Hay Player

Srđa Popović

Blueprint for Revolution: How To Use Rice Pudding, Lego Men, and Other Non-violent Techniques to Galvanise Communities, Overthrow Dictators, or Simply Change the World

Hay Festival 2015, 

How do ordinary people become revolutionaries? In 2000, too-cool-to-care Belgrade rock kid Srđa Popović found himself at the centre of a movement which was about to change the world. Popović was one of the unexpected leaders of the student movement Otpor! that overthrew dictator Slobodan Milošević and established democracy in Serbia all by avoiding violence and opting for something far more powerful: a sense of humour.

Srđa Popović

Hay Player

Abbie Ross, Julia Forster and Crystal Jeans talk to Gwen Davies

Debuts

Hay Festival 2016, 

Three debut authors talk to New Welsh Review editor Gwen Davies about childhood and the nostalgia of popular culture in memoir and fiction, and about getting that first book written and published. Abbie Ross’ memoir Hippy Dinners is set in north Wales; Julia Forster’s debut novel What a Way to Go is set in the Midlands; and Crystal Jeans’ novel Vegetarian Tigers of Paradise is set in Cardiff.

Hay Player

María Dueñas and Javier Moro

Segovia 2012, 
María Dueñas and Javier Moro discuss their latest novels Misión Olvido and El Imperio Eres Tu, Premio Planeta 2011, respectively. They are this year’s best-selling authors in Spain. Chaired by Ana Gavin.
 
Co-organized with the Fundación Lara.

Hay Player

Philip Ball

Nature’s Patterns

Hay Festival 2011, 
Scientists have found that there is a pattern-forming tendency inherent in the basic structure and processes of nature, so that from a few simple themes, and the repetition of simple rules, endless beautiful variations can arise.

Hay Player

Colin Tudge

Consider the Birds

Hay Festival 2009, 
Some birds have fabulous memories, some make tools, and some are serious aesthetes. Yet birds, basically, are dinosaurs. We don’t need Star Trek to find alien intelligence. Just consider the birds!

Hay Player

Keith Barnham

The Burning Answer

Hay Festival 2014, 

In just over three generations, we have consumed approximately half the useful oil that it took photosynthesis around two million years to produce. In two generations we have used around half our useful uranium resources. We are faced with an urgent choice, the roots of which lie in 1905 with the discovery of Einstein’s ‘other’ equation, E = hf. This little-known equation, which began the quantum revolution, could hold the key to our future survival through the generation of electricity from sunlight.

Hay Player

Craig Calhoun

The LSE Lecture: What Threatens Capitalism Now?

Hay Festival 2014, 

What are the key factors for sustainability and change, for disruption and catastrophe? The Director of the London School of Economics considers the threats, internal and external, to global capitalism.

Craig Calhoun

Hay Player

Tim Dee

The Running Sky

Hay Festival 2010, 
‘A million starlings gather to roost from all points across a freezing winter sky; migrant redstarts, only weeks out of their nest, set off over alien seas on their way to Africa; a pair of airborne swifts lie together for an instant as they mate hundreds of feet up in the sky…’
Tim Dee

Hay Player

Roy Foster

Words Alone

Hay Festival 2011, 
A wonderful understanding of WB Yeats and Irish literary traditions in the C19th.

Hay Player

Thomas Heatherwick talks to Mariella Frostrup

Making

Hay Festival 2012, 
A conversation with the legendary British designer, heralded by Terence Conran as the ‘Leonardo da Vinci of our times’.

Hay Player

Tim Marshall

Is The Phrase ‘Arab Spring’ Harmful?

Hay Festival 2013, 

The Sky News Foreign Affairs Editor discusses whether the phrase ‘Arab Spring’ is harmful to our understanding of what has been happening in the Middle East. Chaired by Oliver Balch.

Hay Player

Julia Neuberger

Not Dead Yet

Hay Festival 2008, 
Julia Neuberger lays out her thinking for our changing demography with A Manifesto for Old Age. Chaired by Revel Guest.

Hay Player

Ben Macintyre

A Spy Among Friends

Hay Festival 2014, 

Kim Philby was the most notorious British defector and Soviet mole in history. Agent, double agent, traitor and enigma, he betrayed every secret of Allied operations to the Russians in the early years of the Cold War. Philby’s two closest friends in the intelligence world, Nicholas Elliott of MI6 and James Jesus Angleton, the CIA intelligence chief, thought they knew Philby better than anyone, and then discovered they had not known him at all.

Hay Player

Antonia Fraser talks to Simon Jenkins

My History: A Memoir of Growing Up

Hay Festival 2015, 

Antonia Fraser’s memoir describes growing up in the 1930s and 1940s but its real concern is with her growing love of history. The fascination began as a child, and developed into an enduring passion and a globally successful career from her first biography Mary Queen of Scots to her intensely personal and riveting portrait of her second marriage Must You Go? My Life With Harold Pinter.

Antonia Fraser talks to Simon Jenkins

Hay Player

Stephanie Dalley

The Mystery Of The Hanging Garden Of Babylon

Hay Festival 2013, 

An exciting story of detection, involving legends, expert decipherment of ancient texts, and a vivid description of a little-known civilization. Recognised in ancient times as one of the Seven Wonders of the World, the legendary Hanging Garden of Babylon and its location still remains a mystery steeped in shadow and puzzling myths.

Hay Player

Lyn Gardner

Friends and Footlights

Hay Festival 2012, 
Join the theatre critic and storyteller as she launches Olivia’s Enchanted Summer, the latest in her much-loved series. Fans of Malory Towers and Ballet Shoes will adore this.
 
9+ years

Hay Player

Sam Taylor-Wood and Patrick Marber

Love You More

Hay Festival 2008, 
The YBA photographer and video artist Sam Taylor-Wood discusses and introduces her collaboration with screenwriter Patrick Marber (Closer, Asylum, Notes on a Scandal, Saturday) on a short film inspired by the Buzzcocks single of the same name. The film is a tender love-story set in the heady punk days of 1978.

Hay Player

Martin Rowson and Jean-Pierre Filiu

After Charlie Hebdo

Hay Festival 2015, 

How do we understand and respond to what happened in Paris on 7 January? What is the nature of ‘respect’ and ‘offence’ for a satirist? The cartoonist and ‘visual journalist’ Martin Rowson discusses with the writer and Professor of Political Science, Jean-Pierre Filiu. Filiu has collaborated with the French graphic artist David B. on two volumes of Best of Enemies – a graphic history of US–Middle East relations. Chaired by Daniel Hahn, chair of the Society of Authors.

Martin Rowson and Jean-Pierre Filiu

Hay Player

John Sergeant

Barging Round Britain

Hay Festival 2015, 

The political commentator and sometime dancer explores the people and places that have forged this national treasure, from the birth of the Industrial Revolution to the leisure explosion on our waterways today. He talks to Mark Skipworth.


Please click here to prebook lunch at Relish Restaurant on site

John Sergeant

Hay Player

Tom Holland, Bettany Hughes, Peter Stothard

Fictions – Mary Renault

Hay Festival 2015, 

We celebrate the republication of Renault’s fabulous Greek historical novels – The Bull from the Sea, The King Must Die, Fire From Heaven, Funeral Games, Lion in the Gateway and The Persian Boy. Chaired by Stephanie Merritt.

Tom Holland, Bettany Hughes, Peter Stothard

Hay Player

Barbara Erskine and Phil Rickman

And did those feet?

Hay Festival 2010, 
Time’s Legacy explores the legend that the young Jesus Christ came to Glastonbury to study with the Druids. The Bones of Avalon has Elizabethan astrologer John Dee dispatched to the mystical West Country town to find the alleged bones of King Arthur, missing since the Reformation.

Hay Player

Fflur Dafydd talks to Corisande Albert

The White Trail

Winter Weekend 2013, 

The award-winning novelist discusses her reworking of the Mabinogion story ‘How Culhwch Won Olwen’ with Corisande Albert, great-great-grand-daughter of Lady Charlotte Guest, the first English translator of the ancient tales of the Mabinogion.

Fflur Dafydd talks to Corisande Albert

Hay Player

Anthony Browne

Hay Festival 2010, 
Find out what the Children’s Laureate has been up to and hear why picture books are for everybody, as he speaks to Julia Eccleshare.
 
Family event

Hay Player

Montagu Don talks to Peter Florence

Diaries, Gardens and Mastercrafts

Hay Festival 2010, 
Alongside the huge success of his recent Mastercrafts television series and the spectacular media project of Around the World in Eighty Gardens, the publication of his Ivington Diaries confirms the gardener as one of the most attuned and passionate men of the soil and land and as a writer of consummate skill and beauty.
Montagu Don talks to Peter Florence

Hay Player

Rachel Holmes and Erica Wagner

Start the Day 2

Hay Festival 2007, 
Holmes introduces The Hottentot Venus: The Life and Death of Saartjie Baartman (Born 1789 – Buried 2002). Wagner’s debut novel Seizure is a compelling exploration of identity and adulthood. Chaired by Claire Armitstead.