Subscribe or Log In to Anytime
Access audio & film from your favourite writers and thinkers
Give the gift of Anytime
Treat someone to a Hay Festival Anytime subscription
Please subscribe to Hay Festival Anytime for access to this content (more details)
Subscribe for £20.00 or log in if you already have a subscription

Gaia Vince, Jim Al-Khalili and Camilla Pang talk to Rachael Garside

The Royal Society Science Book Prize

Hay Festival 2021, 

For 33 years The Royal Society has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Their Book Prize is awarded annually by a panel of expert judges, comprising eminent scientists, authors, journalists and broadcasters. From hundreds of entries are shortlisted only six books, which make popular science writing compelling and accessible. Join three of those shortlisted for last year’s Prize: Gaia Vince (Transcendence: How Humans Evolved through Fire, Language, Beauty, and Time), Jim Al-Khalili, (The World According to Physics) and the winner, Camilla Pang (Explaining Humans: What Science Can Teach Us about Life, Love and Relationships).

Previous winners include Stephen Hawking (2002), Bill Bryson (2004), Cordelia Fine (2017), Mark Miodownik (2014), Caroline Criado Perez (2019) and Camilla Pang (2020). The 2021 shortlist will be announced later this summer.