Hay Player

Jon Gower and Fflur Dafydd

Story: Islands

Hay Festival 2009, 
Dafydd’s haunting novel Twenty Thousand Saints evokes life on the blessed island of Bardsea. Gower’s debut novel in Welsh, Dala’r Llanw, conjures stories set in Buenos Aires, Oakland and Cardiff. They trade stories, compare notes on island life and travel between two languages. Chaired by Elan Closs Stephens.

Hay Player

Ian Jenkins

Defining Beauty: The Body in Ancient Greek Art

Hay Festival 2015, 

For centuries the ancient Greeks experimented with ways of representing the human body, both as an object of beauty and a bearer of meaning. The remarkable works of art in the British Museum’s blockbuster exhibition range from the abstract simplicity of prehistoric figurines to breathtaking realism in the age of Alexander the Great. The exhibition’s curator introduces the images and sculptures, with co-curator Celeste Farge.

Ian Jenkins

Hay Player

Boris Spassky talks to Ronan Bennett

Hay Festival 2008, 
The legendary Grand Master discussed Russian and Soviet chess culture, the psychology of the game, and the 1972 Reykjavik Match of the Century World Championships in which he lost his title to Bobby Fisher.

Hay Player

Álvaro Enrigue y Alejandro Zambra en conversación con Jorge Herralde

Bogotá39

Segovia 2008, 
El Hay Festival y la Alcadia de Bogotá organizaron en el 2007 el proyecto Bogotá39 para celebrar Bogotá Capital Mundial del Libro. Este proyecto reunió en Bogotá a los 39 escritores latinoamericanos menores de 40 más interesante del momento seleccionados por un jurado de escritores. Dos de ellos, el chileno Alejandro Zambra, La vida privada de los árboles y Bonsái, y el mexicano Álvaro Enrigue, Vidas Perpendiculares, conversarán con su editor, Jorge Herralde.

Hay Player

William Dalrymple

The Last Mughal: The Fall of a Dynasty; Delhi 1857

Hay Festival 2007, 
Bahadur Shah Zafar II, one of the most tolerant and likeable of his remarkable dynasty, found himself leader of a violent and doomed uprising. The Siege of Delhi was the Raj’s Stalingrad: the end of both Mughal power and a remarkable culture. Chaired by Hannah Rothschild.

Hay Player

Anthony Kenny

A New History of Western Philosophy

Hay Festival 2011, 
Reflecting on the history of philosophy from Thales to Derrida, the philosopher considers the enduring influence, for good or ill, that Aristotle exercised not only on philosophy but also on science.

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Simon Mayo

Itch

Hay Festival 2012, 
Meet Itchingham Lofte, an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. This is Alex Rider with Geek-Power! Chaired by Louise Gray
 
10+ years

Hay Player

Chris Lowe

Cambridge 800 Series: Biosensors

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Director of the Institute of Biotechnology brings life to sensors and sensors to life. Chaired by Claire Armitstead.

Hay Player

Sam Llewellyn

The Minimum Boat

Hay Festival 2010, 
Jaunty breakfast date with the nautical thriller writer, who promotes the minimalist boating lifestyle – whilst poking gentle fun at the expensive, complicated, ostentatious forms of sailing.

Entry to this event is free but you must reserve a ticket.
Sam Llewellyn

Hay Player

Sophie McKenzie Talks Thrillers

Hay Festival 2013, 

The author of the bestselling Missing trilogy and winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award for Hit Squad shares her top tips on thriller writing and tells us what’s coming next.

11+ years

Hay Player

Aleksandar Hemon talks to Valerie Miles

Segovia 2012, 
Hemon writes novels and short stories, frequently collaborating with magazines such as the New Yorker and with newspapers in his native Bosnia. Since the 1990s he has lived in the United States and writes in English and Bosnian. Author of The Lazarus Project, winner of National Book Critics’ Circle Award in 2008, he has published in Spanish a collection of stories Love and Obstacles. He will talk about the peculiarities of writing in two languages, with his publisher in Spanish Valerie Miles, and about his current projects.
 
Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish. With the collaboration of the Embassy of the United States of America in Spain.

Hay Player

Hannah Rothschild talks to Martin Chilton

The Baroness

Hay Festival 2012, 
The author and filmmaker conjures the life of her great aunt, the heiress Nica Rothschild, who abandoned her life of privilege in Europe for New York’s 1950s Jazz scene. She was a patron and muse to some of the greatest C20th musicians. Charlie Parker died in her apartment, Thelonius Monk in her arms.

Hay Player

Getrude Mungai, Faith Gatimi, Vaishnavi Ram Mohan

Drumbeats on Mobile

Storymoja Nairobi 2013, 

Join Getrude Mungai – Kenya's leading sexologist, Drumbeat authors – Dilman Dila, Hilda Gathanga, Shaleen Keshavjee-Gulam, Nadia Darwesh and editors - Faith Gatimi and Vaishnavi Ram Mohan at the exciting launch of the DrumBeats romance series. Dress in red. Prepare for your own cover shoot. Open your mind to the sophisticated art and craft of KISSING. Discover the secret territory before the point of no return. To light the flame of East African love in your heart and mind, and win lovely love-inspired prizes, download DrumBeat stories on mobile and e devices.

Hay Player

Elanor Dymott and Maria Semple talk to Mary Loudon

Fictions - Missing Women

Hay Festival 2012, 
Every Contact Leaves a Trace is a love story and a murder mystery set in Oxford; Where’d You Go, Bernadette? is a comic portrait of Seattle life from the scriptwriter of Ellen, Saturday Night Live, Mad About You and Arrested Development.

Hay Player

Michael Wood

The Other Versions

Hay Festival 2011, 
The historian looks at Athelstan, Wycliffe, Tyndale and the other, earlier versions of the Bible that informed the King James Authorised Version.

Hay Player

Sarah Dunant talks to Helena Kennedy

Sacred Hearts

Hay Festival 2010, 
In Renaissance Ferrara the convent of Santa Caterina is filled with noble women who are married to Christ because many cannot find husbands outside. Enter sixteen-year-old Serafina, ripped by her family from an illicit love affair, howling with rage and hormones and determined to escape.

Hay Player

Ed Vulliamy

Amexica

Hay Festival 2011, 
The harrowing story of the extraordinary terror unfolding along the US-Mexico border – this is the secret war of drugs, gangs and guns that is destroying thousands of lives. Chaired by Sarfraz Manzoor.

Hay Player

Monica Ali talks to Sarfraz Manzoor

In the Kitchen

Hay Festival 2009, 
The new novel from the author of Brick Lane opens with a mysterious death in the cellars of a smart, cosmopolitan hotel and then peels back the layers of polyglot London to reveal the melting pot that exists below.

Hay Player

Sana Krasikov and Emily Perkins

Shorts

Hay Festival 2009, 
A reading of world-class short stories from Krasikov’s collection One More Year, and a new story from Perkins, author of Not Her Real Name.

Hay Player

Carlos Vives and Daniel Samper Pizano in conversation with Juan Vicente Contreras

Lucho Bermúdez: 100 years of musical identity in Colombia

Cartagena 2012, 
Lucho Bermúdez, composer, conductor, arranger and musician, is considered by many to be the main figure in the most important musical phenomenon of the 20th century in Colombia; he made Caribbean rhythms an essential part of this very Andean country’s musical identity. The musician Carlos Vives, writer Daniel Samper Pizano and music researcher Juan Vicente Contreras, will talk, from the point of view of their different disciplines, about the importance of Lucho Bermúdez in the country’s musical memory, about his role in the internationalisation of cumbia and the recognition this genre receives throughout the world as a specifically Colombian style.

Hay Player

Jonathan Sacks

Not In God’s Name: Confronting Religious Violence

Hay Festival 2015, 

There are many conflicts around the world at present that claim to be in the name of God – in Iraq, in Syria, in Gaza, and elsewhere. Rabbi Sacks argues forcefully that a true understanding of religion will enable and inspire the world to bring peace, not war; that far from leaving religion on the sidelines, it should be put at the heart of peacemaking efforts. Chaired by James Harding, head of BBC News.

Jonathan Sacks

Hay Player

Howard Jacobson, Maggie Ross, Roy Strong

King James Authorised Version – Genesis, Psalms, Revelations

Hay Festival 2011, 
Three of the hugest and most contentious books are on the table for this Good Read conversation. Chaired by Peter Guttridge.

Hay Player

Anthony Julius

Trials of the Diaspora

Hay Festival 2010, 
The lawyer traces A History of Anti-Semitism in England from the bloody medieval persecutions and the invention of the Blood Libel, through the literary canon, to contemporary anti-Zionism.
Anthony Julius

Hay Player

Ian Kershaw

Fateful Choices

Hay Festival 2007, 
The historian recreates ten critical political and military decisions taken between May 1940, when Britain decided to fight on rather than surrender, and the autumn of 1941, when Hitler decided to destroy Europe’s Jews.