Hay Player

Jim Al-Khalili and Johnjoe McFadden

Life on the Edge: The Coming of Age of Quantum Biology

Hay Festival 2015, 

 Life is the most extraordinary phenomenon in the known universe; but how does it work? Even in this age of cloning and synthetic biology, the remarkable truth remains: nobody has ever made anything living entirely out of dead material. Life remains the only way to make life. Are we missing a vital ingredient in its creation?

Drawing on recent ground-breaking experiments around the world, they show how photosynthesis relies on subatomic particles existing in many places at once, while inside enzymes, those workhorses of life that make every molecule within our cells, particles vanish from one point in space and instantly materialize in another.

Jim Al-Khalili and Johnjoe McFadden

Hay Player

Dai Smith in conversation with Max Porter

The International Dylan Thomas Prize in partnership with Swansea University

Hay Festival 2016, 

Join us to celebrate ten years of the prestigious prize for writers aged 39 and under, as the 2016 Winner talks with Dai Smith, Chair of the Judging Panel and Raymond Williams Research Chair in the Cultural History of Wales at Swansea University. Max Porter won the award for his extraordinary book Grief is the Thing With Feathers.

Dai Smith says: “Max Porter, the judges felt, takes the common place of grief, the pall of death, the loss of loved ones, the things that we will all experience and transforms the ordinary through an extraordinary feat of imaginative prose, but prose that slips in to poetry and out again. The way it plays with the archetypal figure of Ted Hughes’ Crow is both astonishing and beguiling. It is funny, it is deeply moving and it is a book that the judges are proud to see as the winner of the 2016 International Dylan Thomas Prize, in partnership with Swansea University.”

Dai Smith in conversation with Max Porter

Hay Player

Roger Bootle, Liam Fox, Nick Herbert, Allison Pearson, Roland Rudd and Alan Johnson

The Telegraph Debate: Does Britain Need the EU?

Hay Festival 2016, 

Three weeks before the 23 June referendum, a panel of politicians, business leaders and journalists weigh up the pros and cons of membership of the EU.

Hay Player

Álvaro Enrigue y Alejandro Zambra en conversación con Jorge Herralde

Bogotá39

Segovia 2008, 
El Hay Festival y la Alcadia de Bogotá organizaron en el 2007 el proyecto Bogotá39 para celebrar Bogotá Capital Mundial del Libro. Este proyecto reunió en Bogotá a los 39 escritores latinoamericanos menores de 40 más interesante del momento seleccionados por un jurado de escritores. Dos de ellos, el chileno Alejandro Zambra, La vida privada de los árboles y Bonsái, y el mexicano Álvaro Enrigue, Vidas Perpendiculares, conversarán con su editor, Jorge Herralde.

Hay Player

Bronwen Maddox, Matthew d’Ancona and Nik Gowing talk to Adam Boulton

Obama’s First Hundred Days

Hay Festival 2009, 
The author of In Defence of America, the editor of The Spectator and the BBC World anchor discuss the administration’s honeymoon period with the Sky News anchor, author of Tony’s Ten Years.

Hay Player

Tony de Saulles

Horrible Science

Hay Festival 2009, 
Science just got a lot more squishy! Join the illustrator behind this gruesomely brilliant series to learn how to doodle and cartoon all things horrid.  Don't forget your pencil!

9 years +

Hay Player

Chris Riddell and Paul Stewart

Wyrmeweald: Bloodhoney

Hay Festival 2012, 
This incredible duo, creators of The Edge Chronicles introduces the new episode of their latest high-octane fantasy epic.
 
12+ years

Hay Player

Christina Lamb, Helena Kennedy, Rachael Jolley and Joan Bakewell

The War on Women

Hay Festival 2017, 

In a tribute to the late frontline journalist Sue Lloyd-Roberts and her posthumously-published book, a panel of three exceptional and indefatigable heroes talk to Joan Bakewell about The War on Women. Lamb is the Foreign Correspondent of The Sunday Times and the author of Farewell Kabul and The Girl from Aleppo. Kennedy is a world-renowned Human Rights lawyer. Jolley is editor of Index on Censorship.

With thanks to Nick Guthrie

Christina Lamb, Helena Kennedy, Rachael Jolley and Joan Bakewell

Hay Player

Sophie McKenzie Talks Thrillers

Hay Festival 2013, 

The author of the bestselling Missing trilogy and winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award for Hit Squad shares her top tips on thriller writing and tells us what’s coming next.

11+ years

Hay Player

Richard Dawkins, Steve Jones and Martin Rees

The Guardian Science Experiment: Have We Abandoned the Enlightenment?

Hay Festival 2007, 
Chaired by The Guardian’s Science Editor James Randerson.

