1984 Dublin. Selasi’s Ghana Must Go is the story of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together. Extence’s The Universe Versus Alex Woods is a funny and heartbreaking tale of an unexpected friendship, an unlikely hero and an improbable journey.

Hay Player

Antony Beevor

The Second World War

Hay Festival 2012, 
No other period in history has presented greater dilemmas both for leaders and ordinary people, nor offered such examples of individual and mass tragedy, the corruption of power politics, ideological hypocrisy, the egomania of commanders, betrayal, perversity, self-sacrifice, unbelievable sadism and unpredictable kindness. From the author of Stalingrad, D-Day and Berlin - The Downfall. Chaired by Jim Naughtie.

Hay Player

David Mitchell talks to Rosie Goldsmith

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet

Hay Festival 2010, 
The astounding new novel by the author of Cloud Atlas is set in Japan in 1799.
David Mitchell talks to Rosie Goldsmith

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

David Gilman

The Ultimate Survival Quiz

Hay Festival 2009, 
Fancy yourself as the next ultimate survival daredevil? Then this is the place for you.  Come and test your knowledge in this super buzzer quiz and pick up a few tips for those tricky situations from the author of the adrenalin-fuelled Danger Zone series. Look out Bear & Ray!

9–14 years

Hay Player

John Leguízamo with Roberto Pombo

Hollywood: art or frivolity

Cartagena 2012, 
The Colombian actor John Leguízamo will talk to Roberto Pombo, director of El Tiempo, about his life as an immigrant in the USA and his experiences in Hollywood. Actor, comedian and producer, John Leguízamo has received an Emmy Award, which he won in 1999 for the television programme Freak. He has worked in a number of films, such as Carlito’s Way by Brian de Palma, playing the nemesis of Carlito Brigante (Al Pacino), and he dramatised Toulouse Lautrec in the musical film Moulin Rouge, starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. In 2010 he began an international tour with his play Ghetto Klown.

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English available

Hay Player

Andrew Cope and Lara the Dog

Hay Festival 2008, 
Andrew introduces the inspiration for his Spy Dog books and tells you more about the thrilling adventures of her namesake, or as the highly-trained special agent is known  by the government, GM451.

Hay Fever 7 yrs +

Hay Player

Monty Don and Derry Moore

Paradise Gardens

Hay Festival 2018, 

In the Islamic tradition, a garden with its central elements of water, the scent of fruit trees, and places for rest and reflection, celebrates Heaven on Earth. The gardener Monty Don and acclaimed photographer Derry Moore set off on a journey to find out more about the principles and immersive delights of paradise gardens and how a very different culture and climate has influenced garden design round the world. From the Real Alcazar and the Alhambra in Spain to a Mughal garden in Bradford, the Taj Mahal in India, and the Maidan in Isfahan, Iran, the birthplace of paradise gardens, they present a glorious celebration of the richness of Islamic culture through some of the most beautiful gardens on earth.

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

David Starkey

Magna Carta

Hay Festival 2015, 

The historian examines the context of the 1215 charter and its lasting impact on democracy today.

David Starkey

Hay Player

Subverting the Media

Hay Festival 2008, 
Nick Davies, author of Flat Earth News, Alan Rusbridger, editor of the Guardian, and Editorial Intelligence chief Julia Hosbawm talk to Matthew Engel about what really goes on in newsrooms and why our papers are the way they are.