Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Catherine Fletcher

The Black Prince of Florence: The Spectacular Life and Treacherous World of Alessandro de Medici

Hay Festival 2016, 

Swansea University Series

From dazzling palaces and Tuscan villas to the treacherous backstreets of Florence and the corridors of papal power, the story of Alessandro’s spectacular rise, magnificent reign and violent demise takes us deep beneath the surface of power in Renaissance Italy – a glamorous but deadly realm of spies, betrayal and vendetta, illicit sex and fabulous displays of wealth, where the colour of one’s skin meant little but the strength of one’s allegiances meant everything. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Catherine Fletcher

Hay Player

Ben Macintyre

A Spy Among Friends

Hay Festival 2014, 

Kim Philby was the most notorious British defector and Soviet mole in history. Agent, double agent, traitor and enigma, he betrayed every secret of Allied operations to the Russians in the early years of the Cold War. Philby’s two closest friends in the intelligence world, Nicholas Elliott of MI6 and James Jesus Angleton, the CIA intelligence chief, thought they knew Philby better than anyone, and then discovered they had not known him at all.

Hay Player

Elvira Lindo, Ángeles González-Sinde and Luis Alegre

Segovia 2014, 

Elvira Lindo and Ángeles González-Sinde talk about literature and film with the journalist Luis Alegre. The two have already worked together on Una palabra tuya, a film directed by González-Sinde and based on the novel by Lindo which won the Biblioteca Breve award. Elvira Lindo also wrote the script for the recent film La vida inesperada and González-Sinde was shortlisted for the 2013 Planeta Prize for her novel El buen hijo.

Hay Player

Alex Crawford talks to Jim Naughtie

Colonel Gaddafi’s Hat

Hay Festival 2012, 
A gripping and deeply moving account of the Libyan uprising from the Sky News Special Correspondent - the lone journalist who was able to report from the rebel army convoy that captured Green Square in the heart of Tripoli.

Hay Player

Philip Ball

Nature’s Patterns

Hay Festival 2011, 
Scientists have found that there is a pattern-forming tendency inherent in the basic structure and processes of nature, so that from a few simple themes, and the repetition of simple rules, endless beautiful variations can arise.

Hay Player

Katie Hill, Gareth Jones and Nick Davies talk to Andy Middleton

The Best for Wales Project

Hay Festival 2017, 

How can we shift from ‘doing better’ to ‘doing what’s needed’ and doing it now across Wales? Best for Wales will celebrate and inspire sustainable innovation. Hill is CEO of B Lab UK; Jones is Founder of Welsh ICE and Davies is founder of Neighbourly. Chaired by maverick thinker Andy Middleton from TYF.

Katie Hill, Gareth Jones and Nick Davies talk to Andy Middleton

Hay Player

Antony Beevor talks to Agustín Díaz Yanes

The Second World War

Segovia 2012, 
Distinguished British historian Antony Beevor talks with filmmaker Agustín Díaz Yanes about his latest book, the internationally successful The Second World War.
 
Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish

Hay Player

Alison Brown

Eddie and Dog

Hay Festival 2014, 

Eddie is looking for a friend – a friend who likes adventure. Then Eddie meets Dog. And the fun really begins… Meet the author and illustrator and get a sneak peek of her new book Mighty Mo!
4–6 years

Alison Brown

Hay Player

Pamela Butchart

To Wee or Not to Wee!

Hay Festival 2016, 

Take a fresh look at Shakespeare with the Blue Peter Award-winning author  as she gives action-packed retellings of Macbeth, HamletA Midsummer’s Night Dream and Romeo and Juliet.

6+
Pamela Butchart

Hay Player

Getrude Mungai, Faith Gatimi, Vaishnavi Ram Mohan

Drumbeats on Mobile

Storymoja Nairobi 2013, 

Join Getrude Mungai – Kenya's leading sexologist, Drumbeat authors – Dilman Dila, Hilda Gathanga, Shaleen Keshavjee-Gulam, Nadia Darwesh and editors - Faith Gatimi and Vaishnavi Ram Mohan at the exciting launch of the DrumBeats romance series. Dress in red. Prepare for your own cover shoot. Open your mind to the sophisticated art and craft of KISSING. Discover the secret territory before the point of no return. To light the flame of East African love in your heart and mind, and win lovely love-inspired prizes, download DrumBeat stories on mobile and e devices.

Hay Player

Francesca Happé

The Rosalind Franklin Lecture

Hay Festival 2014, 

Autism and Talent
Why do many people with autism develop outstanding abilities in domains like drawing, music, calculation or memory? What aspects of autism predispose to talent? The Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience explores the representation of autistic talent in the media, and what current research can tell us about the nature and origins of special abilities and assets in autism.

