Hay Player

Michael Pollan talks to Montagu Don

Food Rules

Hay Festival 2010, 
‘Eat food. Mostly plants. Not too much.’ An Eater’s Manual for eating wisely, gathered from a wide variety of sources including mothers, grandmothers, nutritionists, anthropologists and ancient cultures.

Hay Player

Alison Brown

Eddie and Dog

Hay Festival 2014, 

Eddie is looking for a friend – a friend who likes adventure. Then Eddie meets Dog. And the fun really begins… Meet the author and illustrator and get a sneak peek of her new book Mighty Mo!
4–6 years

Alison Brown

Hay Player

Alex T Smith

Claude

Hay Festival 2012, 
It’s time to get excited, delighted and waggy-tailed as Claude and Sir Bobblysock make their Hay debut. Berets actively encouraged.
 
5-7 years

Hay Player

Sophie McKenzie Talks Thrillers

Hay Festival 2013, 

The author of the bestselling Missing trilogy and winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award for Hit Squad shares her top tips on thriller writing and tells us what’s coming next.

11+ years

Hay Player

Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl And The Atlantis Complex

Hay Festival 2011, 
Join this utterly brilliant writer in an adrenaline-fuelled exposé of his teenage criminal mastermind.
 
9+ years Rib Ticklers 

Hay Player

Álvaro Enrigue y Alejandro Zambra en conversación con Jorge Herralde

Bogotá39

Segovia 2008, 
El Hay Festival y la Alcadia de Bogotá organizaron en el 2007 el proyecto Bogotá39 para celebrar Bogotá Capital Mundial del Libro. Este proyecto reunió en Bogotá a los 39 escritores latinoamericanos menores de 40 más interesante del momento seleccionados por un jurado de escritores. Dos de ellos, el chileno Alejandro Zambra, La vida privada de los árboles y Bonsái, y el mexicano Álvaro Enrigue, Vidas Perpendiculares, conversarán con su editor, Jorge Herralde.

Hay Player

Tony de Saulles

Horrible Science

Hay Festival 2009, 
Science just got a lot more squishy! Join the illustrator behind this gruesomely brilliant series to learn how to doodle and cartoon all things horrid.  Don't forget your pencil!

9 years +

Hay Player

Chris Riddell and Paul Stewart

Wyrmeweald: Bloodhoney

Hay Festival 2012, 
This incredible duo, creators of The Edge Chronicles introduces the new episode of their latest high-octane fantasy epic.
 
12+ years

Hay Player

Hew Strachan talks to Richard Norton-Taylor

The Direction of War: Contemporary Strategy in Historical Perspective

Hay Festival 2014, 

The wars since 9/11, both in Iraq and Afghanistan, have generated frustration and an increasing sense of failure in the West and the blame has been attributed to poor strategy. Strachan, one of the world’s leading military historians, reveals how these failures resulted from a fundamental misreading and misapplication of strategy itself. He argues that the wars since 2001 have not in reality been as ‘new’ as has been widely assumed and that we need to adopt a more historical approach to contemporary strategy in order to identify what is really changing in how we wage war.

Hay Player

Gillian Tett talks to Nik Gowing

The Silo Effect: Why Putting Everything in its Place Isn’t Such a Bright Idea

Hay Festival 2016, 

Ever since civilised society began, we have felt the need to classify, categorise and specialise. It can make things more efficient, and help give the leaders of any organisation a sense of confidence that they have the right people focusing on the right tasks. But it can also be catastrophic, leading to tunnel vision and tribalism. Most importantly it can create a structural fog, with the full picture of where an organisation is heading hidden from view.  Tett uses an anthropological lens to explore how individuals, teams and whole organisations often work in silos of thought, process and product. With examples drawn from a range of fascinating areas – from the New York Fire Department and Facebook to the Bank of England and Sony – these narratives illustrate not just how foolishly people can behave when they are mastered by silos but also how the brightest institutions and individuals can master them. Tett is US Managing Editor of the FT.

Gillian Tett talks to Nik Gowing

Hay Player

Dan Haworth-Salter, Sue Bell and Conrad Feather talk to Diana Toynbee

The Size of Herefordshire

Hay Festival 2017, 

Among the bravest fighters for the Amazon rainforest are the Wampis people from Peru.  They’re supported by the Size of Herefordshire, a local group, who are just back from visiting them and join us with photographs, films and stories.

Dan Haworth-Salter, Sue Bell and Conrad Feather talk to Diana Toynbee

Hay Player

Noel Fitzpatrick talks to Matt Stadlen

Listening to the Animals: Becoming the Supervet

Hay Festival 2019, 

The Supervet recounts this often-surprising journey that sees him leaving behind a farm animal practice in rural Ireland to set up Fitzpatrick Referrals in Surrey, one of the most advanced small animal specialist centres in the world. We meet the animals that paved the way, from calving cows and corralling bullocks to talkative parrots and bionic cats and dogs.

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Lorrie Moore talks to Julian Barnes

The Collected Stories of Lorrie Moore

Hay Festival 2008, 
The great American short story writer’s ferociously funny, soulful stories tell of the gulf between men and women, the loneliness of the broken-hearted and the yearned-for, impossible intimacies we crave.

Hay Player

Virginia McKenna

Gentle Footprints

Hay Festival 2010, 
The star of Born Free and founder of the Born Free Foundation discusses her work with Paul Blezard and launches the wildlife anthology Gentle Footprints, which includes a story by Richard Adams (Watership Down) and will raise money for the Born Free Foundation, with some of the featured authors.

Hay Player

Bronwen Maddox, Matthew d’Ancona and Nik Gowing talk to Adam Boulton

Obama’s First Hundred Days

Hay Festival 2009, 
The author of In Defence of America, the editor of The Spectator and the BBC World anchor discuss the administration’s honeymoon period with the Sky News anchor, author of Tony’s Ten Years.

Hay Player

Paula Byrne: The Real Jane Austen

Austen Bicentenary Series 4

Hay Festival 2013, 

The biographer re-examines Austen’s family context and finds a far tougher, more socially and politically aware, and altogether more modern woman than the conventional picture of ‘dear Aunt Jane’ would allow.

Hay Player

Huw Bowen, Martin Johnes, Aled Jones, Peter Stead

New History of Wales 3: Public History

Hay Festival 2011, 
Ivory Tower or public realm – what is the point of Welsh history in the C21st?

Duration 45 minutes.
 

Hay Player

Ben Macintyre

A Spy Among Friends

Hay Festival 2014, 

Kim Philby was the most notorious British defector and Soviet mole in history. Agent, double agent, traitor and enigma, he betrayed every secret of Allied operations to the Russians in the early years of the Cold War. Philby’s two closest friends in the intelligence world, Nicholas Elliott of MI6 and James Jesus Angleton, the CIA intelligence chief, thought they knew Philby better than anyone, and then discovered they had not known him at all.

Hay Player

Francesca Happé

The Rosalind Franklin Lecture

Hay Festival 2014, 

Autism and Talent
Why do many people with autism develop outstanding abilities in domains like drawing, music, calculation or memory? What aspects of autism predispose to talent? The Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience explores the representation of autistic talent in the media, and what current research can tell us about the nature and origins of special abilities and assets in autism.

Hay Player

Robin Ince, Carrie Quinlan and Andre Vincent

The Early Edition 5

Hay Festival 2012, 
The satirists’ final word on the stories of the day.

Hay Player

Antony Beevor talks to Agustín Díaz Yanes

The Second World War

Segovia 2012, 
Distinguished British historian Antony Beevor talks with filmmaker Agustín Díaz Yanes about his latest book, the internationally successful The Second World War.
 
Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish

Hay Player

Norman Stone

The Atlantic and its Enemies

Hay Festival 2010, 
The acclaimed historian offers A Personal History of the Cold War.
Norman Stone

Hay Player

Philip Pullman, Dai Smith, Richard Davies and Jon Gower

Make Room for the Jester

Hay Festival 2011, 
We celebrate Stead Jones’ classic tale – a haunting journey from the edge of childhood into a threatening adult world – now published in the Library of Wales series.

Hay Player

Audrey Niffenegger talks to Lisa Allardice

Her Fearful Symmetry

Hay Festival 2010, 
The author discusses her delicious, ghost story follow-up to the global bestseller The Time Traveler’s Wife.
Audrey Niffenegger talks to Lisa Allardice