Subscribe or Log In to Anytime
Access audio & film from your favourite writers and thinkers
Give the gift of Anytime
Treat someone to a Hay Festival Anytime subscription
Please subscribe to Hay Festival Anytime for access to this content (more details)
Subscribe for €24.00 (EUR) or log in if you already have a subscription

Aurora Luque and Raquel Vázquez in conversation with Antonio Lucas

Loewe Foundation International Poetry Prize

Segovia 2020, 

In 1988, at a time when poetry was the most neglected of the literary arts in Spain, the Loewe Foundation set up an international prize to promote artistic creation in poetry in Spanish. Backed by an exceptional jury, the award has since become the most important non-institutional prize of its kind. Every year, the Foundation awards a prize to an unpublished work of at least 300 verses and another to a writer aged under 33. Both winning entries are published by Visor Libros.

This year the International Poetry Prize was awarded to Aurora Luque, a poet and translator from Málaga, for her book Gavieras; and the International Poetry Prize for young authors to Raquel Vázquez – a Hispanic Philology graduate with a degree in Computer Engineering – for Aunque los Mapas. The two winners will recite their poetry in an event moderated by the poet and journalist Antonio Lucas who was bestowed the same award in 2013 for his collection of poems Los desengaños. . The event will be presented by Sheila Loewe, President of the Loewe Foundation.

In case of rain, the event will take place at the same time inside the Torreón de Lozoya

Photography of Aurora Luque: © Álvaro Tomé / FUNDACIÓN LOEWE

Photography of Raquel Vázquez: © Álvaro Tomé / FUNDACIÓN LOEWE

Fotography of Antonio Lucas / FUNDACIÓN LOEWE