Hay Player

Gillian Tett talks to Nik Gowing

The Silo Effect: Why Putting Everything in its Place Isn’t Such a Bright Idea

Hay Festival 2016, 

Ever since civilised society began, we have felt the need to classify, categorise and specialise. It can make things more efficient, and help give the leaders of any organisation a sense of confidence that they have the right people focusing on the right tasks. But it can also be catastrophic, leading to tunnel vision and tribalism. Most importantly it can create a structural fog, with the full picture of where an organisation is heading hidden from view.  Tett uses an anthropological lens to explore how individuals, teams and whole organisations often work in silos of thought, process and product. With examples drawn from a range of fascinating areas – from the New York Fire Department and Facebook to the Bank of England and Sony – these narratives illustrate not just how foolishly people can behave when they are mastered by silos but also how the brightest institutions and individuals can master them. Tett is US Managing Editor of the FT.

Gillian Tett talks to Nik Gowing

Hay Player

Chris Laoutaris

Shakespeare and the Countess: The Battle That Gave Birth to The Globe

Hay Festival 2015, 

In November 1596 a woman signed a document which would nearly destroy the career of William Shakespeare… Who was the woman who played such an instrumental, yet little known, role in Shakespeare’s life? Never far from controversy when she was alive – she sparked numerous riots and indulged in acts of bribery, breaking-and-entering, and kidnapping – Elizabeth Russell has been edited out of public memory, yet the chain of events she set in motion would be the making of Shakespeare as we all know him today.

Chris Laoutaris

Hay Player

Robin Ince, Carrie Quinlan and Andre Vincent

The Early Edition 5

Hay Festival 2012, 
The satirists’ final word on the stories of the day.

Hay Player

Half Gone: Oil, Gas, Hot Air and the Global Energy Crisis

Jeremy Leggett

Hay Festival 2006, 
The global marketplace is built on the notion of a stable supply of cheap oil and gas. But that bedrock is about to crumble. As geologists, civil servants and the oil industry knows, the end of oil is a lot closer than we think. Leggett is Chief Executive of Solarcentury.

Hay Player

Nicola Clayton and Clive Wilkins

Memory and Mental Time Travel

Hay Festival 2015, 

Memories are not only about the past; they also affect the future. Nicola and Clive, a scientist and a fine artist respectively, explore the complex relationships between memory and human experience. Join them for a fascinating discussion incorporating science, literature, magic and dance.

Nicola Clayton and Clive Wilkins

Hay Player

AC Grayling

The Choice of Hercules

Hay Festival 2008, 
Philosopher AC Grayling explores the powers of Pleasure, Duty and the Good Life in the 21st Century.

Hay Player

Jean-Claude Carrière

This is Not the End of the Book

Hay Festival 2011, 
The great French playwright and screenwriter develops the ideas in his long conversation with Umberto Eco about the future of the book in a digital age. Chaired by Alex Butterworth.

Read a brief summary of some of Jean-Claude Carriere's work

Hay Player

Jonathan Fenby

Tiger Head Snake Tails

Hay Festival 2013, 

China’s Unfinished Revolution – the challenges that confront the looming superpower after its leadership transition. Chaired by Nik Gowing.

Hay Player

Simon Schama

Rembrandt’s Eyes

Hay Festival 2019, 

350 years ago Rembrandt van Rijn died in poverty - but not obscurity - having sublimely reinvented every genre of art that he touched. Twenty years after his Rembrandt's Eyes was published Simon Schama asks what it is that makes his work so deeply moving and how did he re-make the image of humanity?

Simon Schama

Hay Player

Philip Pullman, Dai Smith, Richard Davies and Jon Gower

Make Room for the Jester

Hay Festival 2011, 
We celebrate Stead Jones’ classic tale – a haunting journey from the edge of childhood into a threatening adult world – now published in the Library of Wales series.

Hay Player

Andrew Davies

War and Peace

Hay Festival 2016, 

The legendary screenwriter talks to Peter Florence about the craft of screenplay and the challenges of scale and intimacy in his six-part BBC television adaptation of Tolstoy’s classic novel.

Andrew Davies

Hay Player

Hannah Critchlow

The Science of Fate: Why Your Future is More Predictable Than You Think

Hay Festival 2019, 

So many of us believe that we are free to shape our own destiny. But what if free will doesn’t exist? What if our lives are largely predetermined, hardwired in our brains, and our choices over what we eat, who we fall in love with, even what we believe are not real choices at all? Neuroscience is challenging everything we think we know about ourselves, revealing how we make decisions and form our own reality, unaware of the role of our unconscious minds.

Chaired by Bettany Hughes.

Hannah Critchlow

Hay Player

Huw Bowen, Martin Johnes, Aled Jones, Peter Stead

New History of Wales 3: Public History

Hay Festival 2011, 
Ivory Tower or public realm – what is the point of Welsh history in the C21st?

Duration 45 minutes.