Hay Player

Sarah Crompton and Lucy Moore

Dance Talk: Sadlers Wells And Nijinsky

Hay Festival 2013, 

On the centenary of The Rite Of Spring, Moore’s Nijinsky captures the spirit of the great genius of C20th ballet, his relationship with Diaghilev, the controversy of his radical choreography and his descent into madness. In Sadler’s Wells Dance House Crompton chronicles how this London theatre and its creative impulses have shaped the course of dance in the C20th and C21st from classical to hip hop. Chaired by Clemency Burton-Hill.

Hay Player

Gillian Clarke

The Lapidus Reading

Hay Festival 2012, 
In a special preview session the National Poet of Wales reads and discusses her forthcoming poetry collection ICE. Chaired by Fiona Hamilton of Lapidus, the UK organisation for creative writing and reading for health and wellbeing.

Hay Player

Thomas Keneally talks to Gaby Wood

Napoleon’s Last Island

Hay Festival 2016, 

The Booker-winning Australian writer launches his new novel. On the island of St Helena in the South Atlantic Ocean, Napoleon spends his last years in exile. It is a hotbed of gossip and secret liaisons, where a blind eye is turned to relations between colonials and slaves. The disgraced emperor is subjected to vicious and petty treatment by his captors, but he forges an unexpected ally: a rebellious British girl, Betsy, who lives on the island with her family and becomes his unlikely friend.

Thomas Keneally talks to Gaby Wood

Hay Player

Steve Melia talks to Andy Fryers

Hay on Earth 2015 Forum: Urban Transport Without the Hot Air

Hay Festival 2015, 

Are governments trying to 'get us out of our cars'? Is better public transport the solution to congestion in cities? Does Britain have a shortage of family housing and what has that got to do with transport? This book dispels myths and presents a sustainable vision for the future.  Steve Melia from the University of the West of England talks to the Hay on Earth Director.

Steve Melia talks to Andy Fryers

Hay Player

Piedad Bonnet in conversation with Luis García Montero

Segovia 2013, 

The Colombian poet, novelist and playwright Piedad Bonnet speaks with the poet Luis García Montero about her latest book Lo que no tiene nombre (Alfaguara), in which she deals with pain, death and resignation when writing about her son Daniel’s suicide.


Co-organized with the Embassy of Colombia in Spain

Hay Player

Ulinka Rublack

Cambridge Series 14: Dressing Up – Cultural identity in Renaissance Europe

Hay Festival 2011, 
The historian will show why clothes made history and history can be about clothes. Her research imagines the Renaissance afresh by considering people’s appearances: what they wore, how this made them move, what images they created, and how all this made people feel about themselves.
 
Read a review of Dressing Up www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/books/

Hay Player

Alain George

The Rise of Islamic Calligraphy

Hay Festival 2010, 
How a craft based on pen, parchment and ink came to convey the divine character of the Qur’anic text, in the emerging civilisation of Islam.

Hay Player

AA Gill talks to John Mitchinson

Previous Convictions: Assignments from Here and There

Hay Festival 2007, 
A conversation with the spectacularly provocative and delightfully acerbic Sunday Times journalist.

Hay Player

The Earl of March talks to Mark Skipworth

The Goodwood Festival Of Speed

Hay Festival 2013, 

A celebration of the first 20 years of the world’s premier classic performance car event – a story of cars, stars and the reinvention of a stately home.

Hay Player

Melvyn Bragg

Fictions – Grace And Mary

Hay Festival 2013, 

Visiting his ageing mother Mary in her nursing home by the sea, the protagonist of this new novel sets out to recreate their buried family history, delving into the secrets and silences of Mary’s fractured childhood as he imagines the life of her spirited mother, Grace.

Hay Player

Matt Ridley talks to Nik Gowing

The Rational Optimist

Hay Festival 2010, 
The science writer and author of Genome talks about How Prosperity Evolves and why he thinks the future is bright for people and the planet.

Hay Player

Mike Hulme

Why We Disagree About Climate Change

Hay Festival 2010, 
From the standpoints of science, economics, faith, psychology, communication, sociology, politics and development the UEA Prof explains why we disagree about climate change and shows how it can act as a catalyst to revise our perception of our place in the world. Chaired by Rosie Boycott.
Mike Hulme

Hay Player

Kenan Malik

The Quest for a Moral Compass

Hay Festival 2014, 

Engaging and provocative, Malik confronts some of humanity’s deepest questions. Where do values come from? Is God necessary for moral guidance? Are there absolute moral truths? He also brings morality down to earth, showing how, throughout history, social needs and political desires have shaped moral thinking. He provides a history of the world told through the history of moral thought, and a history of moral thought that casts new light on global history. Chaired by Oliver Balch.

Kenan Malik

Hay Player

Nell Leyshon and Fflur Dafydd in conversation with Ann Bateson

Segovia 2013, 

Nell Leyshon, British author of the latest published novel The Colour of Milk, set in 1830 rural England - “a disturbing display of the social restrictions to which 19th C. women had to confront”, according to The Financial Times -, and Fflur Dafydd, Welsh author winner of the Daniel Owen Memorial Prize for her novel Y Llyfrgell (‘The Library’), speak about their books with the journalist Ann Bateson.

Simultaneous translation from English into Spanish.

 

Co-organised with the Arts Council of Wales, the Welsh Government and the Wales Arts International.

Hay Player

Susan Neiman

Why Grow Up?

Hay Festival 2015, 

As you grow up, you are told to renounce most of the hopes and dreams of your youth, and resign yourself to a life that will be a pale dilution of the adventurous, important and enjoyable life you once expected. But who wants to do any of that? No wonder we live in a culture of rampant immaturity, when maturity looks so boring. The moral philosopher discusses childhood, adolescence, sex, and culture, and asks how the idea of travel can help us build a model of maturity that makes growing up a good option and leaves space in our culture for grown-ups. Chaired by Sarah Crompton.

Susan Neiman

Hay Player

Javier del Pino, Tomás Alcoverro y Giles Tremlett en conversación con Aurelio Martín

Cronistas del planeta

Segovia 2008, 
Los corresponsales tienen la habilidad de profundizar tanto en el conocimiento del lugar en el que trabajan, que terminan sabiendo más que muchos nativos. Reunidos por la Asociación de la Prensa de Segovia, que convoca el prestigioso premio de periodismo en memoria de Cirilo Rodríguez (la voz que narró en España la llegada del hombre a la luna) hablarán de su experiencia Javier del Pino, de la Cadena SER en Washington y colaborador de El País, el decano de los corresponsales españoles, Tomás Alcoverro, corresponsal de La Vanguardia en Oriente Próximo, con sede en Beirut, y Giles Tremlett, corresponsal de The Guardian en España y colaborador habitual de The Economist.

Hay Player

Fireman Sam

Happy Birthday, Sam!

Hay Festival 2012, 
It's time for a Pontypandy party to celebrate Sam and Hay turning 25 together. Meet your favourite fireman and hear all about his exciting adventures from the fabulous storyteller Liz Fost.
 
3+ yrs

Hay Player

Peter Davies and Andy Middleton talk to Andy Fryers

The Wales We Want

Hay Festival 2015, 

‘The Wales We Want’ conversation mirrors a global initiative by the United Nations, asking people what sort of Wales they want for their children and grandchildren. The final report was launched in March 2015 and we discuss the outcomes and how this will feed in to Welsh Government policy. Davies, Climate Change Commissioner for Wales, and Middleton, entrepreneur, designer and maverick thinker, discuss with Hay on Earth Director Andy Fryers.

Peter Davies and Andy Middleton talk to Andy Fryers

Hay Player

Rosanna Davison

Eat Yourself Beautiful

Kells 2015, 

Rosanna Davison talks about how she came to study nutrition. She gives us the skinny on her own diet and lifestyle, and shares her top tips from her new book Eat Yourself Beautiful on cutting out sugar and including more fruit and vegetables in your diet.

Photo by Miki Barlok

Rosanna Davison

Hay Player

Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Modern Gothic

Hay Festival 2015, 
Chris Priestley’s acclaimed Tales of Terror series are chilling stories rooted in the tradition of MR James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Award-winning Dave Shelton turns to the gothic with Thirteen Chairs, an anthology in which twelve ghostly figures tell stories of death and horror. They talk to writer Paul Magrs about their fascination with the Gothic and its influence on their fiction.
12+ years/YA
Chris Priestley and Dave Shelton talk to Paul Magrs

Hay Player

Martín Caparrós: ‘Contra el cambio’

Segovia 2011, 
Martín Caparrós, Argentinian journalist and writer who has headed the magazines El Porteño, Babel, Página/30, Sal y Pimienta and Cuisine & Vins, and has published, among other works, No velas a tus muertos (1986), La historia (1999) and Una luna (2009), will on this occasion present his most recent book, Contra el cambio. This interesting essay is a journey through ten countries that have been affected by climate change and reflects on the ecology, the place of nature in our society and the ideology of conservationism.

Hay Player

Javier Cercas en conversación con Juan Gabriel Vásquez

Cartagena 2013, 
Javier Cercas (España)es conocido tanto por sus novelas como por su labor periodística y de ensayo. Con su obraSoldados de Salamina(2001), adaptada al cine en2003, logró un gran éxito de crítica y ventas. En2009CercaspublicóAnatomía de un instante, una novela periodística, casi un ensayo, sobre el golpe de estado español del 23F con la que alcanzó los primeros puestos de ventas de no-ficción durante meses. En2010su obra fue distinguida con elPremio Nacional de Narrativa, reconociendo de esa manera la calidad literaria de su trabajo. Su último libro es Las leyes de la frontera (2012), en el que se adentra en el mundo marginal de la España de los años 80. En conversación con el novelista Juan Gabriel Vásquez.

Hay Player

George Monbiot

In the Green Corner 1

Hay Festival 2008, 
In the first of a series of conversations with the audience, the captivating author of Bring on the Apocalypse: Six Arguments for Global Justice discusses a global or environmental topic arising from the day’s news.

Hay Player

Gruff Rhys talks to Phil Rickman

Hay Festival 2007, 
The Super Furry Animals singer-songwriter talks music, politics and the subtle art of being angry. He'll also perform some of the songs from his new solo album Candylion. Recorded for broadcast on BBC Radio Wales.

Hay Player

Peter Frankopan

Reformations 16: History

Hay Festival 2017, 

The author of the magnificent book The Silk Roads proposes a new way of understanding the past and of connecting context and ideas so that we might learn the lessons of history. Frankopan is Director of the Centre for Byzantine Research at Oxford University. Chaired by Peter Florence.

Peter Frankopan