Hay Player

Francesca Scotti, Andrea Lundgren, Eurig Salisbury

Scritture Giovani 2012

Hay Festival 2012, 
Young writers from Italy, Sweden, Wales and Germany read and discuss their short stories commissioned on the theme of ‘Why?’ Chaired by Daniel Hahn of the British Centre for Literary Translation.
 
In partnership with Festivaletteratura Mantova and Literaturfestival Berlin, and sponsored by Fondazione Cariplo and Illy Coffee
 
FREE BUT TICKETED

Hay Player

Robert Muchamore and Sophie McKenzie

Hay Festival 2014, 

Two of our bestselling writers of adventure novels for young adults talk about their writing. Muchamore introduces his new novel Rock War, and looks back on ten years of his bestselling CHERUB series; and McKenzie discusses Split Second, her action-packed new thriller. Both authors create plots full of excitement, intrigue and adventure, and here is your chance to find out how it’s done.
Duration 45 minutes
11+ years

Robert Muchamore and Sophie McKenzie

Hay Player

Simon Mitton

Heart Of Darkness

Hay Festival 2013, 

Why is there something rather than nothing? Over the past thirty years, scientists have learned that two little-understood components – dark matter and dark energy – comprise most of the known cosmos, explain the growth of all cosmic structure, and hold the key to the universe’s fate. (This is way beyond rocket science – but riveting and really entertaining.)

Hay Player

Frank Close

Anti Matter

Hay Festival 2009, 
The eminent particle physicist examines the reality of the great sci-fi staple catastrophe, and how it grew from the meeting point of relativity and quantum theory in the early C20th, to the discovery of the first antiparticles, cosmic rays, annihilation, antimatter bombs and antiworlds, all the way to CERN in Geneva.

Hay Player

Joseph Stiglitz & Linda Bilmes

The $3 Trillion War

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Nobel Economist and his co-author audit The True Cost of the War in Iraq. Chaired by Nik Gowing.

Hay Player

Jonathon Harrington, Rosie Boycott, Colin Spedding, Christie Peacock, Denis Murphy

Food Security

Hay Festival 2011, 
What can we do? Encourage organic farming? Eat less meat? Reduce food waste? Support GM plant breeding? Grow our own?
 
A little further reading... articles by Jonathon Harrington and Christie Peacock:
 

Hay Player

Liz Kessler

Enchanting Tails

Hay Festival 2010, 
The creator of Emily Windsnap and Phillipa Fisher weaves her charm, as she reveals the secrets, dreams and mysteries that go into her writing. Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy with insatiable curiosity and a love of adventure.
 
8–12 years

Hay Player

Nick Kent talks to Dylan Jones

Apathy for the Devil: A 1970s memoir

Hay Festival 2010, 
The NME legend talks to the GQ editor. As apprentice to Lester Bangs, boyfriend of Chrissie Hynde, confidant of Iggy Pop, trusted scribe for Led Zeppelin and the Rolling Stones, and early member of the Sex Pistols, he was witness to both the beautiful and the damned of this turbulent decade.
Nick Kent talks to Dylan Jones

Hay Player

David Crystal

Think on my Words: Exploring Shakespeare's Language

Hay Festival 2008, 
The vaudevillian linguistics professor celebrates the most inventive and gifted wordsmith of all time.

Hay Player

Tim Jackson

Prosperity Without Growth

Hay Festival 2010, 
In the advanced economies ever-increasing consumption adds little to human happiness and may even impede it. The sustainability adviser provides a credible vision of how human society can flourish – within the ecological limits of a finite planet.
Tim Jackson

Hay Player

Ian Mortimer

Rewriting History

Hay Festival 2010, 
Since his first book was published seven years ago, Ian Mortimer has challenged conventional understandings of the past. This includes correcting dubious facts as well as reconsidering the ways we 'do' history – from studying a man over the course of a single year to writing history as a guidebook, in the present tense. Here he explains the various approaches that have earned him scholarly respect as well as a place on the bestseller lists.

Hay Player

David Moore and Peter Wakelin

A Taste Of The Avant-Garde: 56 Group Wales, 56 years

Hay Festival 2013, 

The creation, growth and influence of this still-thriving major grouping of Welsh artists, founded in 1956. Illustrated with images by the artists.

Hay Player

Germaine Greer, Philippe Sands, John Mitchinson

Going, Going – Best of British

Hay Festival 2011, 
In three short counterblasts, festival guests champion three national treasures that are endangered by our lack of care. Greer talks about English bluebells; Sands talks about the sheikh up of football club ownership; Mitchinson mourns the quite interesting loss of lunch – a potential disaster for work and play.

All proceeds support free tickets for schools.

Hay Player

Mansur Rajih, Pegah Ahmadi and Basim Mardan talk to Shenaz Kedar

People Power in the Middle East

Hay Festival 2011, 
Exiled writers from Yemen, Iran and Iraq discuss their work and the upheavals in the Middle East with the director of the Writers' Centre Norwich Shahrazad project.

Decades of silence, self-censorship and repression have been confronted by an explosion of social demands and movements for change by the people for the people stretching from Tunisia across the Middle East. What kind of reforms are needed to satisfy the dreams and demands of the people? Join Shenaz Kedar in a panel discussion with exiled International Cities of Refuge writers Mansur Rajih (Yemen), Pegah Ahmadi (Iran) and Basim Mardan (Iraq) for a discussion on these issues and their hopes for the future. 

