Hay Player

Jacqueline Wilson Introduces Hetty Feather

A CBBC Screening at Hay

Hay Festival 2015, 

Jacqueline Wilson introduces an exclusive screening of CBBC’s new adaptation of her popular children’s novel Hetty Feather. A fast-paced and thrilling story, featuring a feisty new heroine, Hetty Feather brings the realities of the Victorian age to life through the eyes and adventures of the children who inhabit the Foundling Hospital. The screening will be followed by a Q&A with cast and crew.

Not for broadcast.

CBBC
Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult over 18 years
Duration: 55 mins
Jacqueline Wilson Introduces Hetty Feather

Hay Player

Simon Velez

The Bamboo Architect

Hay Festival 2013, 

The visionary Colombian architect is the most eminent proponent of bamboo as an essential building component. He talks about his work and commitment to convert bamboo from a symbol of poverty into a symbol of sustainability. Introduced by Marianne Ponsford.

Hay Player

Christoph Peters and Mohammed Hanif in conversation with Jonathan Levi

Beirut 2013, 

Christoph Peters is a German author of novels and short stories. His novel Stadt Land Fluss was published in 1999, and won the ‘aspekte’ prize for the best German literary debut; it was followed by a collection of short stories in 2001, and in 2007 his first novel to be published in English, The Fabric Of Night. Mohammed Hanif (Pakistan) is a writer and journalist, author of the award-winning A Case Of Exploding Mangoes, which was shortlisted for the 2008 Guardian First Book Award and longlisted for the 2008 Man Booker Prize, and subsequently won the 2009 Commonwealth Book Prize and the 2008 Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize. Hanif has also written for the stage and screen, including a feature film, The Long Night (2002). They talk to writer and journalist Jonathan Levi.

Event in English

Hay Player

Germaine Greer, Philippe Sands, John Mitchinson

Going, Going – Best of British

Hay Festival 2011, 
In three short counterblasts, festival guests champion three national treasures that are endangered by our lack of care. Greer talks about English bluebells; Sands talks about the sheikh up of football club ownership; Mitchinson mourns the quite interesting loss of lunch – a potential disaster for work and play.

All proceeds support free tickets for schools.

Hay Player

Paul Preston talks to Elena Moya

Segovia 2011, 
Paul Preston, one of the most important British Hispanists and a specialist in contemporary Spanish history, will talk about his new book The Spanish Holocaust, Inquisition and Extermination in 20th Century Spain with Spanish author and journalist Elena Moya, writer of Los olivos de Belchite. In his new work, Preston travels to the turmoil of the 1930’s and scrupulously details the darkest chapters of the Spanish civil war and Franco’s repression thereafter with great command of the sources used.

Hay Player

Javier Moreno with Juan Carlos Iragorri

Cartagena 2012, 
As the Director of El País since 2006, Javier Moreno has overseen the greatest transformation in the newspaper’s 35 years of existence. He has changed the design, improved the website, increased coverage of Latin America and made a commitment to greater diversity in terms of images; all this is to meet the new motto for El País: “The global newspaper in Spanish.” Regarding these recent changes and the present-day challenges of the exciting activities involved in journalism, Moreno will talk to Juan Carlos Iragorri, Washington correspondent of Semana and NTN24, and director of the Journalism Master’s created jointly by Publicaciones Semana and the University of Rosario. 

With the support of LSE (London School of Economics Enterprise)

Hay Player

Growing up different: Precious Williams, Lemn Sissay and Ross Van Horn

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
What’s your idea of a normal childhood? What kind of childhood makes a writer? These festival authors who grew up in mulit-racial backgrounds, juggle notions of adversity and security, loneliness and independence, fantasy and reality.

Hay Player

Liz Kessler

Enchanting Tails

Hay Festival 2010, 
The creator of Emily Windsnap and Phillipa Fisher weaves her charm, as she reveals the secrets, dreams and mysteries that go into her writing. Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy with insatiable curiosity and a love of adventure.
 
8–12 years

Hay Player

Ian Mortimer

Rewriting History

Hay Festival 2010, 
Since his first book was published seven years ago, Ian Mortimer has challenged conventional understandings of the past. This includes correcting dubious facts as well as reconsidering the ways we 'do' history – from studying a man over the course of a single year to writing history as a guidebook, in the present tense. Here he explains the various approaches that have earned him scholarly respect as well as a place on the bestseller lists.

