Hay Player

George Monbiot

Inundated

Hay Festival 2014, 

When the winter floods receded, they left behind a changed political landscape: one in which we began at last to discuss the treatment of the land and how that affects us. In Feral Monbiot explored the destruction of the uplands and the astonishing, restorative potential of rewilding. Now he extends that analysis, explaining how disastrous agricultural policies strip the soil and exacerbate flooding, and arguing that they can be reversed.

Hay Player

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Caroline Lucas

A People-Powered Economy

Hay Festival 2015, 

What is causing the logjam between central economic policy-makers and the energy of local economic activists? Stormy with a sunny local banking outlook – the economic forecast with the New Weather Institute. New Economic Foundation fellows and authors Andrew Simms and David Boyle discuss with Green MP Caroline Lucas.

Andrew Simms, David Boyle and Caroline Lucas

Hay Player

Jim Perrin and Mark Cocker talk to Rosie Boycott

Ty Newydd Nature Writing

Hay Festival 2011, 
The day tutors discuss their own recent works – Perrin’s West: A Journey Through the Landscapes of Loss and Cocker’s masterpiece Crow Country. Theatre practitioner Gerald Tyler, trumpeter Tomos Williams and writer Jon Gower team up to explore Perrin’s high art, with visuals by film director and choreographer Grant Gee.

Hay Player

Priyamvada Gopal

Cambridge Series: How (Not) To Write The History of Empire

Hay Festival 2010, 
From demanding reparations for slavery to denouncing immigration, from fostering multiculturalism to celebrating Britishness and from the partition of Palestine to women’s rights in Afghanistan, how does one engage with the controversial afterlife of the British empire?

Hay Player

The Federation Presents Darren Shan

Hay Festival 2008, 
The dark one takes us on a jolly trip through this fresh hell from the Demonata, Death's Shadow. Only the unshakebale should attend.

Hay Fever 10 yrs +

Hay Player

Nick Crane

Barefoot Books World Atlas

Hay Festival 2012, 
Join this cartographer, explorer, writer and television presenter as he introduces us to a whole new way of looking at the world.
 
Families.  9+ years

Hay Player

What is Contemporary Art? A Children’s Guide

Hay Festival 2013, 

Jacky and Suzy Klein invite children and adults alike to question, explore and understand some of the most dynamic and exciting art of our times.

8+ years

Hay Player

Tahmima Anam

Reformations 12: Borders

Hay Festival 2017, 

In a time of international turbulence and insecurity; a time when the world is seeing migrations of people escaping from the immediate terrors of war and the disruptions of climate change; at a time of multiple and fluid identities, the novelist from Bangladesh interrogates the notion of national borders. Where do you draw the line? She re-imagines the walls and checkpoints as places of welcome and refuge. Anam is the author of A Golden Age, The Good Muslim and The Bones of Grace. Chaired by Oliver Balch.

Tahmima Anam

Hay Player

Michael Morpurgo in conversation with Peter Florence

Hay Festival 2018, 

The Director of Hay Festival talks to the author of War Horse and Private Peaceful. They discuss in particular his latest book Flamingo Boy, set during the Second World War in the Camargue region of France. The book is inspired by his grandson.

Family

Hay Player

Michael Morpurgo

Listen to the Moon

Hay Festival 2015, 
Michael Morpurgo’s much praised novel Listen to the Moon was inspired by a gruesome medal commemorating the sinking of the Lusitania 100 years ago off the coast of Co. Cork, and a newspaper report he came across during his research about a small child being spotted on top of a piano floating among the wreckage. Michael shares this extraordinary story and answers questions from the audience. He also talks about Dreams of Freedom – In Words and Pictures, for which he wrote the introduction. The book combines the words of human rights heroes with illustrations by acclaimed artists. All royalties go to Amnesty International.
9+ years
Michael Morpurgo

Hay Player

Nell Leyshon and Fflur Dafydd in conversation with Ann Bateson

Segovia 2013, 

Nell Leyshon, British author of the latest published novel The Colour of Milk, set in 1830 rural England - “a disturbing display of the social restrictions to which 19th C. women had to confront”, according to The Financial Times -, and Fflur Dafydd, Welsh author winner of the Daniel Owen Memorial Prize for her novel Y Llyfrgell (‘The Library’), speak about their books with the journalist Ann Bateson.

Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish.

 

Co-organised with the Arts Council of Wales, the Welsh Government and the Wales Arts International.

Hay Player

Alex Crawford talks to Jim Naughtie

Colonel Gaddafi’s Hat

Hay Festival 2012, 
A gripping and deeply moving account of the Libyan uprising from the Sky News Special Correspondent - the lone journalist who was able to report from the rebel army convoy that captured Green Square in the heart of Tripoli.

Hay Player

Barbara Erskine and Phil Rickman

And did those feet?

Hay Festival 2010, 
Time’s Legacy explores the legend that the young Jesus Christ came to Glastonbury to study with the Druids. The Bones of Avalon has Elizabethan astrologer John Dee dispatched to the mystical West Country town to find the alleged bones of King Arthur, missing since the Reformation.

Hay Player

Judith Oakley

Seashore Safari

Hay Festival 2011, 
Starfish, crabs, jellyfish… Beaches are full of amazing wildlife, if only you know where to look. Join Judith, a passionate marine biologist, and discover the sandy secrets of British seasides.
 
8+ years & families Knapsacks & Ginger Beer

Hay Player

David Kynaston

Tales of a New Jerusalem

Hay Festival 2010, 
The brilliant social historian looks at Family Britain 1951–1957 with its Butlin’s holiday camps, Kenwood food mixers and Hancock’s Half-Hour. Chaired by Sarfraz Manzoor.
David Kynaston

Hay Player

Adam Workowski

John Paul II’s Philosophy of Love and Lust

Hay Festival 2009, 
The lecturer at the Pontifical Academy of Theology in Krakow examines Karol Wojtyla’s impact upon Catholicism and democracy in Eastern Europe. Strongly criticized for his anachronistic approach to sexuality, his vision of love and lust is, however, up-to-date and poses a powerful challenge to modern culture.

Hay Player

John Bradshaw

In Defence Of Dogs

Winter Weekend 2011, 
One of the world’s leading dog experts brings us a compelling insight into what dogs would ask us for, if only they knew how.

More about In Defence of Dogs
The dog has been mankind's faithful companion for tens of thousands of years, yet today finds itself in crisis throughout the western world. Until just over a hundred years ago, most dogs worked for their living, and each of the many breeds had become well suited, over countless generations, to the task for which they were bred. Now, in their purely domestic roles, we fail to understand their needs. And it is time that someone stood up for dogdom: not the caricature of the wolf in a dog suit, ready to dominate its unsuspecting owner at the first sign of weakness, not the trophy animal that collects rosettes and kudos for its breeder, but the real dog, the pet that just wants to be one of the family and enjoy life. 

Biologists now know far more about what really makes dogs tick than they did twenty years ago – and John Bradshaw has been at the centre of this research. However, this new scientific understanding has been slow to percolate through to owners, and has not yet made enough of a difference to the lives of the dogs themselves. This book is here to set the record straight. It is time we understood one of the most successful species on the planet, our closest friends, the dog.
John Bradshaw

Hay Player

Sophie McKenzie Talks Thrillers

Hay Festival 2013, 

The author of the bestselling Missing trilogy and winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award for Hit Squad shares her top tips on thriller writing and tells us what’s coming next.

11+ years

Hay Player

Antony Beevor talks to Agustín Díaz Yanes

The Second World War

Segovia 2012, 
Distinguished British historian Antony Beevor talks with filmmaker Agustín Díaz Yanes about his latest book, the internationally successful The Second World War.
 
Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish

Hay Player

The Creative & Cultural Skills Conference at Hay

Session 2: UEA or MBA?

Hay Festival 2009, 
Novelists Russell Celyn Jones (Birkbeck Creative Writing Prof) and Giles Foden (UEA Prof) discuss writers’ professional development with John Mullan (UCL Professor of Eng Lit and Guardian Book Club host).

Hay Player

Roger Thurow

Feeding The World

Hay Festival 2013, 

How will we feed a growing global population in the face of a wide range of adverse factors, including climate change? What contributions can the social and natural sciences make in finding solutions, and what is the role for governments and the private sector? What does it all mean for the individual farmer? The author The Hunger Season discusses with The Telegraph’s Environment Editor, Geoffrey Lean.

Hay Player

Jonathan Sacks

Not In God’s Name: Confronting Religious Violence

Hay Festival 2015, 

There are many conflicts around the world at present that claim to be in the name of God – in Iraq, in Syria, in Gaza, and elsewhere. Rabbi Sacks argues forcefully that a true understanding of religion will enable and inspire the world to bring peace, not war; that far from leaving religion on the sidelines, it should be put at the heart of peacemaking efforts. Chaired by James Harding, head of BBC News.

Jonathan Sacks

Hay Player

Rosie Harding

Dementia and Vulnerability

Hay Festival 2015, 

‘You can have a dog put to sleep but my mother had to go through hell.’ End of life issues are especially difficult for people with dementia and their family carers, as the person themself is often unable to make and communicate their views in a way that would be respected by our autonomy-centred healthcare decision-making frameworks. Drawing on empirical data from a socio-legal study funded by the British Academy, Professor Rosie Harding of the University of Birmingham explores the social, ethical and legal challenges of maximising dignity for those dying with, and of, dementia.

Rosie Harding

Hay Player

Andrew Ruhemann talks to Francine Stock

The Animator, the Meerkat and the Gorillaz

Hay Festival 2011, 
The Passion Pictures producer discusses and shows his 2011 Oscar-winning short The Lost Thing and explains his ground-breaking animation work with Alexander ‘Simples’ Orlov and the Gorillaz, among other seminal characters.
 
See the Passion Pictures website for more information
 
 
 

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs