Event 290

The Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize 2024

Caleb Azumah Nelson talks to Jon Gower

 – Spring Stage

Awarded for the best published literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under, the Dylan Thomas Prize celebrates the international world of fiction in all its forms. This year, the prize has been awarded to Caleb Azumah Nelson for his novel, Small Worlds, which tells an intimate father-son story set between South London and Ghana over the course of three summers. Join us to celebrate the 2024 winner in conversation with novelist Jon Gower, a member of the 2024 prize jury.

The shortlist for the Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize 2024 was: Ayòbámi Adébáyò – A Spell of Good Things; Caleb Azumah Nelson – Small Worlds; AK Blakemore – The Glutton; Mary Jean Chan – Bright Fear; Eliza Clark – Penance; Camilla Grudova – The Coiled Serpent; Kevin Jared Hosein – Hungry Ghosts; Joshua Jones – Local Fires; Catherine Lacey – Biography of X; Michael Magee – Close To Home; Thomas Morris – Open Up; Kae Tempest – Divisible by Itself and One.

Price: £11.00