Hay Player

Graham Rankin

The Flowering of Aberglasney

Hay Festival 2010, 
The award-winning story of the restoration of the Welsh gardens, now celebrating their tenth year after reopening.
Graham Rankin

Hay Player

David Stafford

Endgame 1945: Victory, Retribution, Liberation

Hay Festival 2008, 
Using letters and interviews David Stafford creates an unforgettable panorama of the defeat of Fascism, of ordinary people and extraordinary valour, and of a Europe in every way tested to its limits.

Hay Player

John Bird in conversation with Marcel Berlins

The Necessity Of Poverty

Hay Festival 2013, 

The founder of The Big Issue mounts a blistering attack on orthodox thinking around the gap between rich and poor, sparing neither himself nor others in identifying what needs to be done to end poverty.

Hay Player

Peter Godwin talks to Richard E Grant

The Fear: The Last Days of Robert Mugabe

Hay Festival 2011, 
In 2008 after the election Mugabe lost, the journalist travelled widely through his home country to see the torture bases, the burned villages, the death squads, the opposition leaders in hiding, the last white farmers, the churchmen and the diplomats putting their own lives on the line to stop the carnage.
 
More about Peter Godwin

Hay Player

Barbara Kingsolver

Flight Behaviour

Hay Festival 2013, 

The Orange Prize-winning author of The Lacuna discusses her suspenseful and brilliant new novel about catastrophe and denial set in the Appalachian Mountains. Chaired by Ted Hodgkinson.

Hay Player

Maggie Ross talks to Rachael Kerr

Silence

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Anglican solitary and theologian, whose Writing the Icon of the Heart has been described by Rowan Williams as ‘a really transformative book’, explains how ‘the work of silence’ can help us toward a deeper understanding of God. Duration 45 minutes.

Hay Player

Shami Chakrabarti

On Liberty

Hay Festival 2015, 

On 11 September 2001 our world changed. The West’s response to 9/11 has morphed into a period of ‘exception’. Governments have decided that the rule of law and human rights are often too costly. The Director of Liberty explores why our fundamental rights and freedoms are indispensable and examines the unprecedented pressures those rights are under today. She talks to Susie Symes, economist and chair of 19 Princelet Street.

Shami Chakrabarti

Hay Player

David Crystal

Think on my Words: Exploring Shakespeare's Language

Hay Festival 2008, 
The vaudevillian linguistics professor celebrates the most inventive and gifted wordsmith of all time.

Hay Player

Peeling back the Mask - The Man who became Miguna Miguna

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
The book that took Kenya by storm; Miguna Miguna himself addresses the controversy behind his book.

Hay Player

Anne Applebaum

Iron Curtain: The Crushing Of Eastern Europe 1944–56

Hay Festival 2013, 

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gulag mines new archive material to chronicle Stalin’s brutal evisceration of the civil societies newly liberated from Nazi occupation as his secret police set out to convert a dozen radically different countries to a completely new political and moral system: communism. Chaired by Oliver Bullough.

Hay Player

Rita Carter

Multiplicity: The New Science of Personality

Hay Festival 2008, 
Multiple personalities are traditionally the stuff of horror movies, thrillers and bizarre mental disorders. Rita Carter argues that every one of us consists of different and often competing selves.

Hay Player

Nigel Mansell in conversation

Hay Festival 2010, 
The Formula 1 legend uniquely also won the CART World Series.

Hay Player

Simon Bartram

Bob, the Man on the Moon

Hay Festival 2010, 
Come and laugh along as Bob and his special dog Barry take on a new cosmic adventure. Don’t forget to bring a plentiful supply of funny faces!
 
5–8 years

Hay Player

Jimmy Carter

The Guardian Lecture

Hay Festival 2008, 
The Nobel Laureate and former US Presidenton conflict resolution and human rights, and the work of the carter foundation. Introduced by Alan Rusbridger, editor of The Guardian. Chaired by Philippe Sands

THIS EVENT WILL BE RELAYED TO SCREENS IN THE FRIENDS CAFÉ AND ASCARIS CAFÉ

Hay Player

John Sweeney talks to Guto Harri

The Church Of Fear

Hay Festival 2013, 

The investigative journalist looks Inside The Weird World Of Scientology and paints a devastating picture of this strange organisation – from former Scientologists who tell heartbreaking stories of families torn apart and lives ruined to its current followers who say it is the solution to many of mankind’s problems.

Hay Player

AC Grayling

War: An Enquiry

Hay Festival 2017, 

The philosopher challenges long-held views on just wars, ethical conduct during war, why wars occur, how they alter people and societies; and how we might reduce their frequency, mitigate their horrors and lessen the burden of their consequences.

AC Grayling