This is a Writers’ Centre Norwich Shahrazad event organised as part of our Norwich City of Refuge scheme and supported by the EU Culture programme.

Writers’ Centre Norwich is a literature development organisation focused on the artistic and social power of creative writing. www.writerscentrenorwich.org.uk

Norwich City of Refuge
Under the auspices of WCN, Norwich joined the International Cities of Refuge Network (ICORN) In July 2006 and remains the only UK City of Refuge. We use literature to raise awareness of issues faced by asylum seekers and refugees in imaginative and engaging ways through a varied arts education programme.

Shahrazad is a Europe-wide collaboration between five International Cities of Refuge that spreads the stories of refugee and exiled writers who have found sanctuary in Europe through the Cities of Refuge Network (www.icorn.org). It is run by literary organizations in Barcelona, Brussels, Frankfurt, Stavanger, Stockholm and Norwich. www.shahrazadeu.org

Entry to this event is free but you must obtain a ticket

Hay Player

John Barrow

Cambridge Series 2: The Book of Universes

Hay Festival 2011, 
The mathematician encounters universes where the laws of physics can change from time to time and from one region to another, universes that have extra hidden dimensions of space and time, universes that live inside black holes, colliding universes, inflationary universes, and universes that come into being from something else – or from nothing at all.

Profile of John Barrow here 

Hay Player

Simon Velez

The Bamboo Architect

Hay Festival 2013, 

The visionary Colombian architect is the most eminent proponent of bamboo as an essential building component. He talks about his work and commitment to convert bamboo from a symbol of poverty into a symbol of sustainability. Introduced by Marianne Ponsford.

Hay Player

Oliver James, Cassandra Jardine, Judith Woods and Victoria Woodhall

How to Manage Big Family Issues of the 21st Century

Hay Festival 2011, 
Influential family journalists and authors address some of the most pressing issues facing parents today. Chaired by Susanna Reid.
 
Speaker: Oliver James – Columnist, Guardian Family and author of They F*** You Up
Focus: First in School, Last in Life? – Good and bad tactics for getting your children to work
 
Speaker: Cassandra Jardine – Features Writer, The Telegraph and author of How to Be a Better Parent
Focus: Protecting children from the evils of today
 
Speaker: Judith Woods – Parenting and Family Journalist, The Telegraph
Focus: The cost of raising a family today
 
Speaker: Victoria Woodhall – Deputy Features Editor, YOU Magazine, Mail on Sunday
Focus: Issues facing families with women's roles in the workplace increasing
 
Chair: Susanna Reid – Presenter, BBC Breakfast and UK Youth Ambassador

Hay Player

Barbara Kingsolver

Flight Behaviour

Hay Festival 2013, 

The Orange Prize-winning author of The Lacuna discusses her suspenseful and brilliant new novel about catastrophe and denial set in the Appalachian Mountains. Chaired by Ted Hodgkinson.

Hay Player

Growing up different: Precious Williams, Lemn Sissay and Ross Van Horn

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
What’s your idea of a normal childhood? What kind of childhood makes a writer? These festival authors who grew up in mulit-racial backgrounds, juggle notions of adversity and security, loneliness and independence, fantasy and reality.

Hay Player

Anne Applebaum

Iron Curtain: The Crushing Of Eastern Europe 1944–56

Hay Festival 2013, 

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gulag mines new archive material to chronicle Stalin’s brutal evisceration of the civil societies newly liberated from Nazi occupation as his secret police set out to convert a dozen radically different countries to a completely new political and moral system: communism. Chaired by Oliver Bullough.

Hay Player

John Bird in conversation with Marcel Berlins

The Necessity Of Poverty

Hay Festival 2013, 

The founder of The Big Issue mounts a blistering attack on orthodox thinking around the gap between rich and poor, sparing neither himself nor others in identifying what needs to be done to end poverty.

Hay Player

Nigel Mansell in conversation

Hay Festival 2010, 
The Formula 1 legend uniquely also won the CART World Series.

Hay Player

Rocío de Isasa, Carmen Navarro, Xavi Ayen, Violeta Monreal and Pedro de Andrés

What can we do to get more readers?

Segovia 2014, 

What resources are required to encourage people to read in Spain? How can we promote and encourage reading, and thereby ensure Spain is regarded as one of the more developed countries? Rocío de Isasa of Maeva Publishing, Carmen Navarro, Director of Escuela newspaper, author and illustratorVioleta Monreal andXavi Ayen, journalist for La Vanguardia newspaper, discuss these issues and other topics in an event chaired by the President of CEDRO, Pedro de Andrés.

Hay Player

Simon Bartram

Bob, the Man on the Moon

Hay Festival 2010, 
Come and laugh along as Bob and his special dog Barry take on a new cosmic adventure. Don’t forget to bring a plentiful supply of funny faces!
 
5–8 years

Hay Player

Peter Godwin talks to Richard E Grant

The Fear: The Last Days of Robert Mugabe

Hay Festival 2011, 
In 2008 after the election Mugabe lost, the journalist travelled widely through his home country to see the torture bases, the burned villages, the death squads, the opposition leaders in hiding, the last white farmers, the churchmen and the diplomats putting their own lives on the line to stop the carnage.
 
More about Peter Godwin