Hay Player

Norman Stone

The Atlantic and its Enemies

Hay Festival 2010, 
The acclaimed historian offers A Personal History of the Cold War.
Norman Stone

Hay Player

Michael Morpurgo

Listen to the Moon

Hay Festival 2015, 
Michael Morpurgo’s much praised novel Listen to the Moon was inspired by a gruesome medal commemorating the sinking of the Lusitania 100 years ago off the coast of Co. Cork, and a newspaper report he came across during his research about a small child being spotted on top of a piano floating among the wreckage. Michael shares this extraordinary story and answers questions from the audience. He also talks about Dreams of Freedom – In Words and Pictures, for which he wrote the introduction. The book combines the words of human rights heroes with illustrations by acclaimed artists. All royalties go to Amnesty International.
9+ years
Michael Morpurgo

Hay Player

Ángel Viñas in conversation with Juan Cruz

Segovia 2013, 

This year’s LSE’s event presents the historian Angel Viñas in conversation with Juan Cruz. The Spanish Civil War is the milestone in the 20th century history of Spain, and it permeates all political and social life throughout the country, even after seventy years. Only nowadays with the opening of the archives, it is possible to deal with its deep meaning based on all the documents.


Event in Spanish.


Co-organised with London School of Economics.

Hay Player

Annie Freud talks to Geordie Greig

Forgotten Footprints

Hay Festival 2012, 
The poet discusses her work and her father Lucian’s paintings with the journalist and author of the forthcoming Breakfast With Lucian.

Hay Player

Clara Sánchez in conversation with Manuel Calderón

Segovia 2010, 
Lo que esconde tu nombre, by Clara Sánchez, will be the theme of the conversation between the author and Manuel Calderón, editor-in-chief of the culture section of the newspaper La Razón. In this novel, winner of the ‘Premio Nadal’ award in 2010, Sánchez carries out a splendid analysis of the hidden lives of the Nazis who arrived in the Spanish ‘Levante’ (the regions of Valencia and Murcia) after the Second World War and reveals the impunity they have enjoyed. 

Simultaneous translation from Spanish to English will be provided. 
Sign language interpretation will be provided.

Hay Player

George Marshall talks to Oliver Balch

Talking Climate – From Research to Practice

Hay Festival 2017, 

A fresh approach to climate change communication: five core principles for public engagement that can propel climate change discourse out of the margins and into the mainstream. Marshall is the author of Don’t Even Think About It: Why our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change.

Hay Player

Audrey Niffenegger talks to Lisa Allardice

Her Fearful Symmetry

Hay Festival 2010, 
The author discusses her delicious, ghost story follow-up to the global bestseller The Time Traveler’s Wife.
Audrey Niffenegger talks to Lisa Allardice

Hay Player

Alex T Smith

Claude

Hay Festival 2012, 
It’s time to get excited, delighted and waggy-tailed as Claude and Sir Bobblysock make their Hay debut. Berets actively encouraged.
 
5-7 years

Hay Player

Lorrie Moore talks to Julian Barnes

The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore

Hay Festival 2008, 
The great American short story writer’s ferociously funny, soulful stories tell of the gulf between men and women, the loneliness of the broken-hearted and the yearned-for, impossible intimacies we crave.

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Miriam González Durántez

Made In Spain

Hay Festival 2017, 

The lawyer and Inspiring Girls champion introduces her delicious “recipes and stories from my country and beyond” in a glorious celebration of Spanish culture and cooking.

Miriam González Durántez

Hay Player

Gillian Beer

Cambridge 800 Series: Cultures of Extinction – Darwin and the Present

Hay Festival 2009, 
We view extinction now with alarm and even horror, and are encouraged to do so by specialist commentators and popular media alike. Darwin saw extinction as humdrum, inevitable and important for his theory. What does this transformation reveal about Darwin and ourselves?

Hay Player

Philip Ball

Nature’s Patterns

Hay Festival 2011, 
Scientists have found that there is a pattern-forming tendency inherent in the basic structure and processes of nature, so that from a few simple themes, and the repetition of simple rules, endless beautiful variations can arise.

Hay Player

Tim Dee

The Running Sky

Hay Festival 2010, 
‘A million starlings gather to roost from all points across a freezing winter sky; migrant redstarts, only weeks out of their nest, set off over alien seas on their way to Africa; a pair of airborne swifts lie together for an instant as they mate hundreds of feet up in the sky…’
Tim Dee

Hay Player

Alex Crawford talks to Jim Naughtie

Colonel Gaddafi’s Hat

Hay Festival 2012, 
A gripping and deeply moving account of the Libyan uprising from the Sky News Special Correspondent - the lone journalist who was able to report from the rebel army convoy that captured Green Square in the heart of Tripoli.