Hay Player

Frank Close

The Infinity Puzzle

Hay Festival 2012, 
How the quest to understand quantum field theory led to extraordinary science, high politics and the world’s most expensive experiment.

Hay Player

Huw Bowen, Katharine Olson, Chris Evans

New History of Wales 4: Global Nation

Hay Festival 2011, 
Isolated provincials or a global people? Where is Wales in the world?

Duration 45 minutes.

Hay Player

Fiona Reynolds

Cambridge University Series 12: Britishness

Hay Festival 2013, 

In a world of rapid change and global, multicultural influences we explore the place that landscape, history and nature play in people’s sense of Britishness today.

Hay Player

Sarah McIntyre

Cartoon Creations

Hay Festival 2011, 
Hurrah! We’ve got our hands on this inspired illustrator and comics creator for a whole hour. So come and meet her cartoon friends and learn super-secret tips on how to invent your own characters. Bring a pad and pencil!
 
5+ years & families Rib Ticklers 

Hay Player

Polly Toynbee and David Walker

Dismembered: How the Attack on the State Harms Us All

Hay Festival 2017, 

The two journalists travelled around Great Britain gathering the voices of the people who make up the public sector: nurses and patients, teachers and policemen and civilians. The story they tell is one of society’s dismemberment across our nation state: a fragmented NHS, a reduced police force, divided schools and a vulnerable military.

Hay Player

Roger Bootle talks to Bob Ayling

The Trouble With Markets

Hay Festival 2010, 
A conversation with one of the few economists to correctly forecast the downturn.
Roger Bootle talks to Bob Ayling

Hay Player

Juanita León, Rodrigo Pardo, María Teresa Ronderos y Daniel Samper Pizano en conversación con Jaime Abello

Investigaciones periodísticas

Cartagena 2013, 
El periodismo de investigación requiere rigor, pasión y valentía a partes iguales. Tres grandes periodistas colombianos, Juanita León, directora de La silla vacía; Rodrigo Pardo, de RCN; María Teresa Ronderos, directora de VerdadAbierta.com; y Daniel Samper Pizano, padre del periodismo investigativo en Colombia a través del trabajo que desempeño en El Tiempo, conversan con Jaime Abello, director general de Fundación Gabriel García Márquez para el Nuevo Periodismo.

Hay Player

Javier Cercas en conversación con Juan Gabriel Vásquez

Cartagena 2013, 
Javier Cercas (España)es conocido tanto por sus novelas como por su labor periodística y de ensayo. Con su obraSoldados de Salamina(2001), adaptada al cine en2003, logró un gran éxito de crítica y ventas. En2009CercaspublicóAnatomía de un instante, una novela periodística, casi un ensayo, sobre el golpe de estado español del 23F con la que alcanzó los primeros puestos de ventas de no-ficción durante meses. En2010su obra fue distinguida con elPremio Nacional de Narrativa, reconociendo de esa manera la calidad literaria de su trabajo. Su último libro es Las leyes de la frontera (2012), en el que se adentra en el mundo marginal de la España de los años 80. En conversación con el novelista Juan Gabriel Vásquez.

Hay Player

Martin Rees

The Royal Society Lecture 3: From Here To Infinity

Hay Festival 2011, 
The astronomer revisits the subject matter of his 2010 Reith Lectures, boldly exploring the challenges facing science in the C21st.

Hay Player

Ben Watt talks to Sarfraz Manzoor

Romany and Tom

Hay Festival 2014, 

The Everything But The Girl musician’s beautiful and funny memoir is a personal journey and a portrait of his parents, Romany and Tom. It is a vivid story of the post-war years, of ambition and stardom, family roots and secrets, of life in clubs and in care homes.

Ben Watt talks to Sarfraz Manzoor

Hay Player

Alison Brown

Eddie and Dog

Hay Festival 2014, 

Eddie is looking for a friend – a friend who likes adventure. Then Eddie meets Dog. And the fun really begins… Meet the author and illustrator and get a sneak peek of her new book Mighty Mo!
4–6 years

Alison Brown

Hay Player

Crime Pays

Hay Festival 2008, 
Paul Blezard meets the authors of two of the whitest-knuckle reads of the year. Tom Rob Smith’s Child 44 tracks a serial killer at the height of Stalin’s Terror. Philip Kerr’s latest mystery A Quiet Flame sends Bernie Gunther to Peron’s Argentina.

Hay Player

Joseph Silk

Infinite Cosmos

Hay Festival 2008, 
Oxford astronomer Joseph Silk analyses the Big Bang from the frontiers of technology, and tells of supernovae, dark matter, dark energy, curved spacetime, colliding galaxies, and supermassive black holes.

Hay Player

Anne-Marie Casey

Kells 2014, 

Anne-Marie Casey was a TV and film producer in the UK before becoming a full-time writer in 2000. She has written numerous scripts for TV and film; her adaptation of Little Women for the Gate Theatre in Dublin was a huge success, and her first novel An Englishwoman in New York was published in 2013 in the US and UK to critical acclaim, and was an Irish bestseller. She talks to Lisa Dwan.

Anne-Marie Casey

Hay Player

Michelle Moram, Clare Burrage and Debra Skene

The Royal Society Platform: The Next Big Thing

Hay Festival 2015, 

Every year the Next Big Thing session at Hay profiles some of the most extraordinary and visionary research work being adventured in the UK. From brain imaging to materials discovery, three Royal Society Research Fellows discuss their work in cutting edge science with broadcaster Claudia Hammond.

Michelle Moram, Clare Burrage and Debra Skene

Hay Player

Andrew Davies talks to Peter Florence

Little Dorrit Film Masterclass

Hay Festival 2009, 
The screenwriter analyses three key scenes from his recent TV adaptation of Dickens’ novel.

Hay Player

Matt Ridley talks to Nik Gowing

The Rational Optimist

Hay Festival 2010, 
The science writer and author of Genome talks about How Prosperity Evolves and why he thinks the future is bright for people and the planet.

Hay Player

Graham Swift

Making an Elephant: Writing from Within

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Booker-winner offers a varied and brilliantly realised version of a writer’s life, work and friends. Chaired by Peter Guttridge.

Hay Player

Liz Pichon

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates

Hay Festival 2012, 
Tom Gates is a master of excuses, expert doodler, comic story writer extraordinaire. His wonderful creator returns to Hay to introduce the brand new episode, Everything’s amazing (sort of). Bring a pad and pencil.
 
Duration 45 mins.   7+ years

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Steve Feasey, Mark Walden and Rohan Gavin

Geeks, Gadgets and Science Fiction

Hay Festival 2014, 

Geek out with three authors who are all keen gamers, comic book fans and gadget freaks. They have all written books that read like action movies – Mutant City, Earthfall and Knightley & Son respectively. Find out how their favourite geeky things have been a source of inspiration.
10+ years

Steve Feasey, Mark Walden and Rohan Gavin

Hay Player

Fireman Sam

Happy Birthday, Sam!

Hay Festival 2012, 
It's time for a Pontypandy party to celebrate Sam and Hay turning 25 together. Meet your favourite fireman and hear all about his exciting adventures from the fabulous storyteller Liz Fost.
 
3+ yrs

Hay Player

Juan José Millás talks to Antonio San José

Segovia 2012, 
The writer Juan José Millás talks to journalist Antonio San José about his narrative and journalistic work, and its place in Spanish literature today.
 
Co-organized with the Fundación Lara.

Hay Player

Tristram Hunt

The Frock-Coated Communist

Hay Festival 2009, 
The Revolutionary Life of Friedrich Engels, huntsman and author of The Communist Manifesto.

Hay Player

John Kampfner

Freedom for Sale: How We Made Money and Lost Our Liberty

Hay Festival 2010, 
Why is it that so many people around the world appear willing to give up freedoms in return for either security or prosperity? Chaired by Francine Stock.
John Kampfner