Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Patrick Hannan talks to Jim Naughtie

A Useful Fiction: Adventures in British Democracy

Hay Festival 2009, 
Ten devolved years on, we survey the trials, tribulations, powers and glories of the assemblies and parliaments in Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

Hay Player

Antony Beevor

The Second World War

Hay Festival 2012, 
No other period in history has presented greater dilemmas both for leaders and ordinary people, nor offered such examples of individual and mass tragedy, the corruption of power politics, ideological hypocrisy, the egomania of commanders, betrayal, perversity, self-sacrifice, unbelievable sadism and unpredictable kindness. From the author of Stalingrad, D-Day and Berlin - The Downfall. Chaired by Jim Naughtie.

Hay Player

Giles Foden talks to John Sibi-Okumu

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
The author discusses his novels Zanzibar, Ladysmith and his award-winning Idi Amin novel The Last King of Scotland.

Hay Player

Charlie Higson & Darren Shan

The Dead, Ocean of Blood

Hay Festival 2011, 
In this ‘dream team’ event Hay brings together for the very first time two of the biggest names on the horror circuit. Join them as they talk the undead and their future plans.
 
10 + years Goosebumps

Hay Player

Maajid Nawaz talks to Oliver Bullough

Radical

Hay Festival 2015, 

Born and raised in Essex, Maajid Nawaz was recruited into politicised Islam as a teenager. Abandoning his love of hip hop music, graffiti and girls, he was recruited into Hizb ut-Tahrir (the Liberation Party) where he played a leading and international role in the shaping and dissemination of an aggressive anti-West narrative. Arriving in Egypt the day before 9/11, his views soon led to his arrest, imprisonment and mental torture, before being thrown into solitary confinement in a Cairo jail reserved for political prisoners. There, while mixing with everyone from the assassins of Egypt’s president to Liberal reformists, he underwent an intellectual transformation and, on his release after four years, he publicly renounced the Islamist ideology that had defined his life. This move would cost him his marriage, his family and his friends as well as his personal security.

Nawaz now works all over the world to counter Islamism and to promote democratic ideals through his organisation, the Quilliam Foundation, and is standing for Parliament.

Maajid Nawaz talks to Oliver Bullough

Hay Player

Vicky Pryce, David Wilson and Erwin James

Some Truths About Prisons

Hay Festival 2014, 

A conversation about the penal system. Pryce served time for perverting the course of justice. She is the author of Prisonomics: Behind Bars in Britain’s Failing Prisons. Both former Prison Governors and now criminologists, Wilson is the author of Out of Sight Out of Mind and Pain and Retribution. They talk to Erwin James, author of A Life Inside and The Home Stretch.

Hay Player

Tom Holland and Paul Cartledge

The Greeks 1 - Herodotus

Hay Festival 2012, 
The C5th BC Father of History, who pioneered the systems of ‘inquiry’, holds a mirror up to our own concerns about East and West. Herodotus has an almost modern fascination with the variety of human culture.
 
The first of 13 sessions exploring the wonders of Ancient Greece, as part of our commitment to Britain's Olympic year.

Hay Player

Helen Lederer talks to Kathryn Gray

Finger Food

Hay Festival 2012, 
The comedian, author of Coping with Helen Lederer and Single Minding discusses her new Quick Reads story - A Comedy of Ambition, Dreams, Treachery and Daytime Television.
 
Quick Reads are short, sharp shots of entertainment – brilliantly written short books for people who want a fun, fast read, have lost the reading habit or find reading tough.

Hay Player

Samir El-Youssef and Brian Chikwava chaired by Georgina Godwin

Story: Migrations

Hay Festival 2009, 
Caine Prize-winner Chikwava’s Harare North is an original and brilliant tale of illegal immigration into London. El-Youssef’s The Illusion of Return displaces his Palestinian characters to America and to London.

Hay Player

Robert Llewellyn, Jesse Norman, Fiona Howarth, Mike Hawes and Tony Whitehorn

Electric Vehicles: How Low Can We Go?

Hay Festival 2018, 
With reductions in air pollution, managing climate change and improving fuel security becoming more urgent, how is government policy meeting these priorities and what are vehicle manufacturers doing to design vehicles that help to achieve the same goals? How do we plan for the future in a society which has been so reliant on the internal combustion engine car? Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Transport Jesse Norman, Mike Hawes, CEO of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, Fiona Howarth is the CEO of Octopus Electric Vehicles and Tony Whitehorn, President and CEO of Hyundai UK. Chaired by TV presenter, author and electric vehicle expert Robert Llewellyn.

Hay Player

Parc comes to Hay

Hay Festival 2008, 
Caspar Walsh is a former inmate, and now writer-in-residence at HM Parc Prison, Bridgend. He discusses his autobiography Criminal with Peter Florence. This session complements the Hay Comes to Parc arm of the Festival being held this week at the prison. For full details please see www.hayfestival.com.

Hay Player

John Leguízamo with Roberto Pombo

Hollywood: art or frivolity

Cartagena 2012, 
The Colombian actor John Leguízamo will talk to Roberto Pombo, director of El Tiempo, about his life as an immigrant in the USA and his experiences in Hollywood. Actor, comedian and producer, John Leguízamo has received an Emmy Award, which he won in 1999 for the television programme Freak. He has worked in a number of films, such as Carlito’s Way by Brian de Palma, playing the nemesis of Carlito Brigante (Al Pacino), and he dramatised Toulouse Lautrec in the musical film Moulin Rouge, starring Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. In 2010 he began an international tour with his play Ghetto Klown.

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English available

Hay Player

David Gilman

The Ultimate Survival Quiz

Hay Festival 2009, 
Fancy yourself as the next ultimate survival daredevil? Then this is the place for you.  Come and test your knowledge in this super buzzer quiz and pick up a few tips for those tricky situations from the author of the adrenalin-fuelled Danger Zone series. Look out Bear & Ray!

9–14 years

Hay Player

Tracy Borman

The Private Lives of the Tudors: Uncovering the Secrets of Britain’s Greatest Dynasty

Hay Festival 2016, 

Even in their most private moments, the Tudor monarchs were accompanied by a servant specifically appointed for the task. A groom of the stool would stand patiently by as Henry VIII performed his daily purges, and when Elizabeth I retired for the evening, one of her female servants would sleep at the end of her bed. The Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces uses the personal notes from these courtier intimates to give a revelatory picture of the Tudors’ private lives.

Tracy Borman

Hay Player

Andrew Cope and Lara the Dog

Hay Festival 2008, 
Andrew introduces the inspiration for his Spy Dog books and tells you more about the thrilling adventures of her namesake, or as the highly-trained special agent is known  by the government, GM451.

Hay Fever 7 yrs +

Hay Player

David Crystal

The Perils of Being a Linguist

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Word Prof casts a humorous eye over a career of dangerous encounters – kidnapping and assassination, assault and murder, bribery and corruption, belly-dancers and red-light districts, revolutions and spies.

Hay Player

Menena Cottin y Laura Lucero Márquez en conversación con Sergio Dahbar

Cierra los ojos que vamos a ver. Una historia de motivación y amor por los libros.

Cartagena 2013, 
La escritora venezolana Menena Cottin, junto con la ilustradora Rosana Faría, ganó el Premio Nuevos Horizontes 2007 en la Feria del Libro de Bolonia con El libro negro de los colores, la historia de un niño que le explica a otro niño, invidente, cómo son los colores. La obra también fue seleccionada como uno de los diez mejores libros ilustrados del año por The New York Times. Durante la presentación del libro en México, Menena conversa con una chica invidente, Laura Lucero Márquez, presente en la audiencia. Ambas entablan amistad e intercambian cartas en lo que se convierte en una historia de superación, amistad y motivación. Ahora un libro recoge las cartas de ambas y habla de las singulares relaciones entre la escritura, la lectura, la ceguera y la capacidad de avanzar en la vida a pesar de los obstáculos. Con Menena Cottin y Laura Lucero Márquez, en conversación con Sergio Dahbar.

Hay Player

Alanna Mitchell

Seasick: The Hidden Ecological Crisis of the Global Ocean

Hay Festival 2009, 
99% of the planet’s living space is undergoing vast chemical changes at the hand of man.

Hay Player

MJ Hyland, DBC Pierre and Paolo Giordano

Story: Like Life

Hay Festival 2009, 
An exclusive preview of this summer’s most brilliant novel, Hyland’s humane and riveting masterpiece This is How. DBC Pierre reads from his Hay Festival Press story Suddenly Doctor Cox. And introducing the European no.1 bestseller, Giordano’s astounding The Solitude of Prime Numbers. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Hay Player

Simon Sebag Montefiore

Titans

Hay Festival 2013, 

The historian traces his adventures in history from Stalin and the Borgias to Catherine The Great and Mrs Thatcher.

Hay Player

David Mitchell talks to Rosie Goldsmith

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet

Hay Festival 2010, 
The astounding new novel by the author of Cloud Atlas is set in Japan in 1799.
David Mitchell talks to Rosie Goldsmith

Hay Player

Horatio Clare

Myths & Legends of the Brecon Beacons

Hay Festival 2017, 

Discover the magic and myths hidden in the rolling hills of the Brecon Beacons. Find Arthur and his knights sleeping away the decades in a cave, and go on the search for the White Lady of Tretower Court with the award-winning author of Down To The Sea In Ships, The Prince’s Pen and Orison for a Curlew. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Horatio Clare

Hay Player

Caroline Bird and Imtiaz Dharker

Hay Festival 2009, 
A reading by the poets whose most recent collections are Trouble Came to the Turnip and The Terrorist at my Table.

Hay Player

Bruce Robinson talks to Dylan Jones

Hay Festival 2012, 
The screenwriter and director discusses his work, from the Oscar-winning Killing Fields to his 2011 collaboration with Johnny Depp on The Rum Diary See also events 459 and 493.