Hay Player

Ángel Viñas in conversation with Juan Cruz

Segovia 2013, 

This year’s LSE’s event presents the historian Angel Viñas in conversation with Juan Cruz. The Spanish Civil War is the milestone in the 20th century history of Spain, and it permeates all political and social life throughout the country, even after seventy years. Only nowadays with the opening of the archives, it is possible to deal with its deep meaning based on all the documents.


Event in Spanish.


Co-organised with London School of Economics.

Hay Player

Alex T Smith

Claude

Hay Festival 2012, 
It’s time to get excited, delighted and waggy-tailed as Claude and Sir Bobblysock make their Hay debut. Berets actively encouraged.
 
5-7 years

Hay Player

AKAs and the Shidas

Booklaunch

Storymoja Nairobi 2012, 
Muthoni Garland is joined by the Kenya Human Rights Commission.

Hay Player

Víctor Bravo Mendoza and Fredy Gutiérrez Sahaud with Wieldler Guerra

Guajira Literature, followed by a concert by the Cerrejón Symphony Orchestra

Cartagena 2011, 
An event featuring experts in literature written in La Guajira; following this there will be a concert with the Cerrejón Symphony Orchestra. This orchestra, made up of 90 young people from the Cerrejón area and other districts of La Guajira, is much more than a musical project, offering a musical education, teamwork and excellent opportunities for its members to develop as musicians and people.

Hay Player

Clara Sánchez in conversation with Manuel Calderón

Segovia 2010, 
Lo que esconde tu nombre, by Clara Sánchez, will be the theme of the conversation between the author and Manuel Calderón, editor-in-chief of the culture section of the newspaper La Razón. In this novel, winner of the ‘Premio Nadal’ award in 2010, Sánchez carries out a splendid analysis of the hidden lives of the Nazis who arrived in the Spanish ‘Levante’ (the regions of Valencia and Murcia) after the Second World War and reveals the impunity they have enjoyed. 

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English will be provided. 
Sign language interpretation will be provided.

Hay Player

Jonathan Fenby

Tiger Head Snake Tails

Hay Festival 2013, 

China’s Unfinished Revolution – the challenges that confront the looming superpower after its leadership transition. Chaired by Nik Gowing.

Hay Player

Ben Macintyre

A Spy Among Friends

Hay Festival 2014, 

Kim Philby was the most notorious British defector and Soviet mole in history. Agent, double agent, traitor and enigma, he betrayed every secret of Allied operations to the Russians in the early years of the Cold War. Philby’s two closest friends in the intelligence world, Nicholas Elliott of MI6 and James Jesus Angleton, the CIA intelligence chief, thought they knew Philby better than anyone, and then discovered they had not known him at all.

Hay Player

Jo Malone talks to Bryony Gordon

Hay Festival 2017, 

Jo Malone has created a globally renowned fragrance and beauty business and, more recently, her new brand Jo Loves. She talks about her incredible journey from modest beginnings as a teenager struggling with dyslexia and leaving school with no qualifications, to being diagnosed with breast cancer at 37 and becoming an international brand name and one of the world’s most successful entrepreneurs.

Jo Malone talks to Bryony Gordon

Hay Player

Nina Stibbe and Gary Kemp

Despatches From Family Life

Hay Festival 2014, 
In 1982 Nina Stibbe, a 20-year-old from Leicester, moved to London to work as a nanny for a very particular family. It was a perfect match: Nina had no idea how to cook, look after children, or who the weirdos who called round were. And the family, busy discussing such arcane subjects as how to swear in German or the merits (or otherwise) of turkey mince, were delighted by her lack of skills. Love, Nina is the collection of letters she wrote home gloriously describing her ‘domestic’ life, the unpredictable house-guests and the cat everyone loved to hate. Nina talks to the Spandau Ballet star and actor Gary Kemp, author of I Know This Much.

Hay Player

Jean-Claude Carrière

This is Not the End of the Book

Hay Festival 2011, 
The great French playwright and screenwriter develops the ideas in his long conversation with Umberto Eco about the future of the book in a digital age. Chaired by Alex Butterworth.

Read a brief summary of some of Jean-Claude Carriere's work

Hay Player

Sheila Hancock talks to Joan Bakewell

Hay Festival 2006, 
The actress and RSC Artistic Director discusses her portrait of her own marriage The Two of Us: My Life With John Thaw.

Hay Player

Sophie McKenzie Talks Thrillers

Hay Festival 2013, 

The author of the bestselling Missing trilogy and winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award for Hit Squad shares her top tips on thriller writing and tells us what’s coming next.

11+ years

Hay Player

Francesca Happé

The Rosalind Franklin Lecture

Hay Festival 2014, 

Autism and Talent
Why do many people with autism develop outstanding abilities in domains like drawing, music, calculation or memory? What aspects of autism predispose to talent? The Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience explores the representation of autistic talent in the media, and what current research can tell us about the nature and origins of special abilities and assets in autism.

Hay Player

Damian Walford Davies, Siwan Rosser, Carrie Smith and Tomos Owen

The Gwyn Jones Event - Roald Dahl: Wales of the Unexpected

Hay Festival 2016, 

Contributors to a ground-breaking new book, Roald Dahl: Wales of the Unexpected, discuss the vital presence of Wales in the work of ‘the world’s number one storyteller’. This is Dahl wonderfully defamiliarised in his centenary year through the lens of the country of his birth and early life.

Presented by The Welsh Academy 

Hay Player

Paula Byrne: The Real Jane Austen

Austen Bicentenary Series 4

Hay Festival 2013, 

The biographer re-examines Austen’s family context and finds a far tougher, more socially and politically aware, and altogether more modern woman than the conventional picture of ‘dear Aunt Jane’ would allow.

Hay Player

Morris Berman, Daniel Alarcón and Francisco Goldman with Jon Gower

Indignados

Cartagena 2012, 
At the end of 2011, The New York Times published a survey that reflected the discontent and low morale of Americans, who feel better represented by groups like Occupy Wall Street or the Tea Party than by Congress. This situation can be extrapolated to other countries, like the United Kingdom, where university fees are spiralling up, and “indignados” occupy St Paul’s Cathedral precincts, creating a climate of tension among the Church, the Government and the corporations, who own the land. Are they isolated groups, or the tip of a vast iceberg of social discontent? Are we facing a great economic and moral depression? Are we complicit in the current situation? The guests tackle these and other questions. 

Simultaneous translation from English to Spanish available

Hay Player

Michael Morpurgo

Listen to the Moon

Hay Festival 2015, 
Michael Morpurgo’s much praised novel Listen to the Moon was inspired by a gruesome medal commemorating the sinking of the Lusitania 100 years ago off the coast of Co. Cork, and a newspaper report he came across during his research about a small child being spotted on top of a piano floating among the wreckage. Michael shares this extraordinary story and answers questions from the audience. He also talks about Dreams of Freedom – In Words and Pictures, for which he wrote the introduction. The book combines the words of human rights heroes with illustrations by acclaimed artists. All royalties go to Amnesty International.
9+ years
Michael Morpurgo

Hay Player

Adele Nozedar and Lizzie Harper

The Garden Forager

Hay Festival 2015, 

Many of our own gardens contain an abundance of edible and medicinal plants, grown mainly for their ornamental appearance. Most gardeners are completely unaware that what they have actually planted is a rather exotic kitchen garden. The Garden Forager explores some of the most popular garden plants that have edible, medicinal or even cosmetic potential. Nozedar’s recipes and remedies are exquisitely illustrated in watercolours by Lizzie Harper. She talks while Harper illustrates live.

Adele Nozedar and Lizzie Harper

Hay Player

Robin Ince, Carrie Quinlan and Andre Vincent

The Early Edition 5

Hay Festival 2012, 
The satirists’ final word on the stories of the day.

Hay Player

Sarah Dunant in conversation with SJ Parris

Fictions – Blood And Beauty

Hay Festival 2013, 

The acclaimed novelist of the Italian Renaissance takes on the era’s most infamous family – the Borgias.

Hay Player

Charles Avery

A School of Dolphins

Hay Festival 2009, 
The dolphin’s presence and meaning in Western Art from Antiquity (where it was associated with several gods), into the Middle Ages, Renaissance and Baroque (where it had Christian connotations, as well as playing a supporting role in fountains and furniture), and then on to the empires of Venice and Britain, ending in the 20th century with Matisse.

Hay Player

Peter Moore talks to Daniel Hahn

The Weather Experiment

Hay Festival 2015, 

In an age when a storm at sea was evidence of God’s great wrath, C19th meteorologists had to fight against convention and religious dogma. But buoyed by the achievements of the Enlightenment, a generation of mavericks set out to explain the secrets of the atmosphere and learned to predict the future. Among them were Luke Howard, the first to classify the clouds, Francis Beaufort who quantified the winds, James Glaisher who explored the upper atmosphere in a hot-air balloon, Samuel Morse whose electric telegraph gave scientists the means by which to transmit weather warnings, and Admiral Robert FitzRoy himself, master sailor, scientific pioneer and founder of the Met Office.

Photo: Ula Soltys

Peter Moore talks to Daniel Hahn

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Getrude Mungai, Faith Gatimi, Vaishnavi Ram Mohan

Drumbeats on Mobile

Storymoja Nairobi 2013, 

Join Getrude Mungai – Kenya's leading sexologist, Drumbeat authors – Dilman Dila, Hilda Gathanga, Shaleen Keshavjee-Gulam, Nadia Darwesh and editors - Faith Gatimi and Vaishnavi Ram Mohan at the exciting launch of the DrumBeats romance series. Dress in red. Prepare for your own cover shoot. Open your mind to the sophisticated art and craft of KISSING. Discover the secret territory before the point of no return. To light the flame of East African love in your heart and mind, and win lovely love-inspired prizes, download DrumBeat stories on mobile and e devices.

Hay Player

Juan José Millás talks to Antonio San José

Segovia 2012, 
The writer Juan José Millás talks to journalist Antonio San José about his narrative and journalistic work, and its place in Spanish literature today.
 
Co-organized with the Fundación Lara.
Juan José Millás talks to Antonio San José