Subscribe or Log In to Anytime
Access audio & film from your favourite writers and thinkers
Give the gift of Anytime
Treat someone to a Hay Festival Anytime subscription
Please subscribe to Hay Festival Anytime for access to this content (more details)
Subscribe for £20.00 or log in if you already have a subscription

The Wolfson History Prize with Amanda Vickery

2021 Shortlist

Hay Festival 2021, 

The Wolfson History Prize is the UK’s most prestigious history writing prize, recognising outstanding works of historical non-fiction and awarded annually to a work that combines excellent research and readability for a general audience. £40,000 is awarded to the winner, with each shortlisted author receiving £4,000.

Previous winners include Mary Beard, Simon Schama, Eric J. Hobsbawm, Amanda Vickery, Antony Beevor, Christopher Bayly, Antonia Fraser, Mary Fulbrook and David Abulafia.

The winner of the Wolfson History Prize 2021 was Sudhir Hazareesingh with Black Spartacus: The Epic Life of Toussaint Louverture.

The books shortlisted were:

• Survivors: Children’s Lives after the Holocaust by Rebecca Clifford
• Black Spartacus: The Epic Life of Toussaint Louverture by Sudhir Hazareesingh
• Ravenna: Capital of Empire, Crucible of Europe by Judith Herrin
• Double Lives: A History of Working Motherhood by Helen McCarthy
• Burning the Books: A History of Knowledge Under Attack by Richard Ovenden
• Atlantic Wars: From the Fifteenth Century to the Age of Revolution by Geoffrey Plank

The shortlisted authors for this year’s Prize will join previous winner, Professor Amanda Vickery, to discuss their books and historical writing today.

The Wolfson History Prize with Amanda Vickery