Hay Player

Stuart Rose and Kamal Ahmed

Business No Longer As Usual

Hay Festival 2011, 
Can big business be truly sustainable? Join the architect of M&S Plan A, chaired by the Business Editor of the Sunday Telegraph.

Hay Player

Carlos Fuentes talks to Peter Florence

Hay Festival 2010, 
To celebrate the launch of Hay Festival Zacatecas the legendary Mexican writer, author of Terra Nostra, Happy Families, The Crystal Frontier, The Old Gringo and This I Believe, discusses his career.

Hay Player

Deyan Sudjic

The Language of Things

Hay Festival 2009, 
How did the design of a pistol influence a car? Why did a chair make a café the most fashionable place in Paris? What can we learn from a banknote, a police uniform or a typeface? The Director of the Design Museum explores our visual vocabulary.

Hay Player

Richard Evans

The OU Cymru Lecture: War and Society in Germany, 1939–45

Hay Festival 2009, 
Why did ordinary Germans keep on fighting to the end when they knew the war was lost? The author of The Third Reich at War examines the effects of war on German society between 1939 and 1945, asks how people coped with it, and looks at its longer-term effects.

Hay Player

Andrew Cope and Lara the Dog

Hay Festival 2008, 
Andrew introduces the inspiration for his Spy Dog books and tells you more about the thrilling adventures of her namesake, or as the highly-trained special agent is known  by the government, GM451.

Hay Fever 7 yrs +

Hay Player

Juan Goytisolo presentado por Andrés Sánchez Robayna

El exiliado de aquí y allá

Segovia 2008, 
Juan Goytisolo se define a sí mismo como ‘castellano en Cataluña, afrancesado en España, español en Francia, latino en Norteamérica, nesrani en Marruecos y moro en todas partes’; es autor de una extensa y variada obra narrativa y ensayística, y ha cultivado géneros como el reportaje, la literatura de viajes y las memorias. Presentado por Andrés Sánchez Robayna, leerá fragmentos de su último libro El exiliado de aquí y allá.

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Story Of English In 100 Words

Winter Weekend 2011, 
A unique history of the English language via the rude, the obscure and the downright surprising.
David Crystal

Hay Player

Samir El-Youssef and Brian Chikwava chaired by Georgina Godwin

Story: Migrations

Hay Festival 2009, 
Caine Prize-winner Chikwava’s Harare North is an original and brilliant tale of illegal immigration into London. El-Youssef’s The Illusion of Return displaces his Palestinian characters to America and to London.

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

Parc comes to Hay

Hay Festival 2008, 
Caspar Walsh is a former inmate, and now writer-in-residence at HM Parc Prison, Bridgend. He discusses his autobiography Criminal with Peter Florence. This session complements the Hay Comes to Parc arm of the Festival being held this week at the prison. For full details please see www.hayfestival.com.

Hay Player

Jonathan Jones

The Lost Battles: Leonardo, Michelangelo and the Artistic Duel That Defined the Renaissance

Hay Festival 2010, 
In 1504 the two artists competed with each other directly, to paint the walls of a room in Florence’s Palazzo Vecchio.
Jonathan Jones

Hay Player

Norman Davies

The History Of Half-Forgotten Europe

Winter Weekend 2011, 
How many British people know that Glasgow was founded by the Welsh in a period when neither England nor Scotland existed? Europe’s history is littered with kingdoms, duchies, empires and republics which have now vanished. Norman Davies peers through the cracks in mainstream history writing and listens to the echoes of lost realms across the centuries.
Norman Davies

Hay Player

Steve Punt, Will Smith and Marcus Brigstocke

Talking Funny

Hay Festival 2015, 

Just because you can say funny things doesn’t mean you can write funny things. Three of the best comedy writers spill the beans on what makes a good script. The writers Will Smith (The Thick of It and Veep) and Steve Punt (The Now Show, The Mary Whitehouse Experience) talk to Marcus Brigstocke.

Steve Punt, Will Smith and Marcus Brigstocke

Hay Player

Karl Ove Knausgård talks to Razia Iqbal

Fictions – Boyhood Island

Hay Festival 2014, 

The Norwegian writer’s six-volume autobiographical novel My Struggle is one of the great masterpieces of contemporary literature. He discusses volume 3, Boyhood Island. ‘It’s unbelievable. I need the next volume like crack. It’s completely blown my mind.’ – Zadie Smith. He is the winner of the 2014 Hay Festival Medal for Prose.

Karl Ove Knausgård talks to Razia Iqbal

Hay Player

Tom Holland and Paul Cartledge

The Greeks 1 - Herodotus

Hay Festival 2012, 
The C5th BC Father of History, who pioneered the systems of ‘inquiry’, holds a mirror up to our own concerns about East and West. Herodotus has an almost modern fascination with the variety of human culture.
 
The first of 13 sessions exploring the wonders of Ancient Greece, as part of our commitment to Britain's Olympic year.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Mark Lynas talks to Andy Fryers

Green World Question Time

Hay Festival 2009, 
The author of High Tides discusses Obama’s eco-practice, the latest developments in Climate Change study, nuclear power and the role of individuals and NGOs.

Hay Player

Helen Lederer talks to Kathryn Gray

Finger Food

Hay Festival 2012, 
The comedian, author of Coping with Helen Lederer and Single Minding discusses her new Quick Reads story - A Comedy of Ambition, Dreams, Treachery and Daytime Television.
 
Quick Reads are short, sharp shots of entertainment – brilliantly written short books for people who want a fun, fast read, have lost the reading habit or find reading tough.

Hay Player

Jon Gower, Jeremy Moore, Tomos Williams

At Water’s Edge

Hay Festival 2012, 
As the All-Wales Coast Path opens to the public, the writer is joined by his fellow-travelling photographer and trumpeter to explore the country’s 870-mile edge, where land meets sea.

Hay Player

John Leguízamo with Roberto Pombo

Hollywood: art or frivolity

Cartagena 2012, 
The Colombian actor John Leguízamo will talk to Roberto Pombo, director of El Tiempo, about his life as an immigrant in the USA and his experiences in Hollywood. Actor, comedian and producer, John Leguízamo has received an Emmy Award, which he won in 1999 for the television programme Freak. He has worked in a number of films, such as Carlito’s Way by Brian de Palma, playing the nemesis of Carlito Brigante (Al Pacino), and he dramatised Toulouse Lautrec in the musical film Moulin Rouge, starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. In 2010 he began an international tour with his play Ghetto Klown.

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English available

Hay Player

Giles Foden talks to John Sibi-Okumu

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
The author discusses his novels Zanzibar, Ladysmith and his award-winning Idi Amin novel The Last King of Scotland.

Hay Player

Andrew Edgar

Cardiff University Series 3: A Moral Conception Of The NHS

Hay Festival 2013, 

An exclusive emphasis upon efficiency leads to a fundamental misunderstanding of the true nature of a national health service. Viewed as a ‘civil association’, it is through the NHS that we, as a community, express and put into practice our sense of morality.

Hay Player

The Future of Eden

Hay Festival 2008, 
Eco superhero Tim Smit dreams the potential of his Eden Project with Rosie Boycott.

Hay Player

David Gilman

The Ultimate Survival Quiz

Hay Festival 2009, 
Fancy yourself as the next ultimate survival daredevil? Then this is the place for you.  Come and test your knowledge in this super buzzer quiz and pick up a few tips for those tricky situations from the author of the adrenalin-fuelled Danger Zone series. Look out Bear & Ray!

9–14 years