Hay Player

Mark Kermode

It’s Only A Movie

Hay Festival 2010, 
Cinema’s quiffed crusader takes us into the weird world of a life lived in widescreen and yarns his Reel Life Adventures of a Film Obsessive.

Hay Player

Sue Townsend talks to Anne Robinson

Adrian Mole – The Prostate Years

Hay Festival 2010, 
The great comic creation is now 39 [and a quarter], in debt and in trouble, and wondering whether the only one who can save him now is Dr Pandora Braithwaite, BA, MA, PhD, MP and Junior Minister in the Foreign Office…

Hay Player

Steve Cole & Chris Hunter

Tripwire

Hay Festival 2010, 
3 seconds. 2 wires. 1 decision. Meet the expert writing team behind this nail-biting new thriller.
Perfect for fans of Charlie Higson and Robert Muchamore.
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Antonia Fraser talks to Melvyn Bragg

Must You Go? My Life With Harold Pinter

Hay Festival 2010, 
An account of a super A-list literary marriage, but intriguingly also a meticulous and subtle biographer’s account of the life and work of a great playwright.

Hay Player

Yann Martel talks to Jonathan Heawood

Beatrice and Virgil

Hay Festival 2010, 
The spirit of his Booker-winning Life of Pi resonates in this new novel, launched at Hay, which takes us on an imaginative odyssey in the company of a donkey and a howler monkey. Martel asks profound questions about the nature of human cruelty, kindness and the liberating power of stories.

Hay Player

Gerald Scarfe, Brian Griffiths and Paul Gravett talk to Simon Grant

Tate @ Hay 2: Rude Britannia – Comic Art

Hay Festival 2010, 
To coincide with Tate Britain’s historic survey of satire, from Gillray to Viz, we bring together a great cartoonist, a comic historian and an artist to discuss the form.

Hay Player

John Browne talks to Nik Gowing

Beyond Business

Hay Festival 2010, 
The former CEO of BP presided over phenomenal and sustained global growth and was hailed as one of the world’s great business leaders until his private life crashed into the public sphere and prompted his resignation.

Hay Player

Anthony Sattin

Florence & Flaubert

Hay Festival 2010, 
The wonderful story of two young people on the same Nile cruise in 1849, both liberated by exposure to Egypt. She, Florence Nightingale, visited the temples and monuments; he, Gustave Flaubert, visited the brothels and harems. Chaired by Sarah Miller.

Hay Player

David Remnick

The Bridge: The Life and Rise of Barack Obama

Hay Festival 2010, 
The New Yorker editor narrates and analyses this defining story of American history.

Hay Player

Val McDermid, Jasper Fforde, Mathew Prichard

Agatha Christie 120

Hay Festival 2010, 
We celebrate the queen of detective fiction’s jubilee with two fans and her grandson, who still manages her estate. Chaired by Peter Guttridge.

Hay Player

Robert McCrum

Globish

Hay Festival 2010, 
The editor and writer re-examines the linguistic power of the Anglo-American imperium, and stacks up his C21st equation: English + Microsoft = Globish.

Hay Player

Iestyn Edwards

Madame Galina, Forces Sweetheart

Hay Festival 2010, 
An hilarious account of entertaining troops on base in Iraq and Afghanistan, from comic, singer and appallingly plausible 16-stone balletomane, Iestyn Edwards, aka Madame Galina Prima Ballerina. There may be hoofing…

Hay Player

Hugh Ambrose talks to Francine Stock

The Pacific

Hay Festival 2010, 
The writer discusses and shows clips from his gripping story following the intertwined odysseys of four US Marines and a US Navy carrier pilot within the Pacific theatre during World War II. Certificate 15.

Hay Player

The Intelligence Squared Debate

This House would rescind the UK invitation to the Pope

Hay Festival 2010, 
David Aaronovitch & Johann Hari vs. Helena Kennedy & Phillippe Sands

'This house would rescind the Pope's invitation to the UK'

Hay Player

Open Mic 2

Unpublished Writers

Hay Festival 2010, 
Come and join in a brand new venture to share your work with an audience. All readings are (rigorously) 5 minutes long. If you have a ticket and you'd like to read, please email boxoffice@hayfestival.com with 'Open Mic' in the subject line to book a slot. Readings can be prose or poetry. This event will be repeated (with different participants) on 5 June. Paul Blezard MCs.

Hay Player

Ian Mortimer

Rewriting History

Hay Festival 2010, 
Since his first book was published seven years ago, Ian Mortimer has challenged conventional understandings of the past. This includes correcting dubious facts as well as reconsidering the ways we 'do' history – from studying a man over the course of a single year to writing history as a guidebook, in the present tense. Here he explains the various approaches that have earned him scholarly respect as well as a place on the bestseller lists.

Hay Player

Paul Collier

The Plundered Planet

Hay Festival 2010, 
The visionary economist proposes How to Reconcile Prosperity with Nature. Chaired by Andrew Kelly.

Hay Player

Nick Clegg talks to Philippe Sands

Hay Festival 2010, 
The Deputy Prime Minister gives his first public interview, discussing The Rule of Law, Constitutional Reform and the Coalition government.

Hay Player

Dan Snow

Death or Victory

Hay Festival 2010, 
The maritime historian provides a riveting account of the death of General Wolfe and The Battle of Quebec and the Birth of Empire.

Hay Player

Max Hastings talks to Anne Robinson

Did You Really Shoot the Television?

Hay Festival 2010, 
The journalist discusses his new family memoir.

Hay Player

Jerry A Coyne talks to Rosie Boycott

Why Evolution is True

Hay Festival 2010, 
The evidence for natural selection is vast, varied and magnificent, and drawn from many disparate fields of science. Latest research is uncovering a stream of evidence revealing evolution in action – from the actual observation of a species splitting into two, to new fossil discoveries and the deciphering of the evidence stored in our genome.

Hay Player

Val McDermid talks to Marcel Berlins

Hay Festival 2010, 
Ratchet plotting of her gripping psychological thrillers has established McDermid and her Hill/Jordan detection team at the very top of crime fiction. She talks about writing, morality, crime and punishment.

Hay Player

Martin Amis talks to Peter Florence

The Pregnant Widow

Hay Festival 2010, 
The author revisits the sexual revolution, the 1970s and mortality with savage comedy in his new novel.

Hay Player

David Aaronovitch

Voodoo Histories

Hay Festival 2010, 
Why do people believe the conspiracy theories around Diana, 9/11, the moon landings and the pseudohistory of the Grail?

Hay Player

Laura Cumming

A Face To The World: On Self-Portraits

Hay Festival 2010, 
In this lavishly illustrated talk the Observer art critic investigates the drama of the self-portrait from Dürer, Rembrandt and Velázquez to the present day, considering what these images reveal about the artist’s innermost self and how they relate to us all in strange and intimate ways.

Explore